Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel OK but poor service

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Facilities OK and generally clean but not enough staff - especially in the cafe and restaurants. Really slow service in the cafe at the pool. Complained after taking 2.5 hours for a light lunch and told I should have gone somewhere else. Also customer service desk left unattended for 10 minutes with PC left unlocked and could access guest info. if inclined. Also reception inflexible when checking in when asked if could have more mobility friendly room (although should have stipulated when booked). Generally OK but wouldn't recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay, for sharing your experience and for taking time to rate us. We apologise for not meeting your expectations. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

a beautiful relaxing resort!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Food at both breakfast and dinner buffets was outstanding. The free flamenco show one evening was wonderful. pool is great, plenty of lounge chair
Cons: we could not order tap water so had to pay for bottled water all the time, beach is very rocky
Location: beach walks great, relaxation
we spent 2 days here with our son and would have liked to stay longer. the location and property are beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us again for your stay, for taking time to share your experience and for rating us. We are really happy to know you liked your stay, breakfast service, entertainment and pools. We are sorry for the inconveniences, but we do not recommend drinking tap water there for we do not provide it. Also the beach is at is natural state being public, so only the administration is entitled to make modifications to it. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

fantastic staff great location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: staff and location
Cons: room condition and food
Location: The port of Estepona is within waling distance and has many good restaurants bars and a great view. More golf courses that anyone could play in two
A superb location and excellent staff, rooms were in need of a make over and the door lock would not engage correctly. You had to bang it a view times to insure it closed which was disturbing for other guests. We were changed for parking which was unexpected @6.50 euros a day and the air-conditioning in the whole hotel was turn off as it was not summer time according to the manager. Buffet breakfast and dinner were not as good as other hotels in the area like the Alba and the kimpinski but were OK. Dinner buffet was more disappointing as the main course fish and meats were left too long on the hot plates and were tough and tried out. Pool area was very clean and the pool side service and restaurant were fine. Over all the evening entertainment was fine and the bar atmosphere was very good, drinks were generous and value for money but I don't think this is a hotel for children judging on the daily activities that were on offer. Would I go back again, yes but I would book a premium room as there were no dressing gowns slippers or tea making facilities in our room and no mini bar stock.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing for your stay and for taking time to share your experience and rating us. We are really happy to know you liked the location, cleanliness of pool areas, service in restaurant, entertainment, atmosphere, and drinks. The hotel is suitable for children, as in high season when the usually arrive, we make extra entertainment for them. We are sorry for the door inconvenience, also that we were not aware during your stay to provide a solution. The parking to be payable is advertise, so we do not understand why was it unexpected. By the way, now costs 8€ per night. Air conditioning is on, but only heat mode selected. As the installations are centralized and permits only heat or mode at the time. To change from one mode to another take a pair of days, as it is made with water pipe system, which can burst with a drastical change of temperature. And as the average temperatures are lower than what the cold mode reaches makes no sense to change to it. That is why cold mode is not used until summer. We are glad that our dinning food is compared with 5 stars hotels. Food is change regulary to avoid things to go tough and dry. Please if you find it this way in your next visit, you just have to inform the restaurant team or wait for this change to be done. Nevertheless remember that the show cooking make fresh food at the moment if you do not want to wait. You can get the dressing gowns, sleepers, and tea or coffee facilities in the room by an extra cost. Yes, the minibar is on request, and a la carte and payable. And so we advertise it. It will be a pleasure to see you again, and please do book the upgrade room which we hope you enjoy. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Nice hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great location if you have a car. We did the half board option and the food was below average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We are happy to know that you liked the hotel, rooms location and friendliness of our human team. We apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding food, which we find to be good as the majority of our guests. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greatings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire, UK

Nice hotel by beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Gym, pool
Cons: The beds
Location: Esteponia - lovely area and nice port/marina in heart of the town which was about a ten minute walk from hotel (1.5km)
Nice hotel - only low point was bed -twin beds pushed together - which was ok but we found them most uncomfortable. The hotel facilities were very good and all staff were most helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, liked the town and the hotel. We apologize for the inconvienience of the bed you mention. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston, england

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: the marina is only a 5 minute taxi journey and the town is an extra couple of minutes further down lots of nice restaurants and bars but not too busy
The room was spotless the only nit pick I had was the plug sockets were in awkward places (but that's for 2 young girls who were fussed about charging phones and hair straighteners) the hotel is stunning there was always sunbeds free around the pool and beach, food and drink was fantastic, hotel staff were lovely couldn't do more for us! We just wish we'd done all inclusive to save the money on drinks! The bar could've been open abit later it shut at 12 and the entertainment was great too singers, dancers and magicians. Pool side aqua aerobics there was something for everyone! If it was abit more of a lively location for us we would most certainly go back with no hesistation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed so much your stay. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good & Not so Good!

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good location on the beach & 15 min walk to Marina restaurants & another 15 to Old part of town. That area was charming & lots of restaurants. Hotel Room was large but A/C couldn't keep it cool. Hotel is extremely large & requires a learning curve as to which elevator takes you to which eating area or outdoors. Registration Staff seemed overwhelmed so hotel feels impersonal. Breakfast buffet has many stations & also has a learning curve.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location. As we read we understand that the issues you had during your stay could have been solved by asking any of our team members. Please remember we are here to help. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Very nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The food was good,plenty of choice.
Cons: Stop people putting towels on sunbeds round the pool,and then going off for the morning
Location: You are a bit away from the town,but there are cabs and a good bus service
Evening entertainment could be better. The televisions in the rooms have lots of foreign stations,the only English one is the news,not very good. Other than that a very nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed in your stay of the choice and taste of food. In the past we have encounter big problems with guests by using the system of stoping them from putting towels. As we know some people do not care for their neighbours during holidays we have the solution to provide son beds when needed. We are sorry to know the location was not what you expected, but are glad that you found good the transportation possibilities. Thank you for the information you provide to improve our services. We are trying to find a solution for Spanish channels that can change the sound track to original, so there will be more English choices withing what we already have. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Nice Hotel but needs transport

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The view,the beach, the pool, breakfast, Hotel architecture
Cons: Some updating to public areas and rooms Entertainment (drop it) Staff attitude Providing an honest description of the location relative to the resort
Location: Too far away without transport The Marina and town are very nice and well maintained and the beaches good and very clean but not much to do otherwise
The Hotel was unusual in style and in a lovely position in relation to the bay and the beach but it is a 2.5km walk to the nearest bars/restaurants at the Marina and a further 2km to the old town There is a local but very unreliable bus. We had requested a twin room but were given a double there was no problem in dealing with it but of the 2 options (an extra bed or use the sofa bed) we chose the extra bed but on returning at the end of the day The sofa bed had been made up.Given the time we didn't feel like raising it so The sofa bed took up a large amount of our room for the week The breakfast buffet was extensive and well stocked but in all areas vegetarians were poorly catered for.The Hotel were very accommodating in providing a take away breakfast as our flight time meant we had to leave before breakfast was served The staff would do anything you asked but overall they were rather miserable getting any kind of smile was a real challenge the only exception to this was the staff on reception Some areas looked a bit "tired" especially the main bar.The main bar also played host to nightly entertainment We hadn't expected this and it would have been better without it
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed in your stay for the hotel’s arquitecture, pool, views and breakfast. We also like to apologize for not meeting your expectations on location and did not like the transportation possibilities. We are glad that our team was there to help you with any needs, and find sorry that you might find in pin point moments when we are all concentrated to provide the best service we can that we lose the smile. We keep up working on that matter. Our thank you for al this valuable information you provide to improve our services and we hope to find you again with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.