Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for visiting Saumur

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
I was driving back from Spain to England and chose the Cristal Hotel as it was centrally located in a town that I had not visited before. It was an excellent choice. Saumur is a very picturesque town with an impressive Chateau and a number of bridges crossing the fast flowing Loire. There was ample public parking (1€ an hour) in front of the hotel. The room was quite large with a four poster bed and tea/coffee making facility. The decor was a little tired but everywhere was clean. The friendly receptionist spoke good English and was very helpful. The best part was the restaurant where I had the most delicious evening meal. The breakfast in the morning was adequate. My only gripe was the wifi which was a little slow and I kept on having to sign in when using it. I would highly recommend the hotel as well visiting the town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Although we only stayed the one night and I would happily stay again. The room we were originally booked in for(23) was terrible. Dark and with only a view of roofs inhabited by pigeons and being somewhere in the vicinity of the extractor fan from the kitchens. I was very grateful they were able to find us a room with a lovely view of the Loire River no pigeons or smell and for only 10euros extra. Voila!! everyone's happy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quaint

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
lovely hotel
3 out of 5
by Lynn R. from Longboat Key

Convenient if you don't mind noise.

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel looked better as time went on. It was, however, the least comfortable of the five hotels we stayed in during this month-long trip to France.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and quiet

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Had an enjoyable 2 night stay at the Christal Hotel, the room though on the small side was tastefully decorated and had a lovely view over the Loire. Contrary to expectations there was no problem with street noise. The bed was very comfortable with proper feather pillows and 2 extra soft pillows if needed. We were on the 3rd floor which might be a problem for some as it was only reached by a narrow staircase, as were all the rooms. Fair sized shower room with lots of hot water and very clean. Didn't have breakfast there but lunch was good. Very pleasant and helpful staff. One street away from the old town so excellent location. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very good hotel. No parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loire base.

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Well placed for all amenities. Excellent restaurant; breakfast particularly good. Book room overlooking the river. No lift, but not too difficult to use stairs with luggage.
4 out of 5
by Pawel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Keith from Blackpool

Cristal Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
A budget priced hotel that delivered what was expected. Right in the centre of the town. Free parking was found about 200 yards away although had we tried moving the cars later we may have got closer. We didn't bother as we didn't need them for the two days we were there. Unloading and loading was done right outside the hotel. Very good meal in the hotel restaurant in the evening.
4 out of 5
by Mrs J A from GY

Resting spot

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Nice stop off point right by the river. Decor a bit tired upstairs, but comfortable room with plenty hot water to recover from the journey. Good meal in the restaurant and very pleasant staff. Plenty parking right outside hotel but no traffic noise during the night.