Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Premium location, but not a luxury hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Rooms need a little remodeling.
Location: The beach is at walking distance.
The hotel is nice enough for simple comfortable vacation, but it is not a place I would recommend to take someone to impress them or spend your honeymoon. A plus is that the hotel is next to Mahe's most popular beach and with a few minutes walk north along the sand you can find local stands selling from fruits, coconuts 35-50 rupees to fresh fish BBQ at 75 rupees. A taxi from the airport will charge you about $40 euros. The hotel offers a good breakfast buffet and a dinner at one of the hotel restaurants will cost you about $30-35 dollars a person. The room was dated with old carpet and furniture, but the bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We had a pleasant stay there ... The reception officials were very helpful...Room is also pretty good...its definitely value for money ... I would definitely recommend this place ... Thanks !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Warsaw, Poland

Average condition hotel but a very good location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Pool, breakfast, beach, restaurants, location
Cons: Eliminate "complimentary breakfast" for early arrivals and let people enter regular breakfast Towels - deliver all towels when cleaning rooms
Location: I recommend Boat House and also Justin selling the trip to two islands.
Pros: Great location, 4 restaurants, very good breakfast, nice pool, next to the beach, close to cash plus and shops. Cons: bathroom towels - every day a struggle for towels, room cleaning service not quite speedy and detailed, If someone from the hotel ever reads this: do not give early arrivals "complimentary breakfast" in a form of outside seperate table with lousy croissant and a coffee, how much would it cost you to let us in to a regular breakfast? Nothing! This way you lower our opinion about you on the first day - its called customer experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, decent buffet...very few smiles 😒

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Not very friendly staff, reception was not informative Breakfast buffet was good...could have changed things up more Beds were so hard and uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

BELIEVE ALL THE BAD REVIEWS ON THIS HOTEL

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The food in the Chinese, Japanese and pizza restaurants.
Cons: HOUSEKEEPING. ENTERTAINMENT.
Location: The location is good and you can walk to other restaurants.
I normally don't bother with bad reviews as I think some people complain just for the sake of it but please believe all the bad reviews about Berjaya. The staff, apart from housekeeping, are all lovely and the food in the restaurants especially the Japanese is great but if you are used to anything even half decent do not go here. I would especially not recommend this if it is for a special occasion holiday or honeymoon. The housekeeping is unacceptable and I NEVER complain on holiday. Every single day of our holiday we had to go to reception as something was missing or not done. Floors were not swept crumbs lay on the floor for nearly a week and we had to ask 3 times for our bed sheets to be changed and this was after 8 days of our holiday. The mirrors and glass were dirty when we arrived and were not cleaned the whole time we were there. Small things but cleanliness is important. The best advice I would give to anyone who wants to go to Beau Vallon is pick a different hotel avoid Berjaya at all costs. There are lots of lovely guest houses and villas in the area or pay the extra £100 or so to get a better hotel especially if this is your first tropical holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach is about it...

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location - that's about it
Cons: Service!
The hotel is well located right on Beau Vallon beach. It is in varying states of refurbishment. For instance the bathrooms (in the rooms) have been redone - but not the rooms themselves. The level of service (or lack of it) is terrible. Apart from the front counter staff no one appears to care you are there. In several instances (e.g. towel counter at pool or the beach bar) no on was there at all!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location!! Hotel should not be 4 n'half *

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The location, right in the middle of Beau Vallon beach, hotel has private access to beach and you can get grilled fish just 5 minutes walk away.
Cons: Everything about the hotel, food consistency, staff, cleaning.
Location: Perfect location it really is the place to be but not at that hotel. Great street food and atmosphere, beau vallon has the best sunset.
Where to begin...To be honest, I first wanted to do a long and detailed review but I actually don't want to put anymore effort in to an experience which was so disappointing. I cannot express how frustrated me and my husband became towards the end of our 2 week trip to Seychelles, Mahe. We booked for our honeymoon/1 Year Anniversary so you can imagine much searching for the perfect holiday we done. Unfortunately we was mislead and in all honesty this hotel should not be 4 and a half*. The rooms are dated, they don't get cleaned properly, food was not consistent, staff do not do their job properly you call reception 10 times and still you have to go down there to try get assistance, your bed sheets don't get changed we had to ask and even then they did not change the pillowcases (note; these things are standard in a 4 and a half*, bird poo all around the balcony, the stairs leading up to our room was like the dumping ground which was not pleasant it would build up everyday, condition of the rooms are very dated and again not 4 and a half* standard, the price of food and quality will make you laugh the list could go on. I will upload pictures but please listen to reviews, I always put it down to "maybe they had a bad experience" but no this hotel really needs to be stripped of its stars so people who pay big money are not mislead in the future. Luckily me and my husband made the most of just being with each other on a beautiful island and didn't let it dictate our holiday.
5 out of 5
by Ivy

Good hotel

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
I recomend this hotel, very nice, nice people, nice place.
3 out of 5
by Pete

COULD BE BETTER

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
We had to wait two hours before we could have our room....we arrived 3pm (check in is 2pm)...the lock on the door was broken....3 guys to fix it.....to be fair, they compensated us by allowing us to keep our room until 4pm on check out............front desk is chaos except for FRANCOISE who is a very helpful lady who knows her job unlike the others The rooms are tired and outdated....the bathroom was terrible....filthy window.....shower curtain disgusting....safe didn't work....Wi-Fi didn't work....bad smell of curry on balcony......drinks are very very expensive 125 SCR for a beer On a plus.....food is very good.....the staff in the restaurants are very good.....we got sky sports in the room.....the bed was large and comfy.....the pool is clean 3metres deep......best of all is the beach with clean shallow water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Enjoyable!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: It was on a beautiful beach!
Cons: Could use some modern updating
Location: It is on the beach with plenty of services for excursions.
The facility was nice, breakfast was enjoyable, however dinner was okay however, not as expected for the $. The hotel staff was wonderful and made our stay very nice! Bed was a bit too firm but we slept. The facility is maintained but could use some modern updating,