Ratings based on 485 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Very welcoming & delightful staff.

Posted Jun 15, 2017
From the moment we checked in to checking out 5 days later . I only have good positive comments about this hotel . Nothing was too much trouble particularly the friendly helpful reception staff to the efficient busy cleaning staff . Everyone went the extra mile to ensure everyone had a great holiday .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wm

Big hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Nice big hotel close to the beach.Food was very good.I went there with my friend end of May for 4 nights I was very disappointed because there was nothing to do in the evening no night clubs around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect to much

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The room was kept very clean by the excellent housekeeping staff. They were the only friendly faces in the hotel.
Arrived Sunday 14th May to check in at 11:30. Told by the unpleasant reception staff to come back at 14:00 to collect key .Sat around for 2 1/2 hours and witnessed their attitude wasn't restricted to just me. Finally got the key and in the lift noticed the lift safety check had expired on the 17th March. as we were on the top floor we crossed our fingers. Mentioned it to reception but after our two week stay it was still the same. As we were tired from our very early morning flight we thought we would just have a meal in the hotel "restaurant". Not a good idea. We arrived at the door and asked for a table for two. That will be 43 euros demanded the miserable lady at the door. She turned out to be the Canteen Commandant. I said I will charge to the room please. "Have you purchased credit from reception ?" No, they never informed me that I had to. "In that case you will have to pay cash. No cash no table". This all occurred before we had even seen any food ! Needless to say we never ate there again. The hotel also had a unique Wake Up Call system. You would go to bed in a pleasant controlled environment but in the early hours they would turn off the air conditioning off so you would wake up in the very early hours nicely hot and sticky. We were glad that we had only booked this hotel as a base hotel as we were driving around visiting Seville, Cordoba and Granada where we stayed in some proper hotels for four nights before returning to finish our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large family friendly hotel near beach

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Position near beach.
Large family friendly hotel with good facilities and next to beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welligton, FL, USA

Close to beach.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Food is not the greatest. Rooms are not updated but they are functional. In /out bar drinks are pre-mixed stuff, not good at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen scotland

ok hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: the things that where on offer , ie gym , indoor swimming pool and the breakfast had a very good selection off food
Cons: the channels on the TV's could possibly have some English speaking channels
Location: location was good if you like the beach as this was across the road but other than that we found very little to do around hotel
i found this hotel very nice indeed was excellent in most departments other than the rooms as i found the twin room on offer was small for 2 people and they need to look at making some off the TV channels in English as all ours where in Spainish but we found most off the people we spoke too spoke english
4 out of 5
by rachael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good big touristy hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, room, bathroom and beds. Kettle was a bonus.
Cons: Hard to say but room description could include constant shade
For what it is , sol principe does things very well. Dining room noisy, pushy, crowded but no queue at door, good variety of food with occasional excellent surprises. Main drawback was room description. In other hotels along this coast this would have described as a side-sea view not seaview. Also the angle of the hotel meant meant that the excellent balcony was never in the sunshine. This was very disappointing as the weather was good. Reception helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Huge hotel that has extremely friendly staff willing to help you out with anything and everything. The hotel has everything with beautiful rooms, dining rooms, party areas, terraces, pools. The only issue was that the beds are very soft and not comfortable if you have any back issues at all. You need to ask staff for a board (plywood) to place under the mattress for better support. As well, there is a cost of approximately 12 Euros for using the safe in the room. There is a large supermercado (Mercadona) near the hotel as well as a pharmacy. While the dining room for the breakfast was nice with lots of food displayed at various stations, there were way too many people! It was crazy the morning it was raining - all the tables were taken and people are sneezing and coughing all over the place near the food! Be careful! The staff are great and try to keep the buffet room clean and the bedrooms clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from lincs

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Good choice in bar and food.
Cons: A few more tv channels in English.
Location: A little way from the town and all uphill but found a lift to take you from just off sea front to edge of town. Plenty of bars and places to eat.
Great hotel, nice rooms. Superb choice in dining room.