Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel to stay at, with parking also included

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Could not fault anything. Great facility. Staff were great. Underground parking. Overall a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by matt from london

Great hotel, great service and amazing golf course

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: The boutique feel of the hotel and service
Cons: I would improve the Spa service; create the ability to just pop in
Lovely hotel and golf course. I just wanted a small relaxing hotel stay on a golf course.... Going to come back with friends and will definitely have more golf lessons with Sergio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by andy

Fabulous relaxing stay

Posted Sep 12, 2013
If you fancy a relaxing environment away from the hustle of Marbella and you play golf as well then this is the place for you. It is situated 4k from the centre of Marbella and it costs between 12 and 17 euros to get a taxi into the centre and between 10 and 12 euros to get back. This is because the taxis start their meter at the place where they get the call so if they are miles away you get charged for the journey to pick you up. The hotel itself is spotless and tastful and the rooms are generously sized and the beds are fabulous. The staff are friendly and helpful but there are not enough of them so you can spend a while waiting to be served. The food is excellent and not bad value and the amenities are pretty good with a nice 12 meter pool and plenty of sun loungers and private areas to relax. The golf course is excellent but expensive but it's not over busy in September when we were there. All in all a great hotel and worth a stay if you want a quiet time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Aberdeen, UK

Great hotel for couples or golfers

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Location: A bit off the beaten track...thank goodness we had the Tom Tom GPS.
We arrived early evening. Reception staff very welcoming. Took us to our room which was beautiful. Inbspain for 6. Day road trip to celebrate 25th wedding anniversary so a great start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by elaine from scotland

lovely small boutique hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: peacefullness
Cons: no free water
Location: need a car or taxi
lovely quiet hotel, spotlessly clean. rooms could do with being updated as a little tired looking now. no free drinking water in room which is poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pure decadence

Posted Sep 4, 2012
Pros: Decor, food, pool and service
Location: Beautiful location overlooking the hotel's golf course. Short taxi ride to Marbella.
The Rio Real is a beautiful hotel, in a beautiful location - Our spacious, luxurious room overlooked the golf course. The pool is idyllic for couples; surrounded by lime trees in clay pots, with comfortable wooden-framed loungers on the decking. The food is truly delicious and presented with artistic flair. A decadent holiday .... We'll be back ... Soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sgambler from London, UK

Fantasic (non-golfing!) break at the Rio Real

Posted Jul 10, 2012
We had a lovely 4 day break at the beautiful Rio Real hotel and have to admit we really enjoyed it despite not picking up a golf club at any stage! The rooms are wonderfully spacious, the pool area is a little oasis (and not much frequented by fellow guests, which made it very peaceful) and the bar serves up delicious drinks, snacks etc. Breakfast I have to say was also brilliant with plenty of hot & cold options all served at your table. Just a short cab ride into Marbella makes this a perfect location just a little way out of town, just enough to give you that feeling of space (and with the golf course all around views are stunning) Just down the road is the Trocadero Arena beachclub too - a great place for sunset drinks and a smart dinner - recommended. All up a brilliant place for a break in the sunshine. We'd hope to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by elaine from scotland

PEACE & TRANQUILITY

Posted Jun 20, 2012
small and exclusive away from noise of marbella yet still close enough to travel into town. rooms are spotless, towels white & fluffy, food excellent & staff very friendly especially Nacho on reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordon from Southampton

Golfer's Heaven

Posted May 11, 2012
A lovely hotel on a great golf course. Really enjoyed the club bar and restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Rested at Rio Real

Posted Oct 19, 2011
Location: Would highly recommend the Old Town in Marbella, lovely to explore. Peurto Banus is fabulous to walk around and to sit in a restaurant, eat lunch and watch the world go by. Gibraltar is less than an hours drive and well worth the visit, very nice place and extremely interesting.
We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. It was very easy to find, the staff were all very nice, very helpful, the food in the bar was excellent and very reasonably priced compared with any local restaurants. The only reason I didn't give it 5 out of 5 in all categories was due to the lack of tea/coffee facilites in the room, I don't know if that is a Spainish thing or not, it's a small point anyway. The coffee at breakfast was superb. Would definitely go back, and I don't even play golf!