Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

Wonderful views of Ronda gorge

Posted May 11, 2016
Cons: More explanation in the room about the air conditioning which was not on in May in our room.
Well placed on the quiet side of Ronda. Great restaurant with stunning views of the gorge. Very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Extraordinary views!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The location is peerless and offers the views and access to the old town and the newer parts of the city at the same time.
Cons: Many older hotels have some odour emanating from the drains and this is no exception. We just put the plug in the drain.
Location: Everything you really want to see, including the most authentic restaurants, is within walking distance.
We loved this hotel. Rachel and others were more than helpful and the meal on the patio overlooking the gorge in the evening. Lit up, this is the most awe-inspiring sight! The food was wonderful as well and they were able to give me Gluten Free bread to enhance my enjoyment of the meal. The room was beautiful, a fabulous view and many charming decorative effects. Staying here is like moving back in time but with all the modern conveniences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character hotel in outstanding location

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Traditionally run with just a few rooms and a cosy family feel to it.
Cons: Airco was a bit erratic, switching itself off at night when it was meant to stay on.
Location: Outstanding! Right at the entrance to the old town across the Puente Nuevo so lovely just to walk straight out into the heart of Ronda's sights.
Enjoyable stay, very good value for a hotel in such an outstanding location with spectacular views over the gorge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana

Beautiful, Charming Old Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Its location and views.
Cons: Breakfast was a bit plain.
Location: You can walk to everything in all directions. Right in the center of the old tiwn.
There was not one thing we could fault on this lovely updated old horel. From check in to check out it was a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent central location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Rooms is cleaned/checked (twice) after you leave in the morning and before bed time.
Location: It is possible to stop a car in front of the hotel (not true for many hotels in the old part).
Room is big (one of the biggest beds I have seen). Bathroom spacious and clean (separate shower and bath).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the Ronda gorge--What a view!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The location, the employees, the view, the room, the bed and bathroom--everything!
Cons: We didn't love the oversized pillows on the bed.
Location: Stay in the old town and just walk everywhere. Travel down side roads and go exploring. Find the mine, the old bridge, the Mondragon Castle.
We spend one night at the Hotel Montelirio and it was a perfect experience. So conveniently and beautifully located on the edge of of the gorge. The room was beautifully decorated with antiques and beautiful fabrics. The bathroom was decorated in marble and Spanish tile and was large! We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was a fabulous meal. The view from the breakfast room was also gorgeous. You could not ask for a better location in all of Ronda. We highly recommend this top-quality hotel. And great prices, too. All the employees were amazingly helpful and friendly, even though my Spanish was lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Really great view and awesome location

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The room view, the location and the bathroom were exceptional
Cons: A bigger additional bed and maybe bigger rooms for the 3 people
Location: The locations is wonderful, the bridge is next door with a lot of restaurants.
The staff was really nice, and the check-in process was made very comfortable. The parking is nearby and is relatively cheap (13 Euros/day). The room we had was for 3 people and was made very comfortable. The additional bed was small and the room sizes are not very big, but the view from the room was amazing (it faced the famous ronda bridge).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Fantastic hotel overlooking the Puento Nuevo

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, beautiful property, good restaurant and attentive staff.
Cons: The parking for those arriving by car can be a challenge. The staff could do a better job of showing the most direct route to the municipal lot.
Location: Close to the Puerto Nuovo and the Ronda Corrida and museum. One can also take a hike along the trail in the gorge.
We spent one night at the Motelirio in December. The experience was excellent. We opted for the Junior Suite and found it to be extremely well appointed and very comfortable. We enjoyed a bottle of wine in the room on the afternoon of our arrival, gazing out the window to the gorge and the Parador across the way. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was one of the best meals we had on our entire visit, especially for the vegetarian among us. The waiter understood our order clearly and the chef prepared a beautiful meal with fresh vegetables, cheese etc. The carnivore in our party had the duck, which was also excellent. The hotel is a little tricky to get to by car and the parking is at the muncipal lot several blocks from the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 3 Euro discount on the overnight parking charge when paid through the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane australia

Amazing

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Loved it so much, we stayed an extra night! Wonderful views, great room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Fanfastic view of the gorge

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: View and location.
Cons: Breakfast included in room rate would be good. The room was fairly expensive. Parking is bit of a walk but in an old town expect that.
Location: Wander the old town. Go down the mine to water level on the other side of the gorge. Visit some of the other towns. Drive the mountain road to malaga.
Lovely old hotel in the old town with spectacular views of the gorge and bridge. The bedroom and bathroom were traditional and nicely decorated. We paid extra for a room with a view. The balcony doors didn't open fully probably for safetys sake. The view from the dining and pool terrace were the same so you dont really need to spend extra. Pool was small but just us 2 and great for cooling off. Disappointingly it was empty the next morning so unable to dip again. We chose to eat a terrace restaraunt just a bit further along. Would have liked to stay longer.