Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, service and very clean

Posted Mar 15, 2018
Easy check in, professional, friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Convenient location - easy access to Peddar Road

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Had good experience in Gulmarg restaurant. Staff was courteous and service excellent. One recommendation I would like to make is the bathroom glass facing the room should have a retractable curtain so that while taking shower, privacy is maintained. Right now person in the room can see a person taking shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2018 by Payal Himany , Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ashit, Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel on Expedia. We are pleased to note that you had a good experience with us and particularly highlighted our restaurant and services. We always strive to improve our facilities and services and feedback such as yours is a motivator. Regarding your suggestion, we would like to clarify the room which you were in has a window in the shower area which is completely frosted, hence, it ensures complete privacy. We take this opportunity to thank you and look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to be in touch with me or our Assistant Front Office Manager Mr.. Mandar. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Nice hotel. Good location. Good value for the price. Excellent WiFi. Comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Payal Himany , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from The Shalimar Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to write about us on your experience with us. we are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abingdon, UK

The Shalimar Hotel will never get better

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: It is near some key hospitals which is the only reason for my stay at this hotel. Otherwise it is not near any of the main tourist attractions.
My initial reaction to my stay was to leave and forget but I feel obliged to add further warnings to previous complaints: not clean, staff unhelpful, facilities poor; I must reiterate all. To these I add the most alarming, the air-conditioning unit leaking on to the television and connected device and wall soaked with condensation. I informed the staff, warning of a fire hazard; they seemed unaware. That night I was told confidently it was fixed; it was worse. Complaints regarding the lack of cleanliness (stains on the floor, filthy surfaces, ants), if they addressed any it was not noticeable. I gave up; their approach is charming reassurance but no action. The staff had every opportunity to put things right but chose not to. I have stayed in other exceptional hotels in Mumbai; the management could learn from them. The breakfast staff were reasonably attentive and deserve some credit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Payal Himany , Hotel Management
Dear Manoria, ​Thank you for the time taken our in providing feedback of your stay with us. We give a lot of importance to guest feedback in order for us to improves our facilities and service. At the outset let me please apologise most profusely for your experience with us. We are truly very sorry for the same. We are apologetic about the air conditioner issue, and whilst we did resolve it on the first instant, we had some technical issues with the air-conditioning company who were unable to send their service engineer for their own issue. Whilst we can be absolved for this , it was truly difficult for us to address the issue. Also we were in a completely sold out position, hence, we were unable to accommodate you in another room. In fact the Duty Manager called up 3 other neighbouring hotels to find out their status , however, they were also sold out. We are truly sorry about this situation. We have a pest control contract with HVL, one of the cities most reputed pest control company. My apologies that you were not satisfied about the issue. In fact our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer both met you during your stay and you were reasonably satisfied with everything, except the air conditioning problem, which I have already explained earlier .​ We do not agree with your observation about the stains on the floor, there is a marble surface in the corridor where you were staying, we have a routine polishing schedule. Our staff go through a rigorous training program regularly, I apologise that you did not find them up to the mark. I am truly sorry that your experience with us was not a pleasant one. I can only request you to please accord us more opportunity to make this up to you. I would request you to please in future when you do decide to book through Expedia , please mark a mail to the hotel also, I assure you a hassle free stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overcharged

Posted Jan 19, 2018
I paid for my recent stay via Expedia & was again charged on my MasterCard by the hotel. No response from hotel as yet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Payal Himany , Hotel Management
Dear Madam/Sir , Thank you for the time you have taken in providing feedback of your stay with us. We are now in the 54th year of existence and we have always given a lot of importance to guest feedback and doneour best to provide the best possible service to all our guests .We are constantly upgrading and renovating our facilities so that we can give the best to our esteemed guests. we have already reserved the amount We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Looking forward to serving you/ welcoming you again
4 out of 5
by Rajesh

Posted Dec 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Payal Himany , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us . Looking forward to serving you/ welcoming you again.
4 out of 5
by Sumita

Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay in city centre. Helpful staff. Small but comfortable clean rooms. Restaurant staff could be more friendly and warm giving information on various options for complimentary breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Payal Himany , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us . Looking forward to serving you/ welcoming you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Rooms very small Breakfast every day same Fruits quality no varity
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to many amenities.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
House keeping needs to be improved - ie. cleaning of bathrooms. As found black mould around shower cubicle. Also, suggested to have some fragrances in the foyer, as there was a foul smell coming in the foyer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Shalimar is an Amazing hotel, the staff was extremely polite and courteous ,the cleanliness was exceptional, and every little detail is taken care of . We really enjoyed our stay .