Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yokosuka, Japan

25th Anniversary

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Stayed at two resorts while on our anniversary. This was the second resort. The room was nice, but there were house flies in the room perpetually. They must have come in during the twice a day cleanings, as the door is left open. The staff took care of the flies when contacting the front desk. My wife took ill during this trip and the all-inclusive service does not allow for in room dining (extra charges), but the staff at the restaurant were extremely understanding of her situation and allowed me to bring her food to the room. The food was really awesome. The drinks were good too, though the choices were not too plentiful. They allowed take away drinks from the bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chandler

Disappointing service

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Doctor and Chef