Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Review of Hotel Econo Lodge , Malden Ma

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The price was reasonable.
Cons: Besides the problems mentioned above, they should provide better lighting in the hallway leading to the guest rooms
Location: I did not look for anything to do around the hotel but the area looked a bit shabby and decrepit.
I only stayed one night at this hotel having checked in around 10 pm and cked out the following morninf around 5 am. The clerk at the reception seemed to be in bad mood and did not give you much attention. or showed any kindness towards you. He didn't appear busy as there wasn't anybody around except for a young man, looking a bit shady, who kept a conversation with the clerk. The conversation didn't seem related to the hotel. The clerk that attended me in the morning when I left was much better and gave the information I needed in a polite manner. The room itself was clean but showed a lot of wear and tear. The TV was not working properly and water kept dripping from the Air Cond. outlet in the ceiling over the bed most of the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2015
total disappointment. the location is bad, but the hotel could develop accommodations to off set the needs of the area. A restaurant could be helpful, since none in the area. List of near restaurants, if any.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont ever stay here

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: burn the place down
Location: in a very bad location. drugs & hookers everwhere
this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. the bathroom door was falling off. the carpet was so dirty it made my socks black in 5 minutes. the room had so much smoke residue the walls & ceiling were brown. we asked for another room & were told since we got the room thru expedia they didnt have another one. this hotel should be inspected and removed from your list!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly shady business practice

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Cons: Room security. Privacy
Location: It is in a somewhat run down area. It was not that close to the heart of Boston. Its not far outside of Salem.
I checked in and I was assigned to my room. I left for the event I was attending and came back and my room key did not work. Checking in at the desk my items had been removed from my room and were being held because I was supposedly assigned to the wrong room by the prior clerk. That might not have seemed so weird but then I was reassigned to the original room I was already in! I felt like my personal belongings had been gone through and that the whole inconvenience did not make any sense at all! I would not stay here again because of this issue. I am glad I had nothing of value left in my room. They also tried to say I had to pay for the room. I purchased this room from Expedia several months in advance. I will be watching my card statement for any unauthorized charges.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
the hotel needs some maintenance. the hotel hallway was not ventilated, was hot stuffy and humid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2015
I would not recommend this hotel. It smelled bad and was uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A complete dump and rip off

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: nothing. really.
Cons: Everything
This place smells horrible and was the first motel/hotel to make me genuinely concerned about the cleanliness/safety of the facility. The breakfast looked old and I didn't see anyone eating it. The rooms haven't been taken care of physically. Oh, and the price is ridiculous! It was a headache checking out and getting a final receipt. Even overcharged me a night after I already checked out and told me they had no record of doing so and to contact my bank. I do NOT recommend!!!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 13, 2015
I didn't expect much. Was I surprised. The check in guy called us a cab for the game. Room was comfy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Conveniently located to use public transit

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Location close to public transit to visit Boston downtown
Cons: Breakfast options
Location: Boston transit bus stop is nearby
Average hotel good to stay if you plan to visit Boston attraction through public transit. Breakfast is disappointing. Not many options. I had a situation that was not very common. There was not water to the rooms for over 5 hours due to broken main pipeline in the hotel premises. Couldn't use the washroom during that time and the staff handled the situation not very well. But it doesn't happen often
1 out of 5
for Families
by John

Econo Lodge Malden is not friendly to non-smokers.

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
We got a smoking room - we do not smoke. The room reeked, when we talked to the attendant, they did not really care. The vending machines didn't work, the ice machine didn't work, and in general the place is ill maintained. Hotels.com needs to review its offerings, we certainly will be more careful when using Hotels.com in the future.