Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Nice ocean view landscape from your bed

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location and price-value
Cons: Breakfast options, bath soap and shampoo availability
Location: Lots of beaches and good places to eat. To arrive, SUV or higher is recommended. At the beach, if using your own car, don't leave any valuable object.
Check-in and check-out was experience was good. Average service level was ok. Included breakfast should include more options. Room is clean, AC is fine and Wifi works good
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Bruno Demarco Quiroz, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your stay and nice review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in our hotel. Cheers
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two nights in Mal Pais

Posted Feb 1, 2017
I was inadvertently put in a Standard Room (no tv, very average), but was then upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite at top oh hill (equisite). View and room was to die for. Adjoining hillside restaurant was beautiful with amazing views too. My chief complaint is it is far from town (long walk) and the Sandy beaches. I had a car so was able to drive up to banana beach and relax at some a very nice beach, albeit not of the same class as were I was staying.
3 out of 5
by Chloe

It could be amazing, but falls short

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful, isolated hotel- that is ideal for relaxing, however the lack of a good restaurant and simple touches, such as complementary water on your arrival, results in the typical overpriced hotel mini bar purchase or commuting to Santa Teresa to eat. Restaurants in Santa Teresa are fantastic and so I would simply stay there as we did earlier in the break rather stay at Moana. If only this could offer a decent food offerings with it's view it would be unrivalled.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wow

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing on top of the jungle
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by edgar from Grecia

Peace and tranquility perfected

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The view was awesome. We could sit on the balcony and hear the sea. The restaurants close by were great. There were two showers for the room. One was inside and the other was OUTSIDE with a view of the sea! There was a small refrigerator in the room as well as a small bar with a bar sink. Beware that this hotel is built into a steep hillside. To paraphrase Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure (movie) "There were many steps and columns. It was most tranquil"! I look forward to my next visit. This place is a gem!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Good hotel one problem

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The hotel was very nice, the receptionist was a very good guy; the problem was in the restaurant the cook refuse to change the dish even when they accept it was something we didn't order. They waitress told us to come earlier; it was a disaster the staff in the restaurant... Although the breakfast was included we didn't come back ... The only good thing about the restaurant was the view
4 out of 5
by Will from deerfield beach

fresh air

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice clean w balcony and fresh air
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High-end hotel with exceptional an restaurant

Posted May 15, 2016
Cons: I'm nitpicking here: the fancy washbasin in the room was functionally difficult to use and same goes for the shower controls. No deal beakers though.
You don't expect to find this sort of luxury hotel in a relatively remote location. The staff was superbly nice to us and helped with a bunch of things (e.g. we told them that we'd need to checkout really early and they made sure that our breakfast was ready and boxed before we left). We didn't have a chance to dine in their famous restaurant with fantastic view, but will sure do the next time. It was a tad pricier than other hotels around but you'll understand why that is once you enter one of their rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Off the beaten path

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Hard to get too and not much around but very pleasant. Great staff. Great restaurant with awesome views. Dry season means really dry and really dusty in entire peninsula. Not right on ocean but has great views of ocean. Lots of volcanic rock close by