Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mill Valley, CA

Very nice, relaxing up-country hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: Serenity. Old Hawaii. Romantic.
Cons: On premises bar (if just beer & wine)
Location: On the way to Makawao. Cute shops and restaurants. Great area for bike riding.
My wife and I had a wonderful time. Very relaxing hotel in a lovely location on the way to Makawao. Good spa facilities, oriented toward yoga. My masseuse was excellent. Very clean, personable, and well-run. A find, and a million miles from the hustle & bustle of Kehei/Wailea. Room was cute and comfortable, the bedding first class. Currently BYOB to the restaurant but I understand they're working on getting a license. Dinner was excellent - farm to table. Not more than 20 minutes from the airport, and about 5 minutes to Makawao and towns further up-country.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Brilliant hotel for singles or couples

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Quiet luxury with nice amenities and a great location off the beaten path.
Cons: Not much:)
Location: 3 miles to Paia, with great beaches, shopping, and of course the famous Mama's Fish House. Proximate to pretty much everywhere else on the island.
Fantastic experience as a solo female traveler. I felt as though I had the property to myself most of the time. Excellent bed, lovely to wake up in the morning to the sound of roosters, grab fresh local coffee and sit in the outdoor jacuzzi watching the sun rise. So glad that I was not in the more touristy areas of Maui!
4 out of 5
by Bryan from Utah

Great place, will definitely stay at again

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great place, close to the airport. Was nice to be there in 15 minutes and not driving after traveling so long to get there.
4 out of 5
by Emily from Portland

Beautiful hotel and setting. Service lacking.

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel setting is beautiful. We both got massages and they were fantastic. They seemed to be a little overbooked service wise though. It took two days to get housekeeping to service the room. I called the front desk in the morning and they sent someone at 7pm with towels only. When they finally did service the room (on the last day of our 4 day stay), they didn't change the sheets. We went to the pool 4-5 times and there were never pool towels in the bin so we started bringing down towels from our room. Also, the jets in the jacuzzi didn't work (we turned the timer on but nothing happened). We only had breakfast there and the first couple times it was fine but on the last day it was pretty much all cold and not very good. They serve it until 10am but if you show up after 9:30am, it's not likely to still be fresh and hot. Staff was friendly and the services and classes they offer are great. We spoke to a lady in the parking lot who said the property was recently sold so maybe they are just having adjustment issues. It's the nicest hotel in the area but for what we paid per night, we were expecting more timely (and better) service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

The Perfect Oasis for a Quick Getaway

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Location: Lumeria is located in Makawao near small-town Paia. Paia is quaint and full of local shops. Definitely rent a car so you can also explore all of Maui!
I have never been to a hotel as serene as Lumeria. Not only was the staff friendly and helpful, the room and grounds were meticulously clean and beautiful. There were so many places to relax and unwind at—my favorite were the lounge chairs in front of the Buddha statue. On a side note, I loved the design of the bathrooms in particular—the pebble flooring in the shower and dark wooden details were beautiful and gave a very spa-like feeling. My only regret is not staying at Lumeria longer!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Had a very relaxing stay at Lumeria. Staff was excellent, the breakfast was delish, and the grounds beautiful! Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks for a wonderful 16th wedding anniversary.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Beautiful zen-like retreat with delicious food

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Unlike anything else on Maui, Lumeria is all about chilling out and refreshing your spirit. It's so peaceful, stress-free, and naturally beautiful. The pool is perfect, the rooms are stunning, the setting is spectacular, the staff are super-relaxed yet attentive, and the food is amazing. It's all homegrown, organic and good for you. There's no alcohol served generally, but you're welcome to bring your own. The yoga and meditation classes are spot on and there's a huge choice of extra treatments... From a crystal massage to full past life regression! A uniquely zen experience and we would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by Tom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relax e yoga nel tempio del surf

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Struttura, giardino, staff
Ottima struttura, basta vedere le foto per rendersene conto. L'ideale per qualche giorno girando Maui. Lezione di yoga ideale anche per principianti. Consigliatissimo!
4 out of 5
by Karen

Want to Get Away From it All?

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Serene and relaxing. WiFi was terrible. Make sure you really want to get away from it all when you go here. Beautiful grounds. Expensive. Stayed one day. Two day rate was not mentioned.