Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Nov 23, 2017
great hotel in a great location, staff cannot do enough to help you
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia user, Warm greetings from Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for posting your review online. It is a pleasure to read your comment and your score 5 out of 5. Should you ever be back in the Seychelles. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Stephane Duchenne General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a good setting

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Nice hotel, i would put it as a 4 stars rather than 5. Location is beautiful, with one great beach, and staff were friendly and helpful. Food was decent. Facilities and services were good but not amazing; there was little atmosphere around the resort and in particular in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Dear Francesco, Greetings from Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for posting your review online. I am sorry to see that you would rather rate us for 4star instead of 5star and that you thought we were good but not amazing. I apologise if you found certain aspects of your stay to be lacking and I sincerely hope that this would not prevent you from returning to our hotel again in the future. Thank you once more for your review. Kind Regards, Stephane Duchenne General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Fabulous luxury... a couple of minor annoyances

Posted Nov 13, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights in November. The place is a paradise of two beautiful beaches, quiet idyllic coves, bathwater-warm sea, and delightful pools with electric buses turning up whenever you need a lift more than 5 mins or so walking! And activities like ziplining, rock climbing, snorkelling and kayaking/pedallo-ing all free, with a spa an added cost. The staff are wonderful: without exception friendly and professional, keen to please and without a hint of the laid back nonchalance bordering on arrogance that I'd experienced in similar resort in Mauritius. We wish we'd had longer there... There were tiny irritations for us, but worth recording: 1.the coffee was not up to scratch at a place this expensive: Nespresso capsules can only get you so far and you'd have thought a barista on site would be a reasonable outlay.2 you cant drink the tap water and the hotel were generally stingy with the free stuff they gave you when asked. Three times we asked for 3 bottles (one for each of us); three times only 2 were given; 3. The place is silly expensive for food and drink not included in your package: it cost my wife, 4yr old son and I an additional 550gbp on top of our bed and breakfast rate for a light lunch and dinner over the 2 full days. She's pregnant so it was only me drinking lightly. Would recommend, go back, and it is wonderful, but not quite perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Greetings from Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for posting your review online. Reading from your comments you found some aspects of your stay satisfactory where as others less. I sincerely apologies for the shortcomings that you may have faced during your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once more, not only for choosing us for your recent visit to Seychelles but also, for providing valuable feedback regarding your stay. Kind Regards, Stephane Duchenne General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Beautiful with 2 see fronts

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The hotel stay was amazing all the hotel staff were friendly and fantastic. Although it was the low season and we had couple of rainy days but we could get a sun tan ... the north beach of the hotel is amazing .. the rooms the food is great...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Louis, Warm greetings from Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your feedback with us. I was so pleased to read from your comments that you have had such an amazing stay with us and found the resort, the staff, the north beach, our rooms and the food all to your liking. We pride ourselves on having something for everyone to enjoy while staying with us from the variety of options at our restaurants, to the different and fun recreational and water activities we offer as well as the great choice of spa treatments and facilities where our guests can completely unwind and relax. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to the resort again in the future. Kind regards, Sasha Tyas, Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Really couldn't fault it! Much better than expected and great value for the Seychelles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Constance Ephelia Seychelles and for sharing your comments and score regarding your time with us. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your time at the resort and that you found everything to your liking and that we have managed to exceed your expectations. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Sasha Tyas, Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dammam, Saudi Arabia

