Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

Great place - would certainly go back.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Staff were helpful and the village was well maintained. The apartment itself was well equipped. Views of both the sea and the mountains.
Cons: The website needs to reflect that the accommodation does not have a bath.
Location: Nerja is full of character - beaches and narrow shops. Malaga is a beautiful city, well worth visiting.
El Capistrano is a holiday village of apartments on the edge of Nerja, with El Capistrano Sur being one of four managing agents for the site. We had an initial disappointment on arrival as we had booked based on the Expedia web-page saying that all rooms had a separate bath (we like our baths!). Also, we had requested a double bed but got two singles. We approached the reception who were really friendly and helpful, but ultimately they couldn't change anything as all the accommodation has showers only and all have single beds - but they did at least arrange for the beds to be put together and made up as a double. The one bed apartment we were in had a lovely little private terrace and a well equipped kitchen (it was owned by a family and rented out through the agency). I used the communal swimming pool near our apartment (there are a few of them in the village) every morning when it was quiet - it was fairly well used in the afternoon. There are a few big supermarkets within a few hundred yards, although the small supermarket in the village was well stocked and had decent prices. There is a restaurant on site and more just off site, across the road. We had a hire car and there was never a problem parking. Everywhere in the village was kept very clean. It was a short trip into Nerja itself, probably about 30 minutes by foot. If you want the beach it is about 15 minutes away straight down across the road, a sandy beach with lots of shops and restaurant. I would certainly return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire, UK

Beautiful holiday village on edge of Nerja

Posted Mar 2, 2017
A lovely place to stay. A holiday village built in the traditional Andalusian style with well kept gardens and flowers in full bloom along the paths that wend their way between the villas. The local blue bus connects the village with Nerja town centre and the beaches. Convenient for the supermarket and buses to the Nerja Caves.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mountain cave

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very misleading on the website as to exactly what this hotel/villa business is. On arrival it was hard to find reception. When we found it reception is open for very limited hours each day so had to hang around Nerja for hours before check in. I was given a villa a long way from where I was led to believe I'd booked. High up in the mountains 30 mins walk from outskirts of Nerja. Also up lots of steps. The man at check in was helpful and polite. My villa was VERY SMELLY - Spanish plumbing but also a very stinky water heater in a bedroom cupboard that honestly smelt as though something had died in there. Needed the windows open as much as possible which is hard over late December early January as it's cold at night. Only one little heater + heater in bathroom. Basic bedrooms, could do with upgrading but OK. Had to buy some equipment for the kitchen as in my experience this was VERY BASIC and lacking. Also the kettle was dodgy - boiling on it's own but not when switched on intentially. There were light bulbs out in the bathroom. Living space was OK..... Balcony/terrace was the saving grace for this villa as it has a beautiful panoramic view of Nerja, sea and mountains with amazing sunrise and sunsets every day. Also very peaceful and quiet which is what I was looking for. No wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful, pretty, perfect

Posted Jan 1, 2017
If you are looking to stay somewhere in Nerja that isn't right on top of everything then this is the place. It's about a 15 minute down hill walk to Burriana beach and 20-25 minute walk in to town. If you're not keen on walking then there is a bus that will take you to either to the Caves of Nerja (a must do) or the opposite way in to the heart of town. There are 2 pool areas, a restaurant and bar. It really is very pretty with white walls and beautiful flowers everywhere. When the San Isidro festival is on in May it's just a few steps away from where the procession of horse drawn carts, floats and folk in traditional dress pass through on their way to Nerja caves, where they have a big party and live music to celebrate the occasion. Just fab 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Perfect holiday

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Apartment location and standard
Cons: Nothing suited us fine
Location: Eating wonderful fish, great walks lovely people.
Having read the instructions for key collection knowing we could not get into 4pm we arrived a bit earlier and sat around the pool area very close by. Flight and bus travel were arranged so that we arrived during day time just incase we had any problems. All went very smoothly keys collect and then a nice surprise taken to the accommodation. Accommodation was just what we had hoped for and although it was at the top of the hill perfect for us the views were amazing . We walked down to Nerja everyday catching the bus back, stops are well placed hourly bus while we were there as not high season and no bus between 2 an 5 rest time but they did go on into late in the evening. Cost 1 euro. The area is beautiful just walking around the apartment areas with there lovely gardens is a joy. We didn't make use of the pool we enjoy walking and having been to the area before we already had our days planned. Nerva its self is a lovely area a must is Maro and Nerva Caves. The beech are all good lovely places to stop for coffee and cake or ice cream. We eat out every lunch time the quality and price of restaurant food is very good, choosing to enjoy our garden and patio for an evening meal. Supermarkets in the area are good with good choose of fresh fish, meat, fruit and vegetables. Surprised not a larger selection of wine but enough to choose from. Great to have fresh orange juice for our breakfast sat outside looking out to sea.Will return very soon .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Great views. Spacious. In need of refurbishment.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Apartment was in a great location. Not too far to walk to beaches, town and various supermarkets. Beautiful setting - very geen and well kept public areas, lovely views of sea and mountains. Apartment was in need of refurbishment particularly the bathroom/shower. No air con or fan meant it was very uncomfortable to sleep in. They eventually provided us with a small fan and we also bought one for 20 euros which made it a little more comfortable. Lovely pools but unable to use. We were warned by another guest that there was too much chlorine in water and it was turning bikins green. My daughter now has a white bikini with yellow/green patches all over it!
5 out of 5
by BARBARA from Leeds

Stunning views

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Top class apartment with stunning views although plenty of steps to access therefore would not recommend for elderly or disabled.Would also recommend a car,although there is an hourly bus service and taxis are available
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nerja villa

Posted Jun 3, 2016
The El Capistrano development is on the hillside overlooking Nerja. This was our first time back since 2001. The development had been well maintained. The villa was cheap but I would rather have paid a little more to get nicer bathrooms and better beds/sheets. Our villa had a nice kitchen/living area and a good sized balcony but the bathrooms were pretty grotty and need to be modernised. I'd only recommend staying in El Capistrano if you have a car otherwise it would be a pain to get to the beach and into town for dinner.
5 out of 5
by pete from Kent

Lovely village close to Nerja Town

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 night break away. El C Sur is a complex of apartments, townhouses etc rather than a hotel which was ideal for us, we stayed there last year and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful break. It is up a hill so not ideal for those with walking difficulties. Reception staff are very helpful but limited opening hours, small store, lovely cave bar, restaurant & there is a large supermarket within walking distance for everything else. Nerja town is walkable with lovely bars and restaurants. All in all a lovely place to stay or even just to visit
2 out of 5
by Adam from London

Do not book this if no car

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
The area is a 40 minute walk, all up a very steep hill from town. Do not book this apartment if you do not have a car unless you are a fitness fanatic. A cab will be required daily. Find somewhere else.