Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Good quality, pity about the "Terras"

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The staff are a delight. Breakfast is outstanding. It's location is excellent.
Cons: Update the rooms. Resolve the non-resident issue regarding comfortable use and enjoyment of the terrace/bar.
Location: This is Montmartre! Say no more.
This hotel is wonderfully situated. Its rooms are well-appointed, if somewhat passe. The staff are delightful. Breakfast is a lovely experience. However, do not expect to enjoy the beautiful terrace facility comprising bar and restaurant. You will not be able to enjoy the wonderful views and atmosphere since you will find the terrace overrun by non-residents; an issue this lovely hotel needs somehow to address if it wishes to attract back guests who feel rather marginalised by this lack of availability of the hotel's finest facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful hotel near bars and restaurants

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Lovely quiet hotel with excellent views, overlooking the Harbour, great choices at breakfast for everyone, entertainment in the evening with attentive staff who could not be more helpful, brilliant holiday
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel but not 5 Star

Posted Aug 1, 2017
This is a hotel I can only describe as 'nice'. I sadly lacks what you might call luxury. Everything is clean and tidy but very basic, the staff are very hard working helpful and friendly. The rooms are basic and not very big. The pool area is nice but nothing special Evening entertainment varied from 'OK' to 'pretty awful'. very few people seemed to stay around in the evening giving the place a somewhat deserted feel at times. The buffet breakfast is excellent The hotel is located in Es Castell and majority of the restaurants nearby are in the Cales Fonts area, a lovely picturesque bay. This is about a 15 minute walk away. The restaurants in this are all pretty much serve the same menu, its just a question of finding which one does it best! The main town of Mahon is 15 minutes away on the local bus but sadly the last bus from Mahon is at 20.45 - no good is you want a night out and as we discovered taxis are harder to find than rocking horse droppings and we ended up having to walk 2.5km back to the hotel. Having not hired a car we consequently found ourselves restricted to Es Castell in the evenings which gets a bit dull after a few nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Fantastic location overlooking estuary

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and food!
Room available upon arrival at 10am, booked a suite, good size room with large balcony and outside jacuzzi. Staff very friendly and helpful in particular Raul in restaurant and staff in reception upon arrival, Kevin and colleague. Selection and quality of food at breakfast and evening meal excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Ana Panera, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Clive, Thank you very much for your kind post.Thank you for your 5 star review!. .Even thouhgt the check in is from 14h , when we have rooms availables we try to do the check in at your arrival, so you dont have to wait. I am happy to pass on your comments to Raul, kevin and front desk satff. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay and we look forward to welcome you back at the very near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Highly recommend.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Fantastic hotel, peaceful and quiet. Great facilities and location. 5-10 minute walk to local town Es Castell and there is a supermarket just round the corner. The staff are friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Nice hotel with the friendliest staff

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Nearly everything - wonderful views.
Cons: Only complaint is that we were given a couple of rather threadbare towels.
Location: We spent most of our stay enjoying the hotel facilities and around the pool. Plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance.
Enjoyed a wonderful stay at Carlos III. All the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Ana Panera, Hotel Management
Than you very much for your 5 star review and rating!. I take in consideration your comments about the towels. I hope to see you soon !.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disappointed

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Previous website reviews mentioned how helpful and friendly this hotel is, however this wasn't my experience. After 8 days nobody acknowledged you with Hola, for example at breakfast every day they ask your room number, rather than your name to tick you off and on leaving the hotel and returning the front desk never acknowledge you. The hotel style reminded me of a premiere inn ,functional with out personality or style. It's 'eco' credentials made the bedrooms too hot as the air conditioner is very poor and our room had two sides of windows. Soap etc in fixed pumps, with tops which required several pumps , made it difficult to use especially once hands were wet. Breakfast was cramped , and arranged so that some items seemed to be in the wrong place especially items of fruit . To me it seemed everything was prepared early hot and cold and not refreshed or replaced e.g. Salad leaves and curcumber dry and wilted, boiled eggs with grey yolks, sliced bread dried out. Yes you could queue to have some show cooked fried eggs , but they were cooked so slowly they were either raw or overdone. Every morning and evening our room was filled with the smells of food from the restaurant which was down to a ventilation issue they need to sort . The positives the hotel is in a good location and tea and coffee was available in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Ana Panera, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback both positive and constructive. I note you do not plan on returning but please rest assured I have shared your feedback with the team to review. Please do not be deterred from staying with us again as I do not believe you have not experienced the hotel in its best light. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Beautiful views, extra charges are annoying

Posted May 31, 2017
Having read many of the recent reviews I was pretty sure we'd be in a good 4* hotel, quiet location, with good food and facilities. The views are stunning we had a side sea view room allocated. Although sea view rooms were available they were €29 per night extra, no free upgrades here. The pool and 'highly promoted sea spa' looked lovely although too cold to get in. I cannot understand hotels having pools not being comfortable enough temperature for most guests to use. Nice hotel although located in residential area. Local harbours, restaurants etc. about a 10 min walk away. Much nicer marina in Mahon about half an hours walk away. The hotel 'car park' is literally a few spaces beside the hotel with a flimsy barrier locked. Hire charge is a hefty €6 euros a day. Safes also chargeable as are change of pool/beach towels after 1st change. Tv in room only British channels we could find were ITV & ITV2. Pleased we opted for B&B as buffet meals are so samey. Tried dinner on the 1st night, food was nice but average. Mornings are quite noisy with cleaners and self closing doors continually banging. Drinks in hotel are expensive. All in all it was nice but the extra charges put me off. I've been in better 4 star adult only hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very quiet

Posted May 27, 2017
Very quiet hotel which is a plus only a 10 minute walk to the harbour where all restaurants and bars are. We walked to Mahon the capital which was a 20-25 minute walk for lunch. Highly recommend this hotel for peace and quiet
4 out of 5
by cindy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels