Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Untrained staff and service ..

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything needs an overhaul
Location: Location excellent
Have stayed at many hotels .. While hotels location is excellent .. Everything stops right there .. No wifi in rooms .. Lobby wifi lowest signal .. NoN working business center .. Staff with a bad attitude .. Our ac didn't work and we were offered no apologies .. Breakfast .. Well well .. Hair on exposed fruit .. Croissants stuck like Siamese Twins had to be pulled like an operation that's how stale they were .. Breakfast staff took everything down while we were eating .. No offer of last attempt made .. Very poor and untrained staff .. not sure if anyone from the hotel will read this and learn from the above review .. There are much better hotels along the beach .. Skip this one ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Great place right by the beach. Very central and close to restaurants. Parking is a problem.
2 out of 5
by jhon from England, UK

hotel break

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: WE cant think of anything
Cons: The pool and area and reception area
Location: very good location
the hotel needs updating . we had bed and breakfast the very poor . I bought ear plugs needed them at night.
2 out of 5
by AN from Hertfordshire, UK

DISAPPOINTING STAY AT THE TROPICANA HOTEL

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Pros: NONE
Cons: STAFF
Location: LA CARIHUELA IS BEAUTIFUL
very disappointing that we never felt that the staff cared to be pleasent around us ,didnt like to ask for anything.food was dreadful cold veg ect:no eggs and bacon.make sure when you have drinks with your meal that all of the staff see that you have signed the reciept or like us they ran after you! no apologies given.If you want a lovely day on the beach we would recommend to buy a sunbed at playa maguel end of la carihuela lovely people always pleased to see you unlike the hotel beach/sunbed ect: We would always recommend La Carihuela beautiful location but not the Tropicana hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Exactly what we expected

Posted Jul 31, 2011
We stayed in a studio apartment behind the hotel. The room was basic and clean, exactly as we had expected. Our studio room overlooked a busy road but earplugs and black out curtains ensured we had a good nights sleep. Located a few minutes from the hotel and from the beach it was perfect. We chose to have the hotel breakfast buffet each day as there was a plentiful selection of good food on offer. Take slip-on sandals to walk across the sand to the sea - the sand is so hot in the afternoons it feels as if it's burning your feet. One day the sea wasn't very clean but we could have used the pool instead. No nightclubs or noisy bars near to our hotel - but plenty of restaurants and beach bars to choose from. Would recommend this hotal for a quiet beach break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Central Ilinois

A Nice Beachfront Experience

Posted Jun 8, 2010
The location was perfect--just a few steps to the beach. The staff was very helpful and helped us overcome any language barriers. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the beach. We would definitely stay here again. The Tropicana seemed to be a little smaller that some of the other beachfront hotels, and we liked that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Malaga Trip

Posted May 5, 2010
The city is beautiful. Our stay was nice. there staff was very helpful. They were having trouble with English but really tried their best to help us. Not happy with internet connection as it was intermittent. I wish they has a coffee pot or kettle for heating water for tea and coffee. Resturant opened too late for us - 8:00am. S/B atleast 6 or 6:30 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellen from Peru, IN

Studios are great!

Posted Mar 24, 2010
We opted to stay at the Tropicana again because of location and the fact we would have a kitchen. We were there during a really rainy period and were so glad that we had the ability to stay in at night and fix fresh shrimp, artichokes, tomatoes, strawberries, well, you get the picture! Close to supermarket, train station (even though it is uphill all the way), restaurants, shopping. We will stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Studio apartments are only 1 or 2 star at the best

Posted Feb 11, 2010
The hotel is superbly located in a quiet position adjacent to all amenities. The hotel itself is definitely 4 star but the annex with the studio apartments is only 1 or 2 star and this should be made clear on any information regarding the hotel. The studio apartments are lacking in equipment with only a refrigerator and 2 hob cooker top. There is no kettle, toaster or microwave oven which for self catering purposes are essential even if only to make a cup of tea or coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chippenham UK

Hotel Tropicana Torremolinos

Posted Nov 13, 2009
I stayed at the Hotel Tropicana last weekend (Nov09) for 4 nights. The hotel is well located next to the beach and within walking distance of many bars and restaurants. I had a studio room which was across the road from the main hotel. The room was very basic, a good size but basic in terms of amenities. The price is very good though, but don't expect a 4 star hotel it you take the cheapest room option. Free wireless internet was a bonus in the bar area.