Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Wrong hotel name given

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Clean and tidy
Cons: Elevator to top floors
Location: I was attending a works function nearby. Brands hatch is around the corner
The booking confirmation told me that I was booked into the Premier Inn instead of the Holiday Inn which wasted a half hour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eagan, MN

Unreliable quality

Posted Oct 4, 2017
We have been staying at this hotel many years: In fact we were staying at the hotel long before it was a holiday inn. On our visit to England this time we stayed twice,a few days at the beginning of our visit and a few days at the end. The first stay was very disappointing. The staff were great but the room was very poor. Holes in the bathroom door, rusty bin, smelly refrigerator etc. We mentioned this to the hotel staff, but the hotel was fully booked so they couldn't change our room. We had a much nicer room on our second stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gunnislake, Cornwall

Convenient for the motorway

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location was ideal, room spacious and quiet
Cons: More milk to go with the morning coffee
Location: Ightam mote old tudor house. Sevenoaks town and Knole Park stately home.
Nicely located between the Sevenoaks area villages and the motorway for channel crossings. This hotel is rich on amenities . A very pleasant brief stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Staff were lovely

Posted Sep 8, 2017
First of all were put in the wrong room. This room absolutely stunk of ciggarettes and had ash and burn holes on the curtains. The bathroom was a disgracre stains and mould spots through out. When we were given our new room our hospitalty tray and mugs were dirty and the kettle had mould in it. The bathroom wasnt much better than the first in fact probably worse. The tub was covered in soap scum. This hotel is clearly about conferences and business meetings because those facilities and the front desk look great but the rooms are a total disgrace. I can't even say the rooms are simply a little dated they are old and dirty. I am a Holiday Inn Loyalty Customer but Holiday Inn should be ashamed to have their name above this establishment compared to others I have stayed in. Something needs to be done about the hygiene and cleaning regime in this hotel and the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

Not a great stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Loads, including management, room cleaning.
Not a great stay Day 1 After booking three night and two rooms via Expedia and paying a week before, we turned up and had to wait for receptionist to finish a conversation with another staff member before being acknowledged. We were greeted with the fact that we had no rooms reserved for us and that the hotel was full so we would need to have other rooms and be moved the next day into the rooms we had paid for. The two rooms allocated were at exactly opposite ends of the large hotel. I asked why we hadn't got rooms despite paying in full a week before and was told it was because of the Expedia bookings. Apparently, if you book through Expedia Holiday inn see you as second class citizens even if you have paid the high price in full and others who book later get your rooms. It soon became apparent that one of the rooms was near some seriously malfunctioning machinery that meant that it constantly sounded like a helicopter was trying to land on the roof of the room. I notified reception who basically said tough luck as there were no maintenance staff, or other rooms to be moved too. The noise went on long after we went to bed and it was impossible to sleep. Luckily at around midnight whatever was causing the vibrations either broke or turned itself off. So sleep became possible despite being on edge from the noise and arguments we had had to endure with the front desk. Day 2 I asked at reception if a new room was available as booked and paid for. We were allocated a new room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Weekend break

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Just had a relaxing weekend break here. Really easy to find being just off the motorway. Nice pool and gym. Staff really helpful. Had evening meal there one night which was good food (little bit pricey but probably on par with most hotels). Great breakfast as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Has everything you need, the hotel food options were pretty good. Only downside is carrying luggage to your rooms, we had kids so it made this a little more difficult. Other than that it was a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Hotel in a poor state

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Convenient location for visiting family.
Cons: The repair programme and the cleaning regime. The room was filthy and the communal areas were populated by insects.
This hotel is tired and in much need of some TLC. The room we stayed in was dirty and in a poor state of repair. Our room had not been cleaned properly prior to our arrival and showed signed of long term neglect. This was a place to lay our heads and definitely not an enjoyable experience. The reception staff are sullen and unhelpful. The hotel fell far short of my expectations.
2 out of 5
by Victoria

A smoking room?

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
As a Gold Hotels.com member, I stay in a lot of hotels. I have never stayed in a "smoking" room. I thought it was illegal but evidently not. I called reception when I arrived to be told that they have 2 smoking rooms which they use when full. Great. Every time I turned over in the night I could smell ashtray. The room was dingy, cups cracked, bathroom old, squashed insect on wall- so not much going for this stay. As I had booked a meeting room for the next day, I can say that this was efficient.
4 out of 5
by John M A

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent food in restaurant - simple, good quality, generous portions.