Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view, everything else is terrible. Avoid.

Posted May 1, 2018
Pick up from airport did not arrive. I was told they can provide manual transmission rental car for me after I arrive, but on arrival I was told they don't have manual transmission. The worst is that the room toilet and bath were not clean and the safe would not work. When I complained they gave a higher category room, but that too had same issues. Unclean toilets and safe that cannot be locked! I was repeatedly told someone will come to fix the in room safe but no one turned up throughout the stay. Restaurant cutlery and tablecloths all were stained and the pool had dirt at the bottom. No wifi in room, only in lounge and does not work most of the time. Overall very unclean and they do not care about your concerns. Spend your money elsewhere, you can access the beach though public access and do not need to stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Best location, worse service

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Located in the most beautiful part of the Seychelles with a beautiful beach. But the service was so bad. Staff was very unfriendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Excellent beach for sunbathing, snorkelling, and watching the sunset. The hotel is excellent for one on a tropical island but not of the same standard as the finest in more forgiving environments. Stick to the fish courses on the menu and you’ll have some really good, hearty meals. The staff are all very friendly and courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Fatty owls

Posted Mar 19, 2018
This hotel is the Seychelles version of fawlty towers. Firstly the good points. Amazing location with a wonderfully quiet and secluded beach. Adequately sized accommodation. Both bar and restaurant have a great view. Bad points. The entire complex is 10 years past it’s sell buy date. Everything thing is tired. For example phone in the room did not work as did the safe and bathroom extractor fan. Food was cold dull and overpriced and some ( but not all) of the staff unable to provide any thing but basic service. Sometimes responding to simple and polite requests by walking off. In the end we ate away and did not report any problems after the first day as it was easier than conflicts with the staff as it was obvious that they were unable or unwilling to do anything. Only when a manager was in on our second to last day did the staff seem engaged. If like us you can find amusement in the fawlty towers style of resort it’s worth the fair price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic location if you want a quiet break

Posted Mar 2, 2018
Pros: Feeding fish from the bar. Snorkelling with the fish. Beach access is easy. Breakfast was great. Plenty to choose from and all you can eat.
Cons: WiFi. Absolute rubbish. It’s a couple hotel. Nothing for kids. Main reason I booked (I don’t have kids).
Location: The hotel is out the way from everything. I’m a keen runner and the hills are on your door step. Small beach 30 second walk away.
i Stayed for 10 nights in a junior suite. These are the suites that have the sea view. Rooms are good but don’t exspect a brand new room like the Hilton. The beach rooms are a new build the junior suites are still good with your own spot outside to sit with your partner and watch the sun go down. Air conditioning in the room is great only annoying bit was the double bed is two mattres instead of an actual double mattress. Hotel itself is clean, food is great, it’s a set menu on a night time but it is very good. I ran every day to the beach to dive which is about 10 mins run away. Taxis are a pain, more so on an evening. No money in it so they don’t turn up. For what I paid I was very happy. Bigest down side is there is no WiFi in the room. On an evening everyone sits in reception so the WiFi then drops out. I was there but still needed to contact work and if I knew I had no room WiFi I would not have booked. Overall I was happy. It’s an older hotel but it adds to its chachter. It is no way a dump or a bad hotel. Improvements to the hotel need to be made, this is mainly cosmetic such as the roof has a thach roof with a massive plastic bag on it, a lick of paint here and there on the outside. When your on the beach you will see it all for your self. The hotel feed the fish from the bar, so when you go snorkelling there are hundreds of fish to feed by hand right on your doorstep. The staff are more than happy to help where they can and will go the extra mile if they are able.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Experience at Sunset Beach Hotel - Seychelles

Posted Jan 7, 2018
That place needs to be completely renovated. They need to close it down for a year at least. The breakfast is always late, they never bother ask if you need anything or want coffee once you showed up for breakfast. No internet in the room so all the guests go to the lobby to access the internet. The hotel lobby looks terrible and nasty. The AC in our room never really cools down. The place has a very great potential because of the its location but the owner, management and staff needs to learn how to run a hotel business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Architecture, Location, Views, Service, Dinner, Breakfast, Value for Money.
Cons: There is room for renovation in certain parts, but this is far from essential. The pool table needs servicing! But who cares! Wi-Fi should be improved
Location: We had a car but the place is close to bus stops.
We had a lovely time here, and had absolutely nothing to complain about. The hotel is situated on the rocks with a beautiful, semi-private beach. DO NOT listen to other reviews that complain about the condition of the hotel, I have NO CLUE what they're about - yes it is relatively old, but this did not have any effect on the quality of our stay. Our room was large, and wooden inside. It was next to the beach with fantastic views onto the sea, and less than a minute away from the beach. That gave us the opportunity to swim at the sunset, watching the sun going down, and once at night. We were half board: the breakfast and dinner were both great. The architecture and plan of the hotel are both interesting, and stunning, and the views you get over the sea are breathtakingly beautiful. The staff are helpful and kind. We had a Saturday night live band at the hotel playing during dinner and afterwards playing local music, which was very nice. We even danced, on our own!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

OMG

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Couldn't have imagined it would would be this fantastic an experience. Wish I could have canceled my cruise ship and just stayed here. Been 130 countries and never had such a location and view just steps from the water. Only negative my a/c went out during the night but was fixed first thing in morning. The sand started when I walked out my door and the water was a chip shot away. I even had a chicken guarding my door. Unbelievable value. Don't even think about it. Stay here
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KSA

It was a terrible experience

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We had an unfortunate experience on my 30th birthday. We chose a lovely island but a horrible hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The Location is perfect. The private beach is very good.
Location: There is nothing in proximity. but you can get to Victoria easily within half hour. would recommend taking a car on rent.
The place is ideal for a quiet getaway. you can relax on the private beach, do some snorkeling. The staff is helpful and friendly.