Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Centrally Located Hotel with amazing day bed

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Everything is great about the hotel, location and the comfort of the rooms. They also provided us with many pillows 6 of them to be exact.
Cons: We noticed some moulds on the windows near to the daybeds, more cleaning could be done.
We came with a group of friends to tour Melaka. The hotel is located conveniently across the malls, so you can easily pop across to get your shopping fix. The hotel is also a mere 15 min walks to Jonker Street. You can pass by several attractions en-route. If you are driving, they provide free parking at basement or ground level. Valet parking is chargeable at RM20 if i did not remember wrongly. Room wise, they are newly furnished. Exterior the looks of the hotel may not appear to be brand new, but we truly love the room experience, with the huge day bed which we lounged upon to enjoy the city view or just a quiet moment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Please step up the room maintenance

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Hotel itself and staffs are wonderful. But please step up the maintenance for hotel rooms! First class hotel and staffs with 3rd class maintenance is a shame. -Air cond is not cold -A/C temperature panel does not work properly -Premier Room window blinds not working properly and blind housing is loosely installed. May be hazardous if drop on guest. -Toilet flush did not work at some point but promtly fixed by the helpful maintenance staff. Once again, the hotel and staffs services are 1st class. Management please invest and step up in room maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice, but ageing hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Love to stay at this hotel each time I visit Melaka. However, I can tell and feel that the rooms are no longer in tip top conditions. Time for refurbishing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Location, location, location.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
In the heart of shopping, sights and good food. Will definitely go back on my next Malacca trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kuala lumpur

Prefer hotel with clear and nice , clean

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Need a lot of improved. I feel uncomfortable the staff give me a room which very far away to the lift. Which I was alone stay at the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No water heater.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Clean and staff are friendly.
Cons: Allow tour bus to come into the lobby.
Water maintenance issue causes us to have no water heater on the whole of second day of our three day stay. Went down to the desk help and was disappointed at the responses. The staff will to tell me how big the water maintenance operation is instead of giving our solutions when we now paid for the room but with no water heater.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb staff

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Location: Very strategic location just next to shopping mall and walking distance to other attractions
Extremely pleased with the attitude shown by courteous staff throughout my stay. Will definitely consider staying at Equatorial again for subsequent visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Very nice hotel.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The Equatorial Hotel would have been the bees knees 20 odd years ago. It starting to show its age a bit but that said it is still a marvelous hotel. It has all you could ask for. I have had better breakfasts but have also had a lot worse. Location is great, right at the start of Junker Walk and only 500mtrs from A Formosa. It also has heaps of shops directly opposite. Sure it has a few scuff marks here and there but very satisfied with my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Not up to Equatorial standards!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Relatively good location.
Cons: The entire hotel needs a major make over and staff retrained from the ground up.
Location: Walking distance to the key tourist areas in Malacca.
Equatorial is supposed to be a luxury hotel chain in Malaysia. This location is anything but. The exterior of the building looks run down and have not been repainted in a while. Lobby looks pretty good but kids run amok screaming all the time. While the checkin process was pleasant and efficient, the rooms themselves are quite lacking. Hallways smell of mildew and humid. Room interior was worn and the carpets were due for replacement at least 2 years ago. There was mold in the toilet. Most importantly there were no towels in the room! I thought it was just mine, but the other room I booked did not have it either. A call to the front desk was abruptly transferred to housekeeping without any apology. Had to call housekeeping 3 times to get towels delivered. Turns out, they have to deliver towels to many rooms! How can something as basic as towels be missed???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Convenient to shopping Centers and other amenities.
Cons: The toilet need to be improved
My last stay in Equatorial has been warm and comfortable.