Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, UK

Lovely people and beautiful setting.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
The staff are helpful and friendly. The setting is lovely and the rooms are huge with great views. The beach is great and never too busy and from here access is great to beau vallon and the rest of Mahe. Hire a car Rose at Avis is great. Yes it needs a bit of TLC but the refurb will take care of this so take advantage as the location we probably cost you double post rebuild!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning location, shocking service

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The secluded beach is beautiful but NOT private as advertised. Being only a 10 minute walk from The Hilton
Cons: Literally, everything
Location: Set in a stunning location with secluded beach you are a 30 minute walk from local town and 30 minute taxi to Victoria
THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL.Just finished a 10 day stay at this hotel which is completely misrepresented in all publications. Closing this year for 2 year refurbishment and it needs it! The hotel staff were the worst I have encountered anywhere in the world. Birds on food, dog excrement in garden, machete left lying around, only 1 room key, no door handle, dirty pool, no back up electricity and ripped of by hotel staff for taxis. Owner refused to acknowldge complaint - would NOT recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First time in Seychelles

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The view is amazing of course and the bar was a nice place to hang out.
Cons: I hear the entire hotel is being shut-down to be torn down and re-built...so I'm sure they have thought of all improvement ideas.
One of the staff was over the top helpful and only too eager to ensure our stay was the best (Mr. Theo); he was really amazing and a real asset to the hotel. Staff in general were polite but I supposed we were not used to 'island pace' of life, LOL. Taking an all day excursion to an uninhabited island, like Therese is a must do along with snorkeling in the open ocean, absolutely fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs urgent attention

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Situation, location
Cons: Too much to list, staff attitudes.
Location: Close by are many nice restaurants and beaches.
We stayed here 1 year ago, and throughly enjoyed it. Sadly, on this trip it was not the same. Even the staff were aware of it as when we commented they seemed to know. Management has changed, many things in the room broken, some staff very nice, some sullen and not friendly at all.. We were told the hotel would be closing for major renovations for one year to 18 months. Hopefully this will address many issues, but if management attention is also not addresses it may only be a facelift with no significant improvement!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location, every room is oceanfront.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The location and staff are outstanding and the main dining area and bar as spectacular as any I've ever seen at a boutique hotel.
Cons: The rooms could use minor refreshing but for the Seychelles fairly priced. The food is good but expensive.
Location: The hotel has a beautiful beach, good snorkeling, and is nearby a small community with nice restaurants, a small supermarket and lots of activities.
4 out of 5
by Philippe from Botswana

Fantastic potential but in need of TLC!

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Long check in time. Poor hotel information. Some staff seemed uninterested. The hotel needs serious maintenance. Super location. Safe.
3 out of 5
by CJ from jeffreys bay

Great Sea Views..run down hotel

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location with magnificent views of the ocean. Hotel and rooms are a bit run down and need attention. WIFI at the hotel was pathetic and only works (sort of) in the Reception area. Breakfast was average. Dinner was good food, but extremely pricy. Hotel staff was not exceptionally friendly nor helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Past the heyday, but still charming

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The snorkeling and the hotel staff.
Cons: Could use some small investment in upgrades and repairs.
Location: Nice sunset view. Great snorkeling/swimming beach adjacent. Beau Vallon beach minutes away.
After reading other reviews we decided to take a chance on Sunset Beach Hotel. We are glad we did. It is true that the condition of the resort is past its heyday and it could use some repairs and updating. However, consider that you are getting a great bargain on a great location and a resort that is just a little past its prime. In it's prime, perhaps 10-15 years ago, it must have been a very swanky resort. The natural materials have aged a bit. A few shells are missing from the decorations in the bathroom. The marble isn't quite as shiny as it would have been new. The patio furniture upholstery has faded. Still these details did not reduce our enjoyment. The staff were very friendly, especially Theo and the other servers in the restaurant. The restaurant literally hangs over the rocky shore and our room had a private patio that overlooked the Indian Ocean. Prices at the restaurant were comparable with other restaurants in Seychelles. The snorkeling just down the stairs at Sunset Beach is great with good corals and a school of eagle rays that apparently lives in the cove. Beau Vallon is just down the road a few minutes by car with a couple of decent restaurants and another beach and a dive shop. Overall a very good experience for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Amazing Beach Poor Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs lots of improvement
Location: Great location
The hotel is in a wonderful location in one of the best beaches in Seychelles. The Hotel itself in terrible condition, rooms extremely uncomfortable and dirty. We stayed for 5 days and didn't sleep much because of not working AC. Told management so many times but nothing done. The rooms had big roaches, I don't think the cleaning crew cleans under the beds, because they are full of flies. Very bad breakfast, insects crawling on the bread. This hotel has lots of potential because of its location but management apparently doesn't care.
1 out of 5
by Pascal

Couple weekend

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Ebookers
This hotel was by far the worst I have ever stayed. There is nothing good about that place, unfriendly staff, shabby and smelly rooms, poor service, disgusting food, dirty and just extremely disappointing. I would be fine to stay at a place like that if it would be 50 USD or less, but 400 USD for a night!!!!!!! This is absolutely a rip off and I would highly recommend to remove that place from your website.