Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for Families

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great for a family with young kids. The hosting family is very open to sharing the farm experience with guests but not bothersome about it...and fresh milk!
5 out of 5
by Chad from Austin, Texas

Amazing stay in historic castle

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
We spent 3 days at Schloss Saalhof in June. What an experience! I had researched it extensively on the internet so I knew somewhat what to expect, but my expectations were exceeded once we arrived. As the name implies, this is a real castle dating from the 17th century. It is also a working farm, which means they have fresh milk, preserves, meats and schnapps that they produce on-site. This makes for an amazing breakfast! The rooms were spacious and immaculate, the grounds were filled with plenty of activities for our 9-year-old (trampoline, swings, etc.), and the views of the surrounding mountains were incredible. It's located about 10 minutes from Zell am See, but the village of Maishofen is within walking distance and has everything you need (restaurants, grocery store, bakery). This is a great base for taking in everything the surrounding area has to offer, and the Riedler family will make you feel right at home. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge ON Canada

Castle Saalhof - a PERFECT place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2011 on Hotels
Like many other travellers, we found Castle Saalhof on the internet. Great luck! We booked for 3 nights in late May, but ended up staying for 6. Your hostess Kathrin is gracious and friendly,speaking German, English, French and Italian. She knows what to do and see in the local area and has brochures for many of the attractions. The town of Zell am See (and associated lake) is less than 10 minutes away by car. We were there for a hiking holiday, so the location was perfect. Close to the Schmittenhohe gondola, the Grossglockner High Alpine road, Krimml Falls, but a bit farther from the Zillertal Alps hikes (Schlegeisspicher reservoir). The rooms were very modern, clean, and quiet. Ours had a small kitchenette, satellite TV and high speed internet. You can do laundry for 3Euros if you're on an extended trip with limited clothing. Fresh bread and eggs can be provided daily on request (it's on a working farm) for a minimal cost. Fresh milk always available, as well as a shot of homemade Schnapps on arrival! Grocery store, ATM, restaurants within 5 minutes walking. There's even a restaurant across the road which has great salads and pizzas for a very reasonable cost. Basically, you WILL NOT be dissapointed staying at the Castle. We highly recommend it! (for the sceptics: we do not work there nor are we getting paid to write this!) Book with confidence.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, United Kingdom

Amazing getaway

Posted Mar 18, 2010
This wonderfully renovated castle made a perfect location for my ski trip. Kathrin was a wonderful hostess. She collected me from the train station in the wee hours of the morning and helped with a loan of her laptop when mine was unable to connect to the internet. It should be noted that because this is a castle, the thick walls do not permit WiFi. So be prepared to come with a USB Ethernet connector. Kathrin provides plenty of ethernet cables as required.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kotoisa hotelli

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Siisti hotelli, uudisrakennus moderni.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Habitaciones limpias y cómodas

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente. Lugar amplio y cómodo. Mutiliza buena atención
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by mohammed

يستحق التجربة

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
تعامل رائع جدا من مالكة الفندق ،، وفندق جميل ذو تصميم قديم يعود إلى 600 سنه وهو أشبه بمتحف ،، تجربة رائعه
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are better places, but not too bad.

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Spent a week at this place. Back then they called it a hotel, now they changed it to a pensionat. (Which is lucky for them) The room was very nice, with original interior, that fits an old building. The hostess was warm and welcoming, and really tried to make us feel welcome. The advertisement said it was on a farm, which sounds ideal for children.. But when the children wanted to participate, the angry husband/farmer just looked at u and went passed u. Not a single hello during the whole week! It was very clear, that the arrangement with tourists inside their home, is an idea originating from the wife/hostess.... Theres a bigger road just outside the window, which sounds a lot. And if u are a "light-sleeper" ull get awakened by the compressor(?) from the milkingmachine at 0500... Wifi often didnt work/very slow, which my daughters wasnt to happy about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2015
I am very sorry that the holiday at the Saalhof Castle didn´t fulfill your expectations and we will try to do better. Wat a pity that you didn´t tell me about your complaints during your stay. When I asked you, you always told me, everything is fine and when you left after 4 nights you said you would like to stay longer but you already had a reservation in Italy. When your family arrived I offered you a free upgrade which you didn´t want. We didn´´t change Castle Saalhof in a guesthous, it has never been a hotel, we are a guesthouse offering apartments and offer farm stays. Your children joined my mother daily to collect eggs in the morning, furthermore we made bread on the stick in our grill house and you told me an my husband about your life in Sweden as a teacher at an agricultural school and that you used to work near Linz in Austria some years ago. I asked you to bake farmers´ bread with me and offered your children horse riding, but you said you don´t have the time to participate. Honestly, Children are always welcome to join my husband in the barn when he is milking and feeding the cows, but your children prefered staying in our big garden and playground and everybody is free to do what he wants. In fact, we are a real farm and don´t offer an animation program for children. Besides, you told me you are a teacher at an agricultural school in Sweden, so a farm stay would be nothing new to you and your children, so this is the reason why you don´t participate. If the windows are closed you won´t hear anything from the milking machine of the nearby stable and from the street. I am very sorry that you didn´t told me about the problems with the Wifi. If I had known I would have been happy to solve the problem as soon as possible. Kathrin Saalhof Castle
3 out of 5
by JOZEF from wilrijk- antwerpen

duur

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Alles in orde, behalve dat de eigenares zich niet aan de opgegeven voorwaarden van Hotels.com heeft gehouden. Snel na onze boeking werd een voorschot van onze rekening gehouden, terwijl er vermeld stond dat er geen voorafbetaling zou zijn. ook wisten we pas na boeking dat de "Ritterzimmer" geen kamer was, maar een appartement.Er zijn enkel appartementen en geen kamers. Bijgevolg moesten we ook nog eens ferme reinigingskosten betalen, waarvan niets vermeld staat op hotel.com als je boekt.Al bij al veel te duur voor twee nachten.