Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Rooms are not clean and very noisy outside all day

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I only chose this hotel cause it allows smoking but the room are not clean the carpet is very dirty. The chair is broken
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location and staff. Cost.
Cons: For the cost it is fair value.
Location: Location is convenient, Glorietta and Green Belt malls with the Landmark staore are within easy walking distance, many restaurants and bars nearby.
Stayed 2 weeks with a week gap between each week. Most staff were very good and helpful especially on getting to places in Manila, the rooms were clean and well presented, the location is very convenient and the food good and reasonably priced. Be careful not to use a driver with the name Victor Morales who is often around the hotel, he over charges and even when a price is agreed he will ask for more at the end of the trip. Do not take his city tour because what he does is drive you to a location and then leave you to your own devices to look at the site while he waits in the car, he does not bother to tell you about whatever there is to see at the site for example the old fort or the cathedral. Note he is not a reflection on the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from golden, colorado

5th visit to berjaya hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I was placed in a smaller than normal room this time, not bad but cramping for two people. The elevator occasionally malfunctioned. The bed in this room felt too hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from USA

Central Makati

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Great live music nightly, cheap rates (~$35/USD/Night), location, staff & amenities.
Cons: Rooms are AWFUL. Chipped tiles, awful painting, leaking walls, safe battery/lock issues, VERY dated bathrooms with only two bath towels.
Location: Malls, shopping, Burgos, entertainment, food, etc.
Hotel itself is in a great location and has a decent amount of amenities. Great staff! The rooms however, while decent in size, were AWFUL. Rooms were dirty (arpet, walls, bathroom), dated, (Decor, Bathroom), nNot functioning well (hot water was inconsistent, leak coming from light above bar, safe blew a battery and stopped functioning). No towels other than 2 very worn bath towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Had to get sheets changed before using, vent in CR had never been cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manila, PH

Wouldn't want to stay here too long.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I booked the Berjaya because I had been told that Makati was a good place to stay in Manila. Unfortunately it turned out that while the Berjaya is in Makati, it's also right next to Burgos, the red light district, and it shows. Although check in was ok, and the staff were polite and friendly I had pre booked and paid for a non smoking queen room I was told that the only one available was in the smoking area, so I was given a twin room instead. In the room the beds were reasonably comfortable despite some stains and even tears in the sheets, these were also prevalent in the carpet, furniture and curtains. In the bathroom the water only came out from the tap in the bath and not the shower, I do accept that I could have rectified this by calling in at reception but on this occasion, only a short stay, I was keen to get away quickly, I decided it would be better to go to a friends' hotel 10 mins away where I also left my valuables. I'd recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere to stay after partying in Burgos but if you want somewhere cleaner, more relaxing close to the shops and restaurants I'd look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Safe Hotel Close to the Nightlife and Shopping

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Great value for money.
Cons: Better sound proofing of the rooms facing the A.Venue Mall.
Location: Shopping at the Century City Mall, and great nightlife at P Burgos.
Hotel is located close the the bars. Shopping is a short taxi ride away, and a very reasonable cost with a metered taxi. Century City Mall is right next door. Upmarket shopping but very nice food. Hotel places strong emphasis on Security which is great. While you may get another hotel nearby for a slightly higher price which is considerably newer, the staff around the front entrance is extremely friendly and make you feel so welcomed. Request for a room facing Millennium Plaza, as the other side is really noisy with the loud music blasting away until 5am from the nearby open courtyard. Hotel has a great band and nice coffee shop overlooking the main street, great for people watching. Traffic along Makati Avenue is terrible from 7am till past midnight. But always ask the taxi drivers if they will switch on the meter before you get in. You can say no and just catch the next one. A lot of taxis available. Uber is also available if you have the App.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for the price paid
3 out of 5
by Melvyn Thobias

Berjaya Makati Hotel...not a good first impression

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is old & dated but for the price it is value for money. Location is ok with a mall nearby as well as a good variety of food & drinking spots. Traffic is very heavy around the hotel. Staff are generally pleasant & helpful. Mainly a lot of Middle Eastern & Indian customers during my stay.