Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Graham

Graham from Colchester

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel in a great location, hotel staff were very accommodating letting me park car in side drive way, could not fault hotel in any way. Great buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely family run hotel, close to all amenities

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, parking, breakfast. Kittens in the garden
Cons: Sunbed mattresses may harbour biting insects! See above!
Location: 5 minutes walk from cable car - GO EARLY!! 3 minutes walk to gorgeous cobbled windy streets and squares in the town. Take the boat to Limone.
We stayed at the Luna Rossa for 5 days whilst attending a wedding at Malcesine Castle. The hotel is very well located and has parking underneath so very handy if you hire a car - just remember to book a room with a parking space. The breakfast is excellent, fresh fruit, yogurt, lovely bread and pastries, cold meats, fresh eggs, cereal etc etc. No bacon and sausage here, thank goodness. Rooms are simple, yet comfortable. If you are in the rear building only one has a view of the lake, the others look onto the building in front which isn't that exciting depending on your neighbours! Rooms are kept very clean, air conditioned, safe, big showers with large shower heads, lots of storage. Small table and chairs inside, comfortable beds and reasonable size balcony. Nice pool with lots of sunbeds, hot tub and secluded shady area for snoozing. Nice grassed area and lots of shrubs and plants. Beware of mosquitos though and come prepared as they love english blood! Short uphill walk into town one way, cycle/ walking route right outside the other with access to stony beaches and the lake. So close to the castle that we could see the tower from our bed! Helpful, friendly owners with small baby and another on the way. Cheerful, staff who did their jobs efficiently. A lovely place to stay in a busy town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Luca and Paola, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your time in sharing your experience in our hotel; we are glad to read your nice words; we hope we can welcome you again here in Malcesine. Fam.Stefenelli
5 out of 5
by Rob from Dubai

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay at the Luna Rossa. The staff were fantastic and although a little dated the hotel is very clean and has everything you need. The pool area was good and had plently of sun beds. The rooms were nice and big enough for us to fit our pushchair in. The breakfast had a very nice spread and was tasty. Would be very happy to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Dear Rob, thank you very much for your time in sharing your experience and we are glad to read your nice words; we hope we can welcome you again in our hotel. Best Regards Fam. Stefenelli Luca and Paola
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

a view to the castle

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Visit Limone (it's the best one around) and then Torbole.
Hotel location excellent, don't wear high heels on the streets cause it's all stones so it ll make you uncomfortable. Room is very clean and staff are very helpful. Nice decent breakfast. Two things to watch out for: 1. Walls extremely thin so even as my partner and I would talk we d find the people from next room, clapping to ask us not to talk!!! That was weird 2. Stay on 2nd floor so you can see the lake
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel in Malcesine

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Fantastic little hotel perfectly placed, with a lovely pool and with everything you could need. The absolutely best thing were the staff, they were just brilliant, helpful, friendly and professional, nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great location, fantastic views

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The location and the view from the balcony. This was a great way to start the day.
Location: The hotel is in an ideal location. It's a couple of minutes walk from the main part of the town and five minutes walk from the castle and cable car.
Malcesine is a beautiful medieval town. The Luna Rossa is in a great location in town, and possibly the only hotel with a pool. We couldn't see any others from the castle tower! The rooms are small but clean. Ours had a balcony offering fabulous views of the castle and the lake. The buffet breakfast is good and has plenty of choice. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel has a small underground car park and is reached down a narrow cobbled street designed for pedestrians.
4 out of 5
by Alaina from London

Perfect location for sight seeing in Malcesine!

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel with lovely helpful staff. Perfect location for sight seeing and a good pool and area.
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Ireland

Fantastic location with amazing scenery.

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
We were delighted to get a room with a baclony overlooking the lake. Spectacular. Comfy room,lovely staff, excellent breakfast and location.
5 out of 5
by David from Cwmbran, S Wales

Great Location in Lovely Town !

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, lovely and very helpful staff. Rooms on the small side but clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel, with really lovely staff

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel and staff were lovely. Hotel was really clean and the breakfast was more than adequate with lots of choice and you could tell it was all fresh. There is a pool and a hot tub at the hotel and we found we could get a lounger everyday without an issue. The hotel also provides towels for use at the pool, but if you want to go to the lake your need your own. Our hotel room had aircon which was great as it was really hot during our stay. Only downside was the bathroom was a little small but to be fair we were hardly in our room so wasn't an issue. Overall this is a great little hotel right, in a perfect location. We would stay here again.