Ratings based on 7,051 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nothing to complain about much

Posted Sep 20, 2017
This is Lyah Pierre we were in Chicago celebrating my birthday and visiting some friends.We're enjoyed our stay very well. If we ever in need for hotel for our next trip. We will definitely go back to White Hall. We loved it everything are so beautiful and near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Place was clean and help was friendly bathrooms were small workout machines in the gym were old and didn't work well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great stay!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The staff was wonderful, willing to help with anything we needed. The hotel was very clean, with a vintage vibe to it that we really enjoyed and the location was absolutely perfect for walking and close to train access. Over all stay was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The Whitehall provided excellent accommodations for our stay in Chicago. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oshawa Ontario

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Good location, very clean.
This is an old hotel but very nice and clean. Our room was on the 13th floor and we had a view of the city and the lake. The staff were all nice and helpful. The only negative was that the concierge was off for two days and there was no one to replace him. Our room was cleaned well each day as if we were new guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Great location right near North Michigan Avenue

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great staff, nice room, great bar downstairs with quiet room to have a drink and conversation, and a prime location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mission TX

Great location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great older hotel. Very convenient to Michigan ave attractions. The room had a great view but no blackout drapes so sun came in every morning so sleeping in was not easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We had a great. Only one thing I didn't get a gift basket that Expedia mentioned I would received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel in a very central location of Chicago

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Clean, spacious room; late check-out (at 12 noon), so there is no need to rush.
Cons: Tea/ coffee maker in a room would definitely add comfort; or, at least provide boiling water/ tea in the lobby available during the whole day
Location: Shopping, cafes, Cheesecake Factory, a good food-court under Macy's just across the road. 360 Observation Deck and a bar in the Tower just 2 min away
Very central, safe location in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. Close to boutiques and department stores. The rooms are clean and quiet and rather spacious. Bed is very comfortable! Staff on reception friendly. We would definitely stay at Whitehall again..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Great location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, good service.
Cons: Flow of the ground floor layout - or at least improve the signage! It took me three (3) wrong turns to find my family in the bar!
Location: Great location - 1/2 a block from Hancock Tower, Water Tower Place and more on N. Michigan Ave. Head south for museums and non-shopping options.
Overall, the hotel is very nice. Older place, but with updates. The flow on the ground floor is odd - too many doors, too many unmarked hallways between the front door and the restaurant, for instance. The weekend I visited, the floor I was on - 14 - smelled 'skunky' for four days. I told them on my first morning and again the next day. They were aware, but it only dissipated for a while before returning. Other floors (my family were staying there) were fine. On the whole, the staff were very pleasant. As we were a larger group of family, we took over some areas, but they were generally pleasant to us. We stayed a bit late in the bar, and the bartender was grumpy when we asked for one more round 20 minutes before we were told they closed. I suspect that was an aberration. I wouldn't have chosen this place - my cousin chose it - as I know Chicago well and it's a very expensive neighborhood. That said, as most of us were tourists, it was a good location to get to things (Hancock Tower, Water Tower, etc.). The restaurant, like nearly all hotel restaurants, was ridiculously expensive for breakfast. We went to a nearby place after the first morning - we were in a hurry that day and needed to get done fast. The beds were very comfortable, esp. the pillows. The rooms were clean, though the fixtures in the bathroom were hard to turn on/off if your hands were slippery! :) Overall, a lovely weekend. Nice and quiet rooms, which is very important to me.