Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent food, excellent service, wonderful pool

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
The swimming pool was great (though the glass between pool and toilets are dangerous - I bumped my head twice on it!) The views are great. The food was top class and the service was also excellent. All in all a place I would happily recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with 'Wow' factor

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Historic nature, photogenic architecture, rural setting amongst olive groves
Cons: The breakfast was lovely but whilst cooked items could be requested, there was nothing self service to temp, or indeed a menu.
Location: Location was lovely as was Antiquera. The access - particularly late at night in the dark - was rather daunting and poorly surfaced
This converted convent is a beautiful hotel in a lovely rural location. Sadly we were only there for one night and did not arrive until late, so could not fully avail ourselves of all the facilities. We loved the character of this historic building which really had a lovely feel.
4 out of 5
by John from Littleton, Colorado USA

Hotel LA Magdalena , Antequera, Spain

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Hard to find, Dining room open late and food was good. Good local scenery , great indoor pool and spa . Great view from Breakfast area to hills and valleys.
3 out of 5
by Sean from Dorset

Very poor service

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
My partner and I stayed for one night during a 3 week trip to Spain. The Hotel promised much - it is quite simply stunning and has the potential to be one of the best hotels in Spain, if not Europe. We wouldn't however rate it as a 5 star at the moment. It is steeped in history with a sympathetic (and obviously very expensive) renovation - new and old mixed together. What let it down was the appalling service - not the fault of the staff - there just weren't enough of them. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant and duly turned up at opening time (8:30pm). It wasn't busy - maybe 20 other people in there, but after thirty minutes of waiting just for someone to ask what drinks we wanted, we walked out and instead requested room service. This was probably quicker but not want we wanted. We would be put off from staying again until reviews indicate that service has improved. It is a real shame because everything else about the hotel is fantastic and breathtaking.
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Melbourne, Australia

The Convent

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice and relatively comfortable hotel although the lift to the garage wasn't working and we had to use the staff lift.
5 out of 5
by Colin from Stockport

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of June. This hotel is a few minutes drive out of Antequera in the middle of no where and in a good location for exploring the area. The hotel is in an old convent and has been sympathetically converted protecting many of the original features and some art restoration continues. It is quiet, atmospheric and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and although we didn't eat in the restaurant we enjoyed our simpler meals in the bar area. We will go back.
4 out of 5
by Tony from Australia

Serenity

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
What a nice surprise! First of all it was HARD to find. Go with the golf course name of the hotel or just look for signs for golf course. It's an old but updated convent, now a convention center. The rooms must have been 'cells' before, walls are paper thin,(we could almost understand the couple's conversation next door) but very nice room and more amenities than I've ever seen! Indoor pool/spa was great, but jacuzzi was so chlorinated we couldn't stay in it. I wouldn't order the evening meal........we were handed a printed menu with 4 choices, HAMBURGER, curry and two fish dishes.....very tasty but I think we could have picked of the very extensive menu for the same price. Breakfast was very nice. We would love to stay here again, really beautiful place and so secluded back in the hills........
5 out of 5
by Darren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sue from Midhurst

Great location and atmospheric

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
Loved every bit of it, even the restaurant was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mijas

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels
Incredible value for money..Staff were so attentive..Food was perfectly cooked and presented..This is a gem of a hotel