Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Dec 4, 2017
It was great. Nice quiet and comfortable settings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Jess L, Hotel Management
Dear Chippo, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel quiet and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Lawrence, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Rather average stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Quality of bathroom
Arrived late but found hotel easy to find. Parking was fine even though they were clearly busy (xmas parties we presumed). Reception staff were lovely. Room was larger than expected, bed was comfy, TV good. Breakfast in the morning was really great and again lovely staff. Check out was easy. However; window was open in room on arrival and no heating on so it was freezing... and the bathroom was really poor - first we couldn't get the hot water to run for the bath, we had to hold it to an angle taut to get anything to come out, then we found that the plug didn't work so had to sit on it/keep foot on it to stop the bath emptying and then there was a massive silver fish :( We didn't complain because it was gone midnight and we just wanted to get to bed, but really disappointing that the basics weren't right here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Jess L, Hotel Management
Dear Jess, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay but would like to apologise for the shortfalls in standards that you experienced. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard and I shall be speaking with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure that the teams are retrained and these issues in the bathroom are immediately rectified. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and I hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Lawrence, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somerset

waste of money

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: managers attitude and willingness to help
Cons: cost, breakfast.
Location: close to a major shopping location
Overall the hotel is expensive for what you got. Had to request a room move due to the a number of surrounding rooms being rented to drunken quests who were running up and down the hall way in various states of undress and smoking, playing loud music with no consideration for other quests. This caused my 5 year old granddaughter to be upset and frightened. The manager was very apologetic and changed are room. Woken up in the middle of the night and had to evacuate the hotel due to a fire alarm again had to comfort my granddaughter as we were again surrounded with drunken quests. eventually a false alarm declared and allowed to return to the room. Woken approx. 1 hr later after settling the granddaughter down by drunks running up and down the corridor banging on doors. Later in the early hours police had to attend the hotel due to the drunken quests behaviour. Breakfast cost twelve ponds each, not worth the expense, to sit listening to other peoples music from their phone, no staff willing to ask them to consider others. Overall wish I had not booked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Jess L, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your review and your feedback. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of service and I shall ensure your comments are shared with the teams for retraining to be provided to them. We treat all fire alarms as if they are real and in this case, the break glass unit was broken and therefore the building had to evacuated. Our guest's safety and security is paramount to us but I do apologise that this disturbed your stay. As mentioned, the noise disturbance from other guests is not our usual standard and please accept my apologies for this occurrence. Please be assured that this group of people was dealt with as best our team could but unfortunately became rude and uncontrollable which is the police were called. I shall speak with our food and beverage management team regarding the breakfast and ensure that our team is retrained and that they are confident in dealing with such guests in the future. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and I hope we will welcome you back in the future to restore your faith in our hotel. Kind regards, Jessica Lawrence, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fareham

Good hotel in a good location.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Cons: Bathroom in our room would benefit from some refurbishment.
Location: Proximity to motorway is excellent
My husband and I booked the Hilton Maidstone for its location. On arrival we were very pleased with the public areas being spacious and well laid out. Room was large with sofa seating area which made for a comfortable stay. Special praise should be given to the restaurant breakfast staff who were extremely pleasant, helpful, cheerful and would be a credit to any hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Jess L, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and found our rooms spacious and comfortable and our breakfast team were helpful and friendly. With regards to the bathrooms, we are in the process of updating these and I shall ensure that this room is done as soon as possible. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Lawrence, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Catering

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Breakfast very poor. Dry, over cooked and barely warm. Limited choice of bread that had previously been frozen. In fact only brown or white farmhouse loaves. No breakfast rolls or crackers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Jess L, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us but I would like to apologise for the quality and standard of breakfast that you experienced. This is not our usual standard and I shall be speaking with our Head Chef for immediate improvements to be made. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and I hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Lawrence, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east malling uk

Not as good as previous yrars

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Firstly WIFI was not free. How ridiculous is that? Even the smallest B&B has free WiFi.Its as bad as not putting loo roll in the bathroom. Also Housekeeping walked into my colleagues room while she was getting ready to leave. She was not happy about that. It’s been a treat to stay there in previous years but it’s shine has rubbed off
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Jess L, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our wifi is complimentary in our public areas and for all our Hilton Honour members. I apologise if this was not explained to you and I shall be ensuing the teams are retrained. Please accept m apologies that housekeeping walked into your colleagues room. They do have clear procedures to follow when entering a guest's room and I shall be investigating and ensuring this team member is retrained. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and I hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Lawrence, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

an excellent functional hotel. good breakfast

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: see above. and we arrived early and they gave us a room which was very convenient
Cons: nothing
Location: we went to a wedding
we needed a clean comfortable room, good bathroom and good breakfast.and we got that. the front of house and seating and catering was good. staff were pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Jessica P, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our hotel clean and comfortable, our breakfast good and our staff pleasant. I shall ensure that this is shared with the teams and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Pollard, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NFA

In dire need of repair

Posted Sep 22, 2017
While the main lobby area seems to have been updated, unfortunately the rooms are still stuck in the 1990s No aircon, only a small electric heater on the wall, very worn furniture and creaky beds. In our case the heater didn't work either. There also seems to be a disconnect with the restaurant: while the hotel staff and indeed the guest room info documents tell you hot food is available 24 hours on room service and that breakfast is served until 11am, the restaurant tells you neither of those things are true. Disappointing. Hiltons usually do better than this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Jessica P, Hotel Management
Dear Paris Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and would like to apologise for the shortfalls in standards that you experienced. We are constantly updating our hotel and we will be updating a number of our bedrooms early next year which we are confident will improve our guest's experience. With regards to the room service, certain items are served after 10.30pm which includes currys. These items are clearly stated with a clock next to them for 24 hours. Breakfast is served until 11am on a Saturday and Sunday but we are aware that the guest directory can be misleading and we are in the process of getting this changed. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and I hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Pollard, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Almayate.Malaga Spain.

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Bedroom large and comfortable. The bathroom was not ventilated properly.There was black mould on the ceiling and the ventilation grill above the bath was very dusty and covered with mould.There were not enough staff on tje bar areas. These points let dowm an othetwise excellent hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Jessica P, Hotel Management
Dear Sam Thank you for your review. I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay but would like to apologise for the standard of cleanliness experienced. I shall ensure that our housekeeping team rectifies this immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope we will be welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Pollard, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from suffolk

great Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Close to Dover
Cons: Lift to upper level
Location: We went to steam rally but plenty to do for all ages
Every member of staff very helpful. Breakfast was great .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Jessica P, Hotel Management
Dear Seval, Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our team members helpful and our breakfast great. I shall ensure that this is shared with the teams and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jessica Pollard, PA to Leonardo Gagliano, General Manager