Kids Friendly hotel / The best Spa

Posted Aug 22, 2017
My son liked the kids club alot that he doesn't want to leave specially if there were other kids around, the staff there are very friendly. The Spa is one of the best that we ever had, their massage was very effective, and the facility in general is nice. The other facilities in general are worthwhile to check it up (restaurants, beach, swimming pools, watersports..etc)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mohammed, Greetings from Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us about your recent stay at our resort. I was delighted to see that you and your family have all enjoyed your stay and that your son really enjoyed our fun and lively kids club that offers a great range of activities every day for our little guests. I can also see from your comments that you have found our spa to your liking as well as other services we have to offer such as our varied culinary options at our 5 different restaurants, our 2 stunning beaches and the choices of different pools and activities for our guests to enjoy. Thank you again for your review and I hope it will not be long before we have the chance of welcoming you back to the resort. Kind regards, Sasha Tyas, Resident Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Please read this before you book this hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
This hotel is nothing like star hotel. We booked for 5 nights but we only stay for 1 night and rushed out to leave. 1. It's totally rip off. You literally almost paying for everything. We had to call room service to order drinking water which even 2 star hotel would give you this basic complimentary! And we paid almost $700/night! It's ridiculous! 2. Location is not great, far away from everything. It rains a lot and cloudy most of the time. Taxi driver explained because the hotel is located behind the huge mountain so the weather is most likely poor everyday in this area. Also because hotel is surrounded with mangroves, you will experiences a thousand of mosquitos everyday. Just the spray wouldn't keep you safe. 3. The beach on the south one is too windy. Rains and super windy. Also it looks dirty as it covers with black leafs. The low tide stays till late afternoon. South beach is pretty much useless. The North Beach is nicer but just a small beach and it's packed with local people. Watch out for thief. You not allow to put hotel beach chair on the beach! Expecting me to go sit under the tree in garden while I'm on the beach!? We didn't understand this silly rule at all and they didn't give us any explanation. From the first day we've got very disappointed, we couldn't have a peaceful holiday. Whatever we wanted to do or wherever we went, there are weird and annoying rules that limited you to enjoy it! They will tell
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Molly, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your feedback with us. I was of course saddened to read from your comments that you have not enjoyed your stay and in fact chose to leave us early due to your dissatisfaction. I believe that our team, including our Executive Assistant Manager Samuel Pellegrini, made every effort to address your concerns and make you more comfortable while you were staying with us. We in fact waived the cancellation charges as a gesture from our side when you made the choice to leave the resort prematurely. We will be in contact with you directly to address all of these issues and I remain at your disposal should you wish to further discuss these matter. Kind regards, Kai Hoffmeister, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ISTANBUL

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Clean, Friendly stuff
Location: good location, there is a waterfall nearby
Constance Ephélia is very family resort, everything is exactly as described. Has two shores north and south. One of the is always calm depending on season. Love to stay there on another occasion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Faith, Greetings from Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your feedback with us. I was very pleased to see from your comments that you have enjoyed your time at the resort and that you found the facilities and service to your liking. We make every effort to ensure that every guest who comes to the resort leaves with positive and long lasting memories. Thank you again for the review and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort in the future. Kind regards, Kai Hoffmeister, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bourne Lincs UK

An excellent holiday

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Location, ambience, friendliness, cleanliness, Mosquito free! , Food choice, EVERYTHING!
Cons: Ban seaweed on the beach.
Location: We went for a beach holiday to relax and unwind the Hotel/resort was perfect we never left the 120 hectare site
Excellent accommodation close to pool and the south beach, wonderful surroundings, friendly staff, perfect weather, great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ian, Warm greetings from myself and the team here at Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and images of your stay with us. I was delighted to see from your comments that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you found our facilities and service to your liking. I can see that you were able to make great use of your time by enjoying our lovely beaches and restaurants and I am pleased that our team made you feel relaxed during your stay. I have well noted the remark regarding the seaweed and we have a team of people who maintain the cleanliness of the beaches every day so that our guests can enjoy the 2 beaches to the fullest even when we have strong tides. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort again. Kind regards, Kai Hoffmeister, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Property but make sure to include meals

Posted May 31, 2017
At buffets, service staff seemed put out and not happy with their job of customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Warm greetings from myself and the team here at Constance Ephelia Seychelles. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and valuable feedback with us. I would like to sincerely apologise if you found the service at our main buffet restaurant Corossol lacking in any way during your stay. I appreciate the comments and have addressed this matter with the managers responsible for the service in this area for immediate corrective action to be taken. Thank you again for the review and I hope to have the chance of welcoming you to the resort again in the future. Kind regards, Ki Hoffmeister, General Manager