Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chorley

hotel on the sea front which accommodates all ages

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, restful and quiet, with excellent staff.
Cons: Breakfast was chaotic. Not enough staff to keep the buffet sufficiently stocked.Glasses, crockery, and cutlery were not near the location needed.
Location: Beach front and only 15 mins. walk / 5 mins. drive to puerto. 10 mins. drive into old town.Plenty of bars and restaurants with a local influence.
enjoyed a very comfortable and restful holiday. Hotel is on the seafront where you walk from the hotel directly onto the beach. Beds, sunshades, and towels freely available for both beach and poolside. Poolside cafe, 3 pools outside, plus spa with indoor pool. Staff were very polite, friendly, and attentive. All public areas were very clean and bright. Rooms were large enough, and cleaned daily. Overall a thoroughly good holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A perfect hotel by the sea!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
What a perfect place! The hotel was clean and comfy and the staff were excellent. Food was delicious. Only very slight negative is that it was a good 20 minute walk to Estepona Marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

nice hotel , beach side

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: position
Cons: more staff.
Location: Estepona nearby
Nice hotel , nice position. Sometimes feels a bit understaffed, specially at breakfast time. Staff at reception could be more knowledgeable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, with beautiful pool area, on the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Beautiful pool area, with plenty of sun-beds. One of the pools was heated. Very good breakfast. Parking. Huge bedroom. Friendly staff.
Cons: Clean the beach daily, and employ a digger to clear all the large stones and bricks. Evening entertainment was quite good, but over too quickly
Location: On the beach, but beach dirty and has many large rocks,bricks and stones. Hotel about 20 minutes walk to port, 40 minutes walk to town, uphill back.
We stayed for a week bed and breakfast. The hotel looks beautiful, the pool area is stunning, and the room was huge and comfortable. However, our week was spoiled by several aspects, mainly the condition of the beach, and the location of the hotel being so far from the port or the town, and there are no bars or restaurants or cafes within walking distance. Although there is parking outside the hotel, many evenings we came back to find there were no spaces, so had to park on rough ground opposite.
5 out of 5
by Chloe

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel OK but poor service

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Facilities OK and generally clean but not enough staff - especially in the cafe and restaurants. Really slow service in the cafe at the pool. Complained after taking 2.5 hours for a light lunch and told I should have gone somewhere else. Also customer service desk left unattended for 10 minutes with PC left unlocked and could access guest info. if inclined. Also reception inflexible when checking in when asked if could have more mobility friendly room (although should have stipulated when booked). Generally OK but wouldn't recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay, for sharing your experience and for taking time to rate us. We apologise for not meeting your expectations. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

a beautiful relaxing resort!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Food at both breakfast and dinner buffets was outstanding. The free flamenco show one evening was wonderful. pool is great, plenty of lounge chair
Cons: we could not order tap water so had to pay for bottled water all the time, beach is very rocky
Location: beach walks great, relaxation
we spent 2 days here with our son and would have liked to stay longer. the location and property are beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us again for your stay, for taking time to share your experience and for rating us. We are really happy to know you liked your stay, breakfast service, entertainment and pools. We are sorry for the inconveniences, but we do not recommend drinking tap water there for we do not provide it. Also the beach is at is natural state being public, so only the administration is entitled to make modifications to it. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
4 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us again for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

fantastic staff great location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: staff and location
Cons: room condition and food
Location: The port of Estepona is within waling distance and has many good restaurants bars and a great view. More golf courses that anyone could play in two
A superb location and excellent staff, rooms were in need of a make over and the door lock would not engage correctly. You had to bang it a view times to insure it closed which was disturbing for other guests. We were changed for parking which was unexpected @6.50 euros a day and the air-conditioning in the whole hotel was turn off as it was not summer time according to the manager. Buffet breakfast and dinner were not as good as other hotels in the area like the Alba and the kimpinski but were OK. Dinner buffet was more disappointing as the main course fish and meats were left too long on the hot plates and were tough and tried out. Pool area was very clean and the pool side service and restaurant were fine. Over all the evening entertainment was fine and the bar atmosphere was very good, drinks were generous and value for money but I don't think this is a hotel for children judging on the daily activities that were on offer. Would I go back again, yes but I would book a premium room as there were no dressing gowns slippers or tea making facilities in our room and no mini bar stock.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing for your stay and for taking time to share your experience and rating us. We are really happy to know you liked the location, cleanliness of pool areas, service in restaurant, entertainment, atmosphere, and drinks. The hotel is suitable for children, as in high season when the usually arrive, we make extra entertainment for them. We are sorry for the door inconvenience, also that we were not aware during your stay to provide a solution. The parking to be payable is advertise, so we do not understand why was it unexpected. By the way, now costs 8€ per night. Air conditioning is on, but only heat mode selected. As the installations are centralized and permits only heat or mode at the time. To change from one mode to another take a pair of days, as it is made with water pipe system, which can burst with a drastical change of temperature. And as the average temperatures are lower than what the cold mode reaches makes no sense to change to it. That is why cold mode is not used until summer. We are glad that our dinning food is compared with 5 stars hotels. Food is change regulary to avoid things to go tough and dry. Please if you find it this way in your next visit, you just have to inform the restaurant team or wait for this change to be done. Nevertheless remember that the show cooking make fresh food at the moment if you do not want to wait. You can get the dressing gowns, sleepers, and tea or coffee facilities in the room by an extra cost. Yes, the minibar is on request, and a la carte and payable. And so we advertise it. It will be a pleasure to see you again, and please do book the upgrade room which we hope you enjoy. We will wait then for your next visit, as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible,no soul nor atmosphere ok for conferences

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
We hated the hotel- its a 4 star that should be rated 3 star in our opinion. We were particularly disgusted by the Reception Desk Staff, namely Isabel On arrival we were allocated a room not to the specification/booking, we had booked. Had no choice but to take it as they said they were full. Carpets in hallways leading to rooms is stained throughout, horrible Everything was an 'extra' for example,use of safe in room, bathrobes in room, loungers on terrace, car parking....they charge for everything, other than absolute basics. Some towels were threadbare. Clean good bed linen and comfortable beds. Breakfast quite good. Pool area pretty No Manager on duty at weekends! so, who do you complain to if you have a problem? Only go there if you have to or if they have a really cheap offer.We rented a car which was vital, due to location of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by H10 Estepona Palace, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking time to rate us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We always provide the room booked and paid. We do advertise what is included to avoid misunderstandings of guests during their stay, so we are sorry this information was not seen by you before making your decision of staying in our hotel. There is always a person on duty to attend guests. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Greetings from the H10 Estepona Palace team.