Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No beach view

Posted Nov 28, 2017
I booked this place thinking (from the pics ) that it had a beach front. Nope they didn't. The picture was misleading. The staff were very nice and accommodating though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Backpackers Paradise

Posted Nov 27, 2017
If you've decided to travel the world....Firstly, YOU'RE A ROCKSTAR. Secondly, I would recommend this hotel to you. The hotel provides everything you need and is literally in the backyard of town. Convienviently, located beside a dive shop - where I spent most of my time - the 4 AM wake-up calls to see the Thresher Shark weren't too painful. There is a price increase if you want 'Air Conditioning', so to stay cool I stuck by the pool. The staff are uniquely funny and super helpful. One dude (name left my head) had a few great one-liners about the slow internet was which made my day. Internet on the island is very slow, so this was not the fault of the hotels. Overall, this place is perfect for you backpackers and divers looking to spend a few days on the Malapascua island. Advice for divers - have your Advanced Certification if you want to see those amazing Thresher Sharks. Until next time!
2 out of 5
by Chris and Willem from A short walk from the beach, opposite loud bar

OK room, so-so location, surcharges

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
We are seasoned Philippines travellers and value air conditioning. We paid extra for a triple deluxe room even though a double deluxe has identical size and setup (2 queen beds) and costs $7 less, because the website didn't show the double room had air conditioning (which it actually has). The second day the manager asked us extra because we were 2 couples, stating that we booked only for 2 persons. On the website the price for 2 or 4 people is exactly the same. After a very loud and unpleasant dispute with the manager we refused to pay the requested extra charge. We received only 2 free breakfasts instead of 4. Signs posted all over the property advise guests of ridiculous surcharges for lots of things that are free in other properties including a 500 Pesos cork fee for bringing in your own beverages. The unpleasant interaction with the manager ruined our vacation here and consequently we do not recommend that you stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The only thing that I have to complain is that I book for a room with partial view on the beach... and there was actually only tree and the pool that I could see. But otherwise I enjoy my stay.
5 out of 5
by Argee

will go back for sure

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
I will definitely go back.. very clean resort and people are all nice specially the owner. the pool is a big hit! very well maintained, will recommend to friends!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great place for the price, convenient location
4 out of 5
by Mark

First Visit

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient location - staff very good - pool excellent - room was satisfactory / bed mattress a bit slim hard sleeping - fridge in room would be a nice addition - common fault all asia hotels room towels to small not of great quality - breakfast good start to the day, restaurant food was good - need to start happy hour like there competitors as I observed of an eve all guests ventured to other bars / restaurants to dine that offered this - wi fi is not good another reason to go out for happy hour
5 out of 5
by Robert

Slam's vacation spot

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Everyone here is excellent, professional and personable. The swimming pool is always clean. The food is great.
5 out of 5
by John

A good choice on Malapasuca sland

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice place to stay. I enjoyed the pool area and the
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull, England

Very Relaxing Holiday

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Bedroom is extremely clean, although a bathroom is rather small. The hotel has a good size of the swimming pool and it was quiet most of the time.
Cons: Having a few hunger rails in the bathroom might have been very useful in order to dry laundry.
Location: Since the island is very small, peaceful and quiet, it is one of the best places to relax if you are not an active diver.
Members of staff in the hotel are very friendly, who kindly answered a lot of questions of mine about local food, stores as well as local people. Malapascua is such a small island that you will get to know local people, tourists and divers after spending for a couple of days. Local food is extremely tasty and unbelievably cheap.