Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love casa Chameleon

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The location is the best. Amazing views over the jungle and pacific sea. The staff is very friendly and nice. Rooms are very comfortable even the small villas. We had the best week in mal país.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Vicky, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear you had the best time in Casa Chameleon Mal Pais! Our staff works hard to help all our guests enjoy the time they spend with us and each of our villas, even the smallest, have been designed for all our guests to have a great view and a pool. We hope you will be coming back soon! Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
by Darren

This place is amazing!

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was amazing, the staff was great, and the location was on point! The hotel was one of the best I have ever stayed in, very clean, incredibly comfortable, and the views! The staff was friendly, the right amount of engaging, and had great suggestions. Would definitely recommend and return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Great hotel great experience

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I don't think I can say enough nice things about this place. The rooms are incredible and the staff are some of the nicest people you will meet. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. Definitely rent a atv while there and use it to get around. It's the only way to go. My only reason for not giving these guys a 5 star rating would be I though the food prices were a little high by 20% or so and no meat with breakfast. Other than that this place is one of a kind and I'll definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
by michael

Honeymoon

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, the experience was amazing. The service was exceptional. If you are looking to stay at a resort that goes above and beyond than this is for you. The rooms were beautiful and the ambiance was calm and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Pablo

Amazing!!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
One of the most beautiful places, excellent services, and great views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Close to beach and restaurants, far from airport

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on CheapTickets
My fiance and i were blown away once we got to Casa Chameleon, the staff was helpful and welcoming, our room had an amazing view and the food was amazing there. We barely wanted to leave from our room. Highly reccomend it! Even though its very far from both airports its completely worth it. I suggest you rent a car AWD !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel, IN

Private pool, private resort

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Private pool, bed
Cons: Hot water didn't work first day, but they came and fixed it
Location: Near a national park, beaches, reminded me of Sedona, but on a rugged beach coast
We stayed here 3 nights and really enjoyed our time. There are only 10 units and each has a own pool. We had the best bed at this hotel compared to the other 4 hotels we stayed at (very comfortable memory foam type). It also had a great shower! We had a separate living area and bedroom with full wall length windows that opened up to the pool. So it was great to be able to lounge between as you wished. Around 6 pm they recommended shutting the doors because of mosquitos and the bats that like to catch them. We found it very entertaining to watch this show each evening right outside. I was really surprised that there were not many mosquitos at all though. We did put some repellent on at night when we went to dinner (as everything is outside) but I only got about 10 bites total over two weeks in Costa Rica. To compare I had 57 bites over a week in St John last year. The dinner and breakfasts were great! Each night they created a new menu from whatever they had bought for the day. They always had a fish and a meat option. It was fun as it made you try things you may not ordinarily order. There are a number of restaurants around but you have to take a cab. A fun recommendation is to rent an ATV and tour the coast and discover all kinds of beaches. The beaches were mostly deserted except for the surfing beaches and contained many tide pools. The roads are mostly dirt there so it can be dusty so don't wear white.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Patty, We thank you for your feedback and the great review of our hotel. We are thrilled you had a great stay at Casa Chameleon Mal País. We appreciate your kind words about our comfy rooms and beds. I will definitely share with the team your review with the team and please let us know when you are coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A TRUE place to relax and disconnect.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
The room is simply amazing. The views, the layout, the private pool, the surroundings, the sounds....everything was great. The staff at the hotel is 100% committed to helping you have a great time. The wifi was out in our room, which was a hidden relief. We were able to disconnect and relax. Each suite is separate and really makes you feel secluded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Everything about Casa Chameleon is incredible! The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the property is impeccable and the staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels