Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Convenient but disappointing

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Convenient to all sites, shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
Cons: Cleanliness and condition of rooms
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but the condition of the hotel let it down. It was filthy. The bathroom was disgusting, dirty and smelly. The sheets were sticky and the cover on the bed was dirty (obviously hadn't been washed). I had travelled for 2 weeks in India before this hotel so used to conditions.
4 out of 5
by Elliot from London

Good, comfortable hotel; friendly staff

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were friendly and helpful; the room we got was good, but the air conditioning was stuck on gale force. Luckily, it was fine to use just the ceiling fans, though in hotter months, this might have been a problem. The wifi was okay, but you need a code which is good for 650MB and two connections - which was a problem, since we were uploading all our pictures, so kept running out, and needing new codes. Breakfast wasn/t included, but there are lots of places nearby to visit. I don't really understand why they don't make use of the restaurant on the roof, though - it could be a lovely place to sit. Instead, it's an sadly underused and neglected space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Decent clean hotel- Average amenities and decor

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Low rate
Cons: Decor and aesthetics. Also wi-fi that works. Better quality sheets and blankets.
Location: Central location
A no frills budget hotel. You basically get what you pay for. At its cheap rate, you get a small clean room. The Internet wasn't working the night I was staying. I don't know if it's because of the rains. There wasn't hot water either. But keep in mind the low hotel rate. That's the biggest plus. The front desk gentlemen were very nice. From my experience I would strongly suggest staying in Chennai and just coming out in Mamallapuram for the day and heading back to chennai for the night. Better option and value of hotels there rather than in Mahabalipuram which is essentially a tiny town.
4 out of 5
by Rikke-Louise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Very very Basic. Lacks even the simple most amenities of anything resembling a hotel. No breakfast. Restaurant without a restaurant yet an expensive Menu Card for room Service. The Location is o.k. but this Ramalrishna has a Long way to go ... Sorry.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee, USA

Great stay here

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: service, location, atmosphere
Cons: slight nuisances- mosquitoes in room, water puddled outside the door
Location: Ramakrishna is in the little "tourist alley" of Mammallapuram. Walking distance to temples, beach, shopping, restaurants... Beware the clever touts.
We arrived around 2am, but were greeted at the gate- quite a welcome sight. Staff was helpful and courteous. I enjoyed the layout of the facility- our room was on the third floor with a shared open deck. The room is small/cozy, but it and furnishings had a pleasant quality to them. Some mosquitoes made their way into the room, maybe through the bathroom fan, but this was a common occurrence in our travels. Its a small town, so Ramakrishna is close to everything. I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff not friendly rooms are cramped

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Will not recommend this flee hole as the rooms are very cramped and there is building work being carried out
4 out of 5
by Bhargav from Bangalore

comfortable stay

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
The best part of this hotel is that it is placed in prime location of mahabalipuram, the hotel staff was good ready to help us anytime, we reached hotel 1 hour prior to checkin time though we were allowed to accomodate inside, hotel rooms were neat n clean , I surely recommend my friend about hotel Ramakrishna if someone is looking for budged hotel in the prime location of mahabalipuram.