Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

No horses here :(

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very rustic and different
Cons: No horses even though the photo shows them, which indicates they are on site
Location: About 20 min drive from Ronda
The staff were very friendly. The rooms were really different - very cool place to stay. Lots of space in the room with steps leading upstairs to the 2 single beds. I was very disappointed in the fact that there were no horses there. This was one of the main reasons for booking our stay. There is local horse riding available but no actual horses on site which is deceiving with the photo advertised of the hotel. This would be my only complaint.
5 out of 5
by Amanda from Rota, Spain & California, USA

Beautiful "Hotel"

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
This "hotel" was wonderful, it was like being in a B&B of sorts. We stayed with our 2 children ages 10 & 12 and the room was perfect. There was a queen bed on the main floor and 2 twin beds in the loft area above. It is beautifully situated in a valley with rolling hills and very quiet surroundings. I love the old farmhouse style and our hosts were very friendly and helped us to book horseback riding tours and find the nearby towns for food (it is a very small family run establishment and there was no kitchen open on the evening we arrived). It is not difficult to find but is tucked away and off the beaten path. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rustic country hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Pool and stunning location
Cons: New chief new waiting staff and new manager
Location: National park, walking ,cycling, horseriding, good base for visiting Ronda
Very nice Rustic hotel in out of the way location on a national Park 15 kilometres from Ronda nice basic room simple furniture, good pool hotel let down by indifferent service and terrible not cheap food
5 out of 5
by tony from Comber

The real spain

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely break in the Grazelema National Park, splendid scenery and wonderful setting. All prices very reasonable as well.
4 out of 5
by jennifer from Bournemouth

Hidden gem

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely rustic old farmhouse in middle of nowhere if you want peace and quiet it's perfect. Beds are ok , bathroom has everything you need clean towels etc, no fridge in room though, swimming pool was not forking whilst there but is lovely area. Fire in lounge , all very cosy. Breakfast was ok cold choice of cheese, salami, bread , cereal, yogurts, juice. Bar was good and not expensive. Owners very welcoming and kind. Step back in time at this place and relax on your little patio it will never be busy here only few rooms to let. Just a warning though it is advertised near Ronda but it's far north and difficult to find. Def do not arrive in the dark. Signposted on A374 North of Ronda. A little gem if you can find it
5 out of 5
by Caryn from Norfolk UK

Above expectation - wonderful!!!

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
*Above expectation. *Beautiful little room with all we needed and a private patio outside the back door. The room was more like a little terraced cottage and was tastfully decorated etc. *Everything was clean. *Check in was easy, with an english speaking receptionist. *Breakfast was amazing - as much as you like from a varied buffet type layout. *The views were spectacular. *The only noise we could here were the goats bells in the morning - we have never slept in such a peaceful place! *We only stayed one night but i left regretful that we werent staying for longer. You could easily stay a week. Highly recommended by us very happy british couple.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas from Vancouver

Rustic Charmer

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
The location was unreal! The hotel is in a valley surrounded by sheep, and we got stuck on the road in by bulls on the road which was neat! (But don't worry, the hotel is gated so the animals can't come in!) Dinners were pleasant, rustic but home-cooked and inexpensive. Only complaints are that the wi-fi does not reach the rooms and that our bed was two twins beds, each with their own set of twin-size sheets, stuck side-by-side. Surprising given that the hotel seems geared towards couples. However, still highly recommend, as it has great atmosphere!
5 out of 5
by Rita Ann James from Estepona spain

Great location

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect for relaxing chilling out the hotel was very clean and the staff were very good have told friends and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by Lee from Colchester

el horcajo

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
Such a lovely place, was recommended to stay and it was delightful. Would love to come back again