Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

breakfast for 7euro was not worth it.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: the only thing i liked was the cleanliness and the size of the rooms for the price.
Cons: nothing was open. spa was only open til 5-6pm and had to book beforehand charging €10 for 50mins. different receptionist everyday and same girl who does the cleaning and cooking.
Location: location was not good more for locals than tourists if you don't have car to access around we would have definitely be bored!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived around 01:00 because our flight into Malaga airport was delayed. The front desk managed to get our party some milk and bread rolls. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The restaurant in the basement was rather on the small size but the breakfast had variety and adequate. The hotel is situated right in the middle of residential blocks. Parking outside the hotel is limited due to the flats around near hotel. The hotel does have parking, in the basement, at a cost. There is also a rooftop bar and swimming pool where you can enjoy views of the beach and the sea. Value for money hotel.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Stockholm

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Ok, maybe not really a 4 star hotel, but clean with large rooms. Would be nice to have real mattresses rather than just some water proof cover. Rather good breakfast, lacking vegetables though. Parking was more expensive than stated. We reported the light by the bathroom mirror was out after the first night, but it didn't get fixed during the week we stayed. Even though there are shops and restaurants in the area, the best thing is the beach. Quality of restaurants are ok, but much better in Rincón de la Victoria close by.
3 out of 5
by patrick from drogheda co louth ireland

go somewhere else for value.

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
THIS hotel is not 4 star it should be 3star.we paid extra for superior room with jacuzzi, which did not work, the rooftop bar was never opened the whole week we were there.the breakfast was bland the same every morning etc etc.
4 out of 5
by Amanda from USA

Nice Hotel with Great Terrace Pool but Lacking Little Comforts

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Overall we had a decent experience at the Cala Bahia hotel. The hotel itself is very nice and the rooftop pool is absolutely amazing with a great view of the beach and surrounding city! Our biggest complaints are with some things in the room. The shower was always an adventure. The water constantly rotated between cold and scalding hot (literally you can't even keep your hand in it!). We stayed for four days and never once had a normal temperature, so it seems this is the norm. There was also only a single towel hook in the bathroom and this fell off the wall! Normally this isn't such a problem but when you have many wet things from the pool and beach, there is literally nowhere to hang them. Finally, the wifi only works in the lobby. You can get a cable for the room so it will work there with your laptop but that's obviously not helpful if you often use your smartphone. The neighborhood is nice; definitely all locals and very few tourists, which we enjoyed. If you need to get to Malaga there is good bus service between Cala Moral (the closest stop) and the city, but it takes about a half hour. We didn't mind this since we were mostly there to enjoy the beautiful beach which is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant attitude from Reception Staff

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is fine, the reception staff were not. They are focused on charging the hidden extras (car parking, hiring an internet cable etc) and have no idea about giving customers a good experience. I was given a room where the temperature (sunny day) was massively hot. The air con did not work and the receptionist literally screamed at me that it was because I had opened the window. Of course I opened the window because the room was too hot to even breathe in. Overall very bad attitude and not interested in giving a suitable room and I was told that the only way to get the room to a good temperature is to close the window and STAY in the room until the small air con unit cools the space. Can I leave the room in this time ? NO, again shouted. If you leave the room the air-con goes OFF. So what do I do ? No response from staff... The hidden cost of hotel parking is not mentioned (€10 a day) and nor is the forced rental of an internet cable. Hotel generally OK, staff on reception have zero customer awareness at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Nice hotel, not good location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: The Spa, the pool.
Cons: The style and decoration is weird.
Location: Not too much to do around and the few restaurants close very early.
This hotel has very friendly and supportive staff and is located fairly close to the beach. The spa is great and relaxing. The bad thing is that it is located in a small town with not too much to do around, it was hard to find a place to eat around. It may be because of the season, we were there in the beginning of July.
5 out of 5
by Joyce from New Braunfels, TX

Marta was delightful and extremely helpful.

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was exquisite. Breakfast was extra special serving just about anything you want. The receptionists were cordial and very helpful. All spoke English. We arrived a day late because we got lost. We called several times to report where we were and Marta each time tried to talk us in. When we arrived in the village she even stood on the porch to watch for us. She served us coffee after we were checked in and again when we were in the long using WiFi. She is a delightful person with a caring attitude. We would certainly stay there again. Malaya is only a 20 min. bus ride from there. There are many places to eat and shop and a nice long walk on the spotless malegon is not to be missed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2011 on Hotels