Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Grand Hotel Malahide

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Room air conditioning required but don't let thios put you off
Location: Malahide centre bars restaurants shops all easy reach Dublin airport is 15 mins in a cab around 18 - 20 euro.
Very good hotel Staff were excellent . Only slight issue was I could not regulate the room temp air conditioning would have been a benefit . But on the whole I would definitely recommend this hotel Food was outstanding in the restaurant . Also very convenient for Malahide centre and water front
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Grand Hotel Malahide

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Booking was for 8 people in seven rooms. Each room cost €160 per night. Rooms were cold despite an outdoor temperature of almost 0 Celsius. Shower water temperature could be best described as tepid. And just to add an additional insult the €160 per room did not include a breakfast. Needless to say that as the organiser my group expressed their frustration at yours truly. STREWTH
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Good location & gym facilities

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Fantastic location, well equipped gym and nice pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyrone

Celebrating a big birthday In Malahide

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: V handy to everything in the town
Cons: Lighting in rooms could be improved above the mirror and some parts of hotel be updated Found the nightly rates expensive .
We had a great time in the Grand Hotel with some of the family staying for 1 night and the rest of us for the 2 nights .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Beautiful hotel close to the airport

Posted Sep 22, 2017
This is a grand, old hotel very close to the airport. The staff was very nice and arranged a taxi to the airport in the morning (which was right on time). The restaurant was handy, as we didn't want to venture out in the rain, and the food was good. Oddly, all the staff disappeared during dinner and it took quite a while to get our check. Still, a very nice place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cork City

Nice hotel, Inexperienced staff

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location, next to the beach and close to shops and restaurants. Rooms are nice and clean.
Cons: Staff members need some training I believe.
Location: I only stayed for one night and had to leave early the next day, only had lunch in one of the restaurants nearby and checked a few shops.
Starting with the building itself, it is located right next to the beach with a wonderful view from the main dining room. It is close to shops and restaurants so you can go for a walk and explore the area. Rooms are clear and nice. unfortunately, the staff member I had to deal with lacked experience, she was not familiar with the hotel layout at all (she had to grab a piece of paper to check where my room is located which doesn't sound professional). I payed for pre-autherization by debit card,which is a routine in every hotel, and still haven't got a refund of it back yet. It has been 12 working days now and when I contacted the bank and hotel, turned out that the same lady made a complete transaction of money instead of pre-auth and I had to go through a process to have the amount of money reversed back to me. I know I will eventually get the money back but going through a very long process and have to call the back and hotel several times makes it inconvenient. The system was down when I arrived so I had to wait for a while to check in, which I don't blame the staff for. Overall, I was satisfied with my stay at the beginning but now I am disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel - overpriced

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Nice location and comfortable, very clean rooms.
Cons: Offer free wi fi and better service to deal with many people that are headed to or from the airport and arranging flights.
Location: Walking distance to local restaurants. Nice walk along the shoreline near hotel.
Nice hotel in picturesque location but expensive for the experience. Found it unusual that a hotel of this reputation only offered very limited one time Wi Fi use. We needed to check in with an airline for our flight the next day and had to pay to use a computer in the lobby area. Breakfast was only fair as we had to wait for many items on the breakfast buffet and there didn't seem to be enough staff to wait on the tables. Staff were courteous but not overly friendly or helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Little misleading, thought we were in Dublin, actually Dublin county. Good taxi ride to get to the city.
5 out of 5
by Bernadette

Seaside stay

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The view in 310 was less than spectacular. The shower curtain is flimsy and clingy which makes it awkward to shower. In general, however, this is a lovely old hotel, conveniently centrally located, and we enjoyed our stay there.