Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice hotel, great service.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms.
Cons: The skills of the massage therapists at the spa.
Location: Location was excellent, central to everything.
We had a great stay at this hotel. Restaurants were very pricey, though, when quality of food was comparable to other 5-star hotels that charge a little less. Overall a good experience, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Late check in

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Big nice lobby and overall service
Location: Location is perfect. For business and pleasure.
It was a very late check in, but staff had everything ready and brought me to a perfect room and let me check in on my room. Perfect service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Joop, Thank you for your excellent review during your recent stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I truly appreciate your kind words for the hotel especially your commendation of our overall service, nice lobby and central location. This is an affirmation and encouragement for us to continue in giving our best service to our valued guests like you. It’s a pleasure to have you and I look forward to welcome you again on your next visit at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Family Reunion

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Please put bidet in comfort room.
Location: Malls .
It was a great experience. The staff are really friendly . Mariel went beyond her job description, such a wonderful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager / General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review during your stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I am glad that our friendly staff suited you well. I truly appreciate your kind words and will definitely share your commendations with Mariel and my team. This is an affirmation and encouragement for us to continue in giving our best service to you, our valued guest. It is our pleasure to have you and I look forward to welcome you again at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely, Alain Borgers, Area Manager / General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Breakfast buffet could have been a little better. Limited on the variety of items. Overall great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager / General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of your comments. I truly appreciate your kind words and will definitely share your commendations with my team. This is an affirmation and encouragement for us to continue in giving our best service to you, our valued guest. It is a pleasure to have you and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely, Alain Borgers, Area Manager / General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Wonderful Will be back soon Nice staff , good buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear woodland hills, Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our nice staff and buffet spread. I truly appreciate your kind words and will definitely share your commendations with my team. This is an affirmation and encouragement for us to continue in giving our best service to you, our valued guest. It is a pleasure to have you and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely, Alain Borgers, Area Manager / General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Poor service at the breakfast buffet

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Room was nice and clean. Reception staff were polite, efficient and nice. Security staff were nice and polite.
Cons: All the staff at the breakfast buffet needs to attend a seminar how to make the guests at home. Cooks and food preparers were nice.
Location: Very good location. Near shopping and restaurants
Girl that seated us would take order for coffee or juice but no one would come to give us the drinks. I have to chase the servers that would just keep on passing by or we have to get it ourselves. Not one would come to ask us if we need our coffee replace once it gets cold. So different from the impeccable personal service at the Manila Hotel where we stayed in October 2016. There were at lease 2 to 5 service staff that made sure we were given a very good service. The rooms, room cleaners, security, registration, doormen were all good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lorna, Thank you for your honest review during your stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I am glad that you enjoyed our room facilities and services especially our Reception and Security staff and central location. I am very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience in one of our restaurants. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings in our service that made you feel very disappointed. I have taken note of the issues you have raised and will discuss with the departments concerned. I hope there will be other opportunities to regain your confidence in Makati Shangri-La. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Great location, excellent service

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The hotel surprised us with a special room for our anniversary. The staff are very helpful and always willing to help. The location is perfect for good shopping, restaurants and close to most things you would need for a holiday. The restaurant has a wonderful restaurant and has live music to put you in the mood. Great cocktails served at the Sage bar with smiling staff. All in all had a great time and highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ivan, Thank you for your excellent review during your stay at Makati Shangri-La Manila. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities and services that we prepared for your anniversary. I truly appreciate your kind words and will definitely share them with my team. I look forward to welcoming you again on your next memorable event at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

5 STAR HOTEL INDEED

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: CLEAN AND FOOD AMAZING. CLOSE TO SHOPS
Cons: SO FAR SO GOOD NOTHING TO ASK FOR.
Location: CLOSE TO SHOPS AND RESTAURANTS CINEMAS AND ALL
IF YOU HAVE EXTRA MONEY TO PAY I SUGGEST GO FOR THE BEST. I BOOKED AND STAYED AT THE HORIZON LOUNGE. AND BOY ITS GREAT AND I LOVED BEING PAMPERED. THE ROOM IS HUGE BOT A NEW HOTEL BUT NONETHELESS IT'S SPECTACULAR. FOOD IS TO DIE FOR. YOU HAVE THE LUXURY OF HAVING FREE CANAPES AT THE EXECUTIVE LOUNGE WITH FREE DRINKS ! STAFF SO HOSPITABLE AND ROOMS KEPT CLEAN ALL THE TIME. AMAZING CLOSE TO SHOPS. GUESS WHAT I ALREADY BOOKED MY NOVEMBER 2017.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ferdinand, Thank you for your excellent review during your stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I am glad that you enjoyed all the facilities and services of our Horizon Club floors. I truly appreciate your kind words and will definitely share them with my team. I look forward to welcoming you again in November 2017 at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Everybody was nice and professional. The location is superb for dining and shopping. The facilities are top notch! I had things to do all week but felt like I didn't want to leave the hotel since the staff made me feel so at home. A little pricey but you really can tell the difference between a luxury hotel and an average hotel. Highly recommend 🙂
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you for highly recommending us in your review during your stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I am glad that our facilities, services and central location suited you well. I truly appreciate your kind words especially when you shared that you felt at home during your stay. I will definitely share them with my team. Again, thank you and I look forward to your next stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Heart of the manila

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Stafff was outstanding, front desk offered promo upgrade which was worth every peso.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Alain Borgers, Area Manager/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Travel Guy, Thank you for your excellent review during your stay at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I am glad that you find our staff. I will definitely share your kind words with my team. It’s a pleasure to have you and I look forward to welcome you again at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. Sincerely,