Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Gold Coast Glamour

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Perfect location for walking to Oak ; Walton and State Streer shopping and dining. Hotel has a modern chic feel; but feels comfortably intimate and cozy. Rooms are lovely with great attention to detail.. Views fantastic. I had a room with terrace and gas fireplace. Great French patisserie coffee cafe in lobby. Margeaux restaurant upstairs is a Parisien upscale bistro iand a new neighborhood favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to all the shopping

Posted Dec 2, 2017
The hotel is in great location specially for shopping. Good size rooms, huge bathrooms. polite & friendly staff. House car is great service they are offering. Downsides The mattresses are not firm and not very comfortable changed rooms and still the same. Rooms clean but more attention needs to be given to dusting specially mini bar. Overall, nice comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing hotel!

Posted Dec 1, 2017
From the courtyard to the lobby to the rooms, this hotel is absolutely beautiful (especially at Christmas time)! The staff are very nice, polite, accommodating and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Suite was beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and very clean. I loved my stay at this hotel and would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2017
This hotel is aging. For $800/night we should be higher than nine stories up, and should have a door that works. That being said, all staff aside from the male concierge were very helpful (especially when the printer ran out of toner). Will look elsewhere next time staying in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

A Luxury that Exceeds all expectations

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, amenities, quality.
Cons: Honestly can not think of anything.
Location: Fantastic safe location in the Gold Coast area of Chicago. Walking distance to most of the cities landmark sites.
I have stayed in lots of "boutique" hotels but haven't stayed in a place with the high reputation of a place like this. Everyone working at this place is at the top of their industry. From the bell staff to the front desk you can expect friendly, professional, and knowledgeable individuals. I certainly understand why people who can regularly afford to stay at a place like this do. If I had the means to do so I would every time as well. A 5 star hotel on all levels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Recent midweek stay

Posted Nov 16, 2017
It had been several years since I had stayed at the Waldorf and I was pleased to see that it was as good if not better than ever! From the moment we checked in the staff went above and beyond to make our stay awesome. Miguel checked us in and upon learning our daughter was coming to join us, upgraded our room without being asked so we would have the room we needed. That was typical of the service all three days and I would recommend this hotel highly. We will be staying here again when we visit Chicago in the future.
5 out of 5
by Danyell

Best Hotel in Chicago

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
This is our favorite hotel in Chicago, we’ve stayed at each of the 5 stars in the city (minus the Trump) and the Waldorf is always our first choice. Rooms are luxurious and cozy, love the terraces in many rooms and the fireplaces really take things to another level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Luxury property close to everything DOWNTOWN-

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, room, accessibility to everything I need
Location: Willis ( Sears Tower) , Shopping district, Magnificent Mile, Great restaurants, Northwestern Hospital,
I travel extensively for work and LOVE when I can stay at the Waldorf Astoria. Everything I need is right here!! Great restaurants, Great staff and Great upgraded rooms. The included spa and workout facility is top shelf. I love staying at this property and I have stayed at MANY. The location is close to everything- Shopping on Michigan Ave, Walking-jogging-biking along lake Michigan, Great restaurants all within walking distance. I look forward to booking the WA when I am in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great location, walking distance to everything.

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Great decor, location is awesome, service was great.
Cons: At check-in guest should be told the no-tip policy for the valet and staff. Great but awkward when you don't know if you should be tipping or not.
Location: The Loop, mall, shops, restaurants, entertainment everything is walking distance.
Great hotel, service was excellent. Staff did everything they could to make us comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Kristen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Hotels