Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh. Pa

It was okay not very fabulous take own sheets

Posted Sep 13, 2016
It was good take own sheets towels restaurant and food is okay not much choice staff courteous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and Serene location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The serene location and the pleasant ambience..
Cons: More publicity can be given to this hotel so that more people can savour the experiences...
KTDC Tamarind Nilambur offers a wonderful location for an ideal stay with the family. It is just by the side of the main road - quite easy to locate. The ambience is very pleasant and calm. It is very well maintained. Such an ideal location with good facilities is not known to all. I am glad at the wonderful service and hospitality offered by KTDC Tamarind Nilambur, I wish more people come and utilise this space...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We received warm welcome on arrival. Service was excellent. Good ambiance.
2 out of 5
by Kishore from Payyanur

Not worth

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Its an OK OK hotel. Staff courtesy was good..but room condition, bedding n house keeping was below average. One special thing I liked was separate water heater for every room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK. But lot more scope for improvements.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Location & Attendant @ bill desk are OK.
Cons: Toilet / Bath room, Hand wash area @ restaurant, Final Billing accepting Credit / debit cards, Telephone extension / intercom in rooms.
A Fair stay place @ Nilambur area as there are no better choice. My comments are - Asked for non smoking room but area still develops smells of cigarette. Toilet needs more clean up & mirror light required for shaving. No credit card / debit card felicity to settle bills. Accepts only cash @ Counter. Restaurant provides fair & tasty food to some extent. Can improve lot to cater for guests choices & hand wash area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its just not worth.

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: I did not like anything.
Cons: Everything
We trusted expedia.com and opted to reserve KTDC Tamarind Nilambur but I would never recommend anyone to go for this hotel. Its just not worth. We spent 4000 for 3 days stay but we did not stay for 1 day due to their in capabilities of understanding of customer need.
4 out of 5
by John from Kochi.

Nice Experience - Keep it high...Tamarind.

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was good with the service of the staff was also good. The washrooms need to be done up and an exhaust in the Wash room would be helpful. The location and ambience is too good. The food was also good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

shabby and rundown

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
One would hope that the KTDC would act as a beacon for best practice and set the standard for hospitality in Kerala but, based on my experience of the KTDC Easy Hotel in Nilambur, this is far from the reality. The hotel is a little way out of Nilambur, on the road from Gudalur. It is in a forested stretch of road.  On arrival, reception was unstaffed and no-one turned up to handle my arrival for ten minutes. The presentation of a booking form from Hotels.com created absolute confusion; several efforts were made to make me pay again, and it took a while to get shown to my room. The hotel complex is only a couple of years old but has bceome rapidly shabby. the ceiling panels in my room were badly cracked, as were the walls, which were badly stained with mould and damp. There were originally two ceiling fans but now only one remained, leaving the stump of the other protruding from the ceiling. Inexplicably the fan blades, covered in dust, were still in the room under a desk. There was no drinking water in the room on arrival, the hot water didn't work, although the air con and TV did. The restaurant is a soulless place offering a limited range of food. Sadly they don't seem to place any emphasis on use of renewables such as promoting filtered rather than bottled water. In the morning the staff piled the rubbish in the ground below my window and burnt it, including all the plastic bottles and bags. What wouldn't burn was thrown over the fence in to the forest. I have two more KTDC properties to stay at and it will be interesting to see if Nilambur is the exception or the norm. I hope that it is the former but I suspect the latter.