Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from harrogate

Not as bad I expected but

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The overall comfort in the hotel I'm an ex hotelier and with little financial outlay, the hotel could be tweaked into one which would be so much bette
Location: Near all amenities. Beach, bus stops , restaurants all to hand
The hotel is rated two star, which is fair. Very near all amenities but uphill. Extremely clean but devoid of any comfort. Bare necessities in small bedroom. Always constant very hot water in bsthroom, lounges complete with dead or dying plants Didn't eat breakfast. Dining room looked too much like a canteen Hotel needs a total upgrade. With comfort in mind Plastic chairs and no sun umbrellas on terrace Staff couldn't have been more helpful or charming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Nice hotel, for a 2 star hotel you don`t have to expect much. We wanted a hotel just for sleeping so we didn`t expect much of it. Comfortable bed, at first impression we thought is going to ruin our sleep but turned out to be really comfortable. Bathroom was ok, just small and crammed, they changed our towels even if they where not used. TV was very small but we barely opened it any way. If you want a cheap hotel just to sleep and enjoy just the beach or other attractions of the city then is perfect. By the way there are enough things to keep you occupied for a few days: Selwo Marina at just 5minutes walking(penguins, parrots, dolphins and more), Teleferico at about 25 minutes walking(eagles show and amazing views), Sealife at about 20minutes walking, Butterfly Park about 25 minutes by bus(very nice).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Ideal hotel for a short break

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, location and price
Cons: If I was being picky, more selection at breakfast
Location: Next to the lovely Paloma Park close to the beach and pretty central for all amenities
Have used this hotel 6 times now, OK, you get what you pay for but this place is a real bargain if you go with the right attitude. Can`t be faulted for location and price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very Convenient Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The convenience and the cleanliness
Cons: The facilities and the breakfast
Location: Very close to the beach,supermarket and public transport
Hotel Betannia is perfectly situated for visits to the beach and access to public transport.It is very good value for money. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean in the rooms and public areas,the housekeeping staff are always busy. Don't expect too much from the rooms,they are a nice size,the beds are comfortable and thats it.there is no air conditioning,ok by me in March;but i hate to think how hot the rooms would be in the height of summer.The TV is all in Spanish,with,bizzarely,one all Russian channel,unacceptable nowdays with so many tourists speaking English.There are no facilities to make hot drinks,take a kettle,there wasn't even any hand soap,unusual nowdays. Had i known how poor the breakfast was i would not have booked it,everyone moaned about the 2 slices of bread,a couple of slices of spam ,margarine ,a sad mini croissant and a jam portion! don't waste your money,go out for breakfast. There is a spacious sun deck with a small deep pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool closed with no warning when booking

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Very clean hotel but the pool was closed with no advanced notice, WiFi upstairs communal area had no working lights. 24 hour reception but we had to go looking for them to checkout (05:30) despite asking if there would be someone present the day before. Overall still nice for the low cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Amazing value

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Wasn't expecting much due to the cheap cost but wow !! Hotel betania was amazing .. great location excellent staff and clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
No heating....freezing cold.....booked twin beds but got given double....staff member at check in very rude...will never go back
3 out of 5
by Christopher

Budget hotel in excellent location.

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly reasonable budget hotel. Property in good condition, adequate Spanish-style breakfast. Decent room with balcony & sea view. Bathroom poorly designed & supplied with only 2 small bath gel sachets for 2 people; no soap. Bed comfy but plastic undersheet not so good.
5 out of 5
by christina

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Beautifully decorated. Cleaned room everyday. The staff are efficient and speak Spanish and English. Stayed here twice now and would stay again. Great location too
4 out of 5
by Malcolm

Pretty good value

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Shower was small water kept leaking on to floor down the shower hose.