Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
A very pleasant, relaxed hotel in a peaceful setting. We had a club room in the main building looking out into the garden area at the front of the hotel. I am a really light sleeper and had read reviews about the road being noisy but didn’t find this at all (perhaps it depends on the season – I imagine perhaps when the grapes are being harvested it could be busier on the roads). We ate in the restaurant on site each night and the food was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful in booking a trip to Aconcagua. We really enjoyed the free wine tastings that were held in the evenings and looking around the old winery buildings. If you don’t have a car you’ll need to get a taxi in Mendoza itself, which was about a 15-20 minute journey. Our only disappointment was that there were so very few sun loungers around the pool (only 4 or 5 I think). We did ask if they had any more but they didn’t. Given the number of guests at the hotel they really could do with more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA area

Wonderful place to get away from the city bustle!

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Service was exceptional. Rustic setting with intimate feel....only 7 rooms at Club Tapiz....yet did not give up service and comfort.
Cons: Although rooms were great, could improve beds and update drapes, safe and some other furnishings.
Location: You are near most of best wineries in the area. Biking adventures, water & mtn activities. Loved the grand trees filled with chattering bird onsite.
Renovated governors house from 1890s situated about 16km from downtown Mendoza in the midst of wine country. Rustic but picturesque, quality feel on a working vineyard with grapes only yards from your room. Old winery can be used as meeting halls. They will set up actual tour of the working state of the art winery of Bodega Tapiz which is not too far away. Wine tastings of Tapiz wine every night as the sun goes down outside by the pool and spa with good local information provided by Alejandro. He along with Monica and Judith do an exceptional job arranging your journeys and wine tastings. Service is an area that they all completely excel at. Great chance to meet fellow travelers at evening wine tasting and morning breakfast...ours was an international group. They truly go above and beyond. Gourmet restaurant on premises that provides a wonderful hot morning breakfast along with exceptional lunch, dinner with a choice of 3 or 5 course dinner. Will definitely be back here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Very nice setting , good place to relax

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the setting , beautiful building, swimming pool, and very nice restaurant
Cons: The air-conditioning in the room ddi not work very well, and we had very hot days ...
We enjoyed our short stayed and visited few wineries in the area.
5 out of 5
by Eirik from Oslo

nice stay!!

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
perfect :)
5 out of 5
by David from Great Fall, Virginia

One of the Best!

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
I have been retired and taking long trips for 3 years now and the service of Club Tapiz should be studied for how to get a best in class rating. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by the manager, you will feel taken care of. Whether you need help getting reliable drivers, arranging wine tours, helping package wine for shipment, or even getting medical service - they excel and are there for you. All that besides the lovely small, even romantic, club situated in the middle of a vineyard with charming rooms. The restaurant is in demand but has a fixed menu so you might only eat their once in order to experience other cuisine. There is wifi but it is spotty with low bandwidth so don't go here because of the internet service. You go there because of the nightly wine tasting, the relaxing and comforting layout, and, for feeling special.
5 out of 5
by Philip from London

Lovely break

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful small boutique hotel. Made to feel very welcome and the hotel assisted us with our plans around the area. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Club Tapiz

Posted Jul 27, 2014
After nearly 2 weeks in Buenos Aires for work and vacation, a few nights at Club Tapiz was a perfect break before heading back to the US. Great location, quiet, and very helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by Sandy from Harrisburg, PA

Not what we expected

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: It was in a beautiful setting in the vineyard. Breakfast (included) was very good. There was a "wine tasting" every night with 2 Club Tapiz wines.
Cons: Alot. But most importantly Casa Zolo could be cleaner.
Location: Vineyards to tour. Suggest going to Uco Valley.
First, noone met us at the airport as we had been told would happen, so we went in a cab to Club Tapiz after waiting 45 minutes at the airport. The first day the hotel set us up for a beautiful lunch and vineyard tours at 2 vineyards, which went very well although there really wasn't any tour. A driver was summoned that spoke no English, although he was very nice and did a good job (we speak a little Spanish). We found out later that an English-speaking driver was available and I'm sure that would have enhanced our trip. On the second day we went to Uco Valley which was fabulous in scenery and spectacular vineyards. (I would stay in Uco if we ever return to Mendoza). As to the hotel, we were given a room in Casa Zolo, "the main house located a few yards from the Club". It was definately not as nice as Club Tapiz. When I said that I thought we had a room at the Club we were told "you booked on Expedia, so you get whatever is available". We were told we could have the Club room for one night and then move, and we should have done that because we were very unhappy with Casa Zolo. Although it was historic - it was also old, not clean, smelly bathroom, and a walk from the Club Tapiz main hotel. Dinner was fine in a nice setting, although there was dirt in our mushroom risotto.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful location. You can not beat the actual grounds of the hotel. Great view of Andes while swimming or having complimentary wine tasting each night. Everyone is very nice and helpful. Rooms are large and clean. Very easy to get to
5 out of 5
by Seth & Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2013 on Hotels