Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
dirty, shower did not work, dirty hotel with strange messages "wear appropriate footwear" "don't put pastries in the toaster" ...makes me think the type of people going there ...just like me :))
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Wales

lovely hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Quiet, plenty of room to park. Good breakfast.
Cons: Provide biscuits on the second day. However, I read in the information book afterwards, I could have rang reception to obtain some more.
Location: we were visiting relatives so didn't need to look for things to do.
Clean and comfortable. Helpful, friendly staff. Very reasonable rate for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Great Value Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Oakwood House is a beautiful building and the bedrooms are well equipped and comfortable. Walls are a bit thin leading to some disturbed sleep but have an extra nightcap in the excellent bar. Conference facilities though not used by us looked excellent. Breakfast was well cooked buffet style. Best of all a room price 30% lower than Premier Inn with similar with only slightly lower comfort level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

lovely room , fab food ,

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: lovely food , nicely decorated room , clean , free wifi , nice bar
Cons: mattresses and breakfast offerings if you have to leave before breakfast times
so we visited for an overnight stay , we were aware it was a little out of the way but the satnav got us there with no problems , ample parking and a nice looking hotel , were greeted warmly on arrival , i had booked a double standard but was upgraded to a executive room before travelling as i have trouble with my back so need a good mattress , the whole place was clean and looked great , i think would be ideal for large events as there is a fab function room , the bedrooms are a walk away from reception and we got a little confused but asked staff for directions and they were more than happy to help , our room was lovely clean and nicely decorated there were a couple of stains on the carpet but nothing that was gross just normal hotel clumsy guest marks ! bathroom was clean and bright , shower instructions were on wall as the shower was quite unusual , the mattress is not very good quite hard and creaked everytime we moved i wouldnt recommend the mattresses and feel they need to be addressed or maybe even mattress toppers for a little bit of comfort we ate in the bar and the food was excellent and large portions too , staff were all freindly and very polite breakfast was included in the price but unfortunatly didnt start serving until 8 and we had to leave before then i would have liked to have had something to eat before leaving , maybe an in room croissant / muesli bar and orange juice could be provided at reception if people were not able to eat at the stated times?
3 out of 5
by Graham

Not that good.

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was very uncomfortable and the room was very basic. Breakfast was over cooked each day. Average I would say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Kept awake by the staff.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It looked nice
Cons: Booking in time, staff atgitude, better dining facilities, better signage and better stsff.
Couldn't check in until 3pm. There were eating facilities if you wanted a bar meal, no other option. Signage left a lot to be desired. Not only myself, but my friend and other guests were asking where certainrooms or places were, as the signage was either nonexistant or misleading. The worst part was being woken up at 11:30pm. by inconsiderate people inthe next room... the typical loud chatting and laughing, banging doors and moving furniture, even some people chatting to the occupants from outside...right outside my bedroom window. After tolerating this for an hour, I contacted the hotel staff, asking for a solution.....I was told I would get a call back inv5 mins. ( this did not happen) the noise did abate about 5 mins after my call. But not for long. I called again after 30 mins. This time no answer. Then again.... I packed and was ready to leave at 2:15am. At approx. 2.30am while looking for some hotel staff, I noticed that one of the people going in and out of the room causing all the noise wss a member of staff...... I was so angry, I knew I would need to calm dkwn before I tackled this. At 3.30am it did go quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice short stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Ebookers
Had 1 night here for the Ramblin Man Fair at More Park, we got a cab to the festival but walked all the way back, took c.40min. Lovely place, decent breakfast, nice room but found the bed uncomfortable with a very basic cross sprung mattress, hence 3/5 for comfort - I mentioned this when checking out and was told that the mattresses are in the process of being replaced with better ones. I'd definitely be happy to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Sandi

Nice Hotel let down by the food!!

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Service from restaurant was sadly lacking and the Food was a big let down, The stake that I ordered was cold and very chewy, so I politely sent it back, then they brought me a totally different stake, and it was not much warmer and slightly less chewy. there was not much point in complaining to the young waiter was on his own and he was so busy with other guests. Sadly we wont be back as much as the hotel was nice, as food is a big part of why we stay in a hotel especially after a long day at work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like going back to school

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in the middle of a grammar school with very little in terms of local restaurants or pubs. The hotel is a training centre but the room was spacious clean and quiet. Breakfast was a hot buffet and was freshly made and ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Hotel staff mostly unhappy and not very helpful. Didn't offer info on wifi or other odd ball issues like the shower