Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull, England

Very Relaxing Holiday

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Bedroom is extremely clean, although a bathroom is rather small. The hotel has a good size of the swimming pool and it was quiet most of the time.
Cons: Having a few hunger rails in the bathroom might have been very useful in order to dry laundry.
Location: Since the island is very small, peaceful and quiet, it is one of the best places to relax if you are not an active diver.
Members of staff in the hotel are very friendly, who kindly answered a lot of questions of mine about local food, stores as well as local people. Malapascua is such a small island that you will get to know local people, tourists and divers after spending for a couple of days. Local food is extremely tasty and unbelievably cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Slam's Garden Resort a friendly place! .

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The staff and the warmth of the environment
Cons: t.v.'s in room and better wifi connection
Location: Not much to do other than diving and that was not great.
Overall, the staff go out of their way and treat everyone very respectfully. I had some medical problems and the staff were helpful to get me to a Dr. and check on me. The pool facilities, food and gardens were nice for what is the norm in Malapascua Island. Location is great close to the ferry, dive shops and some nicer restaurants. We found the diving to be poor, only thing to see is the thresher sharks and maybe some white tips, but Yolanda and the grenade fishing have taken their toll. No t.v. in the room and wifi is not always available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

My new home in Malapascua

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The best value for the price. Close to many of the dive shops - makes for a short walk to your center for the 5:00 am shark dives. Nice Pool!
Cons: Nothing reasonable comes to mind.
Location: Scuba diving is King in Malapascua. Because of the absence of vehicles and tricycles, everything is "walking distance" to Slams.
No fuss check-in. Clean room. Well maintained grounds: pool and garden.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Nice quiet hotel.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Nice quiet hotel. Not on the beach but walking distance of beach, bars, restaurants and activities. Away from loud music at night and crowed parties so you can sleep!! Confortable rooms. Staff, as everywhere else in Philippines, could be more helpful... We planned 5 nights and finally decided to book a 6 one... Staff tell us they were fully booked... We went on Expedia... Miracle! 2 rooms left! We booked our last night and they finally told us they had 2 cancellation... in the last 5 minutes ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul, Korea

Overall nice place to stay

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Location: There are lots of scuba diving shops just a couple minutes away, plus lots of other beach-related activities.
Good location just a couple minutes from the beach, pool was nice, restaurant was a bit pricey but good, wifi cut in and out a little but overall worked well (better than I was expecting actually), and the room was clean and comfortable. I'd stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Avoid , avoid , avoid !!!

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Make good with what is advertised !! Avoid this place !!!
Location: Thresher shark diving !
Terrible place , NO POOL, in working condition that is advertised . Place is behind beach , hot , dirty and construction material everywhere . Expedia advertises it has a pool . IT DOESNT !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach and restaurants

Posted Mar 1, 2015
stayed here for a few days for diving , main objective was seeing the rare Thesher sharks and I saw a bunch of them!! staff very friendly and quite efficient. Service quick, just 5 to 7 min to get your breakfast served ( friends from other hotels complained about 40 min waits). Hotel is not far from beach and in quiet location with nice inside garden. Rooms have balconies and are quite spacious. Good value for the money. I enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great job on all the basic necessities

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Location: the resort is in the most populated part of the island (village) so everything you would need on a small island is nearby.
I spent 5 days on the island mainly on a diving excursion. The hotel does a good job on all the basics with a very friendly staff. The rooms were fairly new when i stayed, clean, instant warm water for shower, spacious, comfortable bed, efficient AC, and a good selection of complimentary breakfast. A great deal. Close to the shore but then again it's a small island so the shores are a stone throw's away pretty much anywhere. Only negatives are the security lockers which had the electronic coding system disabled (had to use a key instead), and the curtains didn't really block out any light. Still highly recommend this for the casual traveler.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nathan from Singapore

Another decent, basic Malapascua place to sleep

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Basic accommodation that is clean and comfortable. It in a good location, 10 meters to the beach. Like other Malapascua accommodation, Slam's is very simple. There was a small refrigerator in the room. The food is okay, passable and not expensive. Service is very relaxed and informal. So don't expect a palace, and you'll be just fine. Wifi was not working while we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ゆっくりできる静かなホテル

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: 居心地
Cons: ホテル敷地内のレストランはハエが多い
Location: ビーチ
島にあるのでこちらのような値段のホテルで求める条件は特別ですが、また利用したいと思えるくらいの良いホテルでした。部屋は広く、スタッフも感じが良く、不便に感じる事はありませんでした。島なので食事の値段は高いのでこちらのホテルよりレストランへ行くことをお勧めします。ハエがとても多く常に戦ってました。ビーチまでは歩いて5分何で立地条件は良いです。帰りの船乗り場にも近いです。