Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, decent buffet...very few smiles 😒

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Not very friendly staff, reception was not informative Breakfast buffet was good...could have changed things up more Beds were so hard and uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

BELIEVE ALL THE BAD REVIEWS ON THIS HOTEL

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The food in the Chinese, Japanese and pizza restaurants.
Cons: HOUSEKEEPING. ENTERTAINMENT.
Location: The location is good and you can walk to other restaurants.
I normally don't bother with bad reviews as I think some people complain just for the sake of it but please believe all the bad reviews about Berjaya. The staff, apart from housekeeping, are all lovely and the food in the restaurants especially the Japanese is great but if you are used to anything even half decent do not go here. I would especially not recommend this if it is for a special occasion holiday or honeymoon. The housekeeping is unacceptable and I NEVER complain on holiday. Every single day of our holiday we had to go to reception as something was missing or not done. Floors were not swept crumbs lay on the floor for nearly a week and we had to ask 3 times for our bed sheets to be changed and this was after 8 days of our holiday. The mirrors and glass were dirty when we arrived and were not cleaned the whole time we were there. Small things but cleanliness is important. The best advice I would give to anyone who wants to go to Beau Vallon is pick a different hotel avoid Berjaya at all costs. There are lots of lovely guest houses and villas in the area or pay the extra £100 or so to get a better hotel especially if this is your first tropical holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach is about it...

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location - that's about it
Cons: Service!
The hotel is well located right on Beau Vallon beach. It is in varying states of refurbishment. For instance the bathrooms (in the rooms) have been redone - but not the rooms themselves. The level of service (or lack of it) is terrible. Apart from the front counter staff no one appears to care you are there. In several instances (e.g. towel counter at pool or the beach bar) no on was there at all!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location!! Hotel should not be 4 n'half *

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The location, right in the middle of Beau Vallon beach, hotel has private access to beach and you can get grilled fish just 5 minutes walk away.
Cons: Everything about the hotel, food consistency, staff, cleaning.
Location: Perfect location it really is the place to be but not at that hotel. Great street food and atmosphere, beau vallon has the best sunset.
Where to begin...To be honest, I first wanted to do a long and detailed review but I actually don't want to put anymore effort in to an experience which was so disappointing. I cannot express how frustrated me and my husband became towards the end of our 2 week trip to Seychelles, Mahe. We booked for our honeymoon/1 Year Anniversary so you can imagine much searching for the perfect holiday we done. Unfortunately we was mislead and in all honesty this hotel should not be 4 and a half*. The rooms are dated, they don't get cleaned properly, food was not consistent, staff do not do their job properly you call reception 10 times and still you have to go down there to try get assistance, your bed sheets don't get changed we had to ask and even then they did not change the pillowcases (note; these things are standard in a 4 and a half*, bird poo all around the balcony, the stairs leading up to our room was like the dumping ground which was not pleasant it would build up everyday, condition of the rooms are very dated and again not 4 and a half* standard, the price of food and quality will make you laugh the list could go on. I will upload pictures but please listen to reviews, I always put it down to "maybe they had a bad experience" but no this hotel really needs to be stripped of its stars so people who pay big money are not mislead in the future. Luckily me and my husband made the most of just being with each other on a beautiful island and didn't let it dictate our holiday.
3 out of 5
by Pete

COULD BE BETTER

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
We had to wait two hours before we could have our room....we arrived 3pm (check in is 2pm)...the lock on the door was broken....3 guys to fix it.....to be fair, they compensated us by allowing us to keep our room until 4pm on check out............front desk is chaos except for FRANCOISE who is a very helpful lady who knows her job unlike the others The rooms are tired and outdated....the bathroom was terrible....filthy window.....shower curtain disgusting....safe didn't work....Wi-Fi didn't work....bad smell of curry on balcony......drinks are very very expensive 125 SCR for a beer On a plus.....food is very good.....the staff in the restaurants are very good.....we got sky sports in the room.....the bed was large and comfy.....the pool is clean 3metres deep......best of all is the beach with clean shallow water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Enjoyable!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: It was on a beautiful beach!
Cons: Could use some modern updating
Location: It is on the beach with plenty of services for excursions.
The facility was nice, breakfast was enjoyable, however dinner was okay however, not as expected for the $. The hotel staff was wonderful and made our stay very nice! Bed was a bit too firm but we slept. The facility is maintained but could use some modern updating,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north Carolina

Filthy

Posted May 8, 2017
Upon arriving around 11am on 7may2017 rm264, I found what appeared to be blood on the hotel walls in the hallway to my room. Once at the room it looked and smelled like it hasn't been cleaned in weeks. The furniture in the lobby smelled like urine. I was there all of five minutes and returned the keys and requested check out as I was not staying there a minute more. at a filthy hotel were rest and being comfortable was not an option. I immediately left and will never return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great place to stay, highly recommend.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The staff, the location, pretty much everything
Cons: Stronger wifi during busy, very minor thing.
Location: You have the beach on your door step where you can do a variety of water sports. There is a bus stop outside the hotel which can take you to Victoria.
What can I say? This hotel is one of the best places to stay in the Seychelles in my opinion. The beach is on your door step (one the cleanest beaches I have ever been to), the rooms are air conditioned, the food at breakfast had wide selection of hot and cold foods with chef making omelettes to order. We tried the tepanyaki one night which was well cooked and entertaining to watch (I used to live in Asia so I know good quality). But the thing that made our stay great was the staff. The reception staff were friendly (especially Marise), always wanting to help us to make our stay more comfortable. The barman at the beach bar was very professional and made good conversion for the 2 weeks we were there. The only thing if you want to be picky is the internet can sometimes be a little slow when in your room when there are many people staying at the hotel, but in the dining room and reception areas it is fine. Bottom line you are there to relax and enjoy the beauty of Seychelles not be on social media and checking work emails.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and the staff are very hospitable

Posted May 6, 2017
It was a great experience the staff in the hotel were very hospitable and overall had a great time in the hotel . Would recommend for everyone to get a authentic seychelles experience will go again next year same time !
4 out of 5
by Roy

Berjaya Hotel Beau Vallon

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Virtually on the beach. Sparkling pool. Good breakfast variety. Eating at restaurants on the premises is pricey. Reception and security staff very helpful. WiFi works only in the lobby.