Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrogate

Good hotel. Be careful about electricity costs.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Try to get rooms closer to pool rather than by reception and the main road. Nice feel and pool safe for kids. Close to beach and good local restaurant (the butcher). Would prefer this to the expensive Iberostar down the beach (& we are Iberostar club members). We were charged £50ish for 6 days electricity rather than £25 as advertised by Expedia. Have been chasing MacDonalds for a refund since August...Not good enough service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Great location, beautiful, well maintained and immaculately clean. Lovely staff
Cons: Better insulation, soft closing hinges on doors,cupboards. Felt padding on table/chair feet. Remove wooden headboards from fixed position on the walls
Location: Stay at the pools, gym, local each. Visit the beautiful city of Ronda, go dolphin watching at the Rock of Gibraltar, tour Gibraltar. Visit Estapona
Arrival experience wasn't great as there were two children lady using the main t.v in the reception waiting area to play on their playstation. The children were screaming at each other and the poor Spanish lady on Reception couldn't communicate. The children's mother was actually in charge of the Reception and couldn't get them to be quiet and when she did try it made no effect. This resulted in us having to return the following day to receive our instructions.- not a good first impression !! Wonderful holiday, excellent resort with great facilities and close to amenities. Staff were lovelyand the complex was always tidy and clean. The only one criticism of the hotel apartment was that the walls are far too thin. You can hear everything , from tables moving, drawers opening, even someone on the toilet. this sadly results in lack of sleep which is not what a holiday is for.
5 out of 5
by James from Rochdale

Great stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great time at the Macdonald Villacana club, we were in apartment 234 which is one bed with a pull out sofa bed; this worked well for us as our kids (7,4) loved going on the sofa bed where they could watch tv whilst in bed (a real treat as no to in their bedrooms at home). Apartment spacious and everything which you'll need. We enjoyed going to the smaller of the two pools as this seemed to be less crowded and superior sun beds/umbrellas. The property is beautifully maintained and my only complaint could be I couldn't find the outside bins but that's testament to how well the property is set up Will definitely be checking availability for next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great family place to stay

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach and with a large swimming pool if you prefer the pool. Great restaurants for day and night and two bars on a terrace
Cons: Not having to pay for sunbeds every day
Location: Next to the beach Local to Puerto banus and marbella Estepona port for the market
Next to the beach with a large pool and lots of greenery to sunbathe on. Great restaurants to eat out in at night and a local supermarket for all your needs. Very clean rooms and landscaped gardens. Only downside is you have to pay for sunbeds every day which wasn't expected and we had to pay for Air con and was told it would be by the meter reading when actually it was just 5 euros a day and if we had known that we would have used more electricity rather than being careful.
4 out of 5
by Delphine

Peaceful family holiday in Villacana

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
We were really impressed with the hotel and our appartment/villa was very well-positioned close to the beach. The beach is large and not too busy, the area overall is very nice and not over-built,very peaceful for a family holiday. We had a car and found it useful to travel in the area. We recommend a visit to Ronda,Casares,Marbella of course and Puerto Banus. The only one criticism we have about the hotel is the extra charge for electricity to be paid on departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

So much more than 3 star..

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: San Pedro and Marbella are only a short driving distance (or bus ride) from resort and both have everything you could want or need for entertainment.
We booked this resort as a last minute fix for our summer holiday following our original accommodation being cancelled only one week before we were booked to fly to Malaga. We were so glad!!! the location was perfect and resort and accommodation were second to none. Our 2 bedroom duplex was located with direct access onto the beach and with one of the 4 pools right outside our patio area which was ideal for our 3 children. With the exception of one of the on site restaurants the food and the service was superb and we felt perfectly safe letting the children walk themselves to the main pool area for ice creams and pool tables etc. The accommodation was cleaned, beds made and towels changed 3 times during our 13 night stay, there was wifi available at an extra cost but with 3 teenagers this is essential nowadays. We were offered an extension on our last day as we flew out in the evening which also made a huge difference. I really do have nothing negative to say about our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone I know who wishes to stay in the San Pedro/Marbella area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Macdonald Villicana was just OK

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Macdonald Villicana has a friendly laid back feel to it and the staff are very willing to assist where they can. The kids club is good with plenty of activities for teenagers with the pool volleyball being very popular and fun to watch. Whilst sun bed numbers appeared to be lower than you might expect we were always able to find something so it's deceiving. The room however was very disappointing as we felt detached from the facilities being only 1 of 3 rooms at the reception building a fair distance from restaurant and pools and the decor was very outdated. We had a separate balcony up a flight of stairs detached from the room which was no use for us as a balcony is useful for quick in and out and didn't want to have to trail kids with us each time so wasn't used and in addition the traffic noise levels ruined any peace you would expect. The furniture required moving around each night time to get the bed in the living area down. We requested a room change but were told there were no other rooms. The rest of the accommodation appeared to be more fit for purpose in terms of location and helping you to be more a part of the village. It was a decent hotel if you were fortunate to avoid a reception based room and the self catering room facilities were of a very good standard with condements, washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs etc.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Chicago

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, a very nice resort, but as a solo traveler, I would say it was definitely more appropriate to a family. Lots of people there with young kids, and much farther out of Marbella city center than I thought it would be. That said, nice beach and very relaxing environs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
We were upgraded from a single room apartment to a two bed apartment. The apartment and appliances were all clean. Facilities at the venue are very good and on the beach front
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Good location, good size two bedroom apartment, clean, well equipped from salt and pepper to beach parasols. Mature gardens with three swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis court and a gym.