Ratings based on 2,048 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Cons: They need coffee makers in the rooms!
Excellent hotel. Excellent location. Great staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Great Lake Views. Awesome Staff. Very Comfy bed and great bar. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Centrally located near great restaurants and shops

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Staff was very welcoming. Received welcome text from hotel staff in advance of my visit asking if there is anything I would need for my stay or if I had any special requests. I did make some requests and they were very accommodating. Overall very pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bermuda

Perfect location

Posted Feb 2, 2018
I had not stayed at a Thompson property before so I had no expectations. The staff are great, genuinely want you to have a good stay. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the location was perfect, surrounded by great restaurants and shops and an easy walk to even more. Bonus was the Pancake House across the street!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa monica

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Lovely hotel with interesting decor in a fun location. My room had a terrific sitting area with a nifty sectional couch and peek-through views of the lake. It was all terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near Gold Coast.

Posted Jan 25, 2018
Great hotel near Gold Coast. We were very pleased with our stay at Thompson Chicago. Staff was exceedingly friendly and followed through with all services and requests. Location was excellent and the facilities were great. We will come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

Great Hotel in Great Part of Chicago

Posted Jan 25, 2018
I visit Chicago often and Thompson hotel was perfect in every way. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful and polite. Location is perfect with great restaurants close by. I can’t wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Wonderful hotel, friendly staff, great gym. In a corner room on the 18th floor, great views, nice & quiet, very spacious. Bath tub was huge. Restaurant for breakfast was really good (my choice of dish was surprisingly very tasty). Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great hotel, friendly staff and awesome rooms!

Posted Jan 20, 2018
A group of us stayed at the Thompson Hotel for a weekend in Chicago. I've stayed at many hotels and this was by far the best one I've stayed in. The room was spacious and clean, the lobby and bar in hotel had awesome food and drinks and the service we received from the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left was incredible. The staff helped us plan one of our days and told us where the best restaurants and night clubs were. The location is PERFECT. No more than a $10 cab ride to all major tourist attractions and close enough to walk to most of them (please keep in mind we were visiting in the winter) so we preferred to cab. We are planning another trip in the summer and this will be our hotel of choice. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from green bay wi

Walking distance to the Magnificent Mile

Posted Jan 10, 2018
My husband and I went for a weekend trip to Chicago to celebrate our one year NYE wedding anniversary. The hotel was aware that it was our anniversary and provided us with a complementary bottle of champagne which was very nice! The lounge bar/restaurant was very nice. Hotel was very nice. Shower was amazing. My only complaint is that there were no ice machines on the floors. If you needed ice, you had to get it through room service. And you obviously feel obligated to tip them even if it’s just to bring you ice. It would have been nice if there would have been an ice machine on at least one floor that guests could access themselves. Overall we had a nice stay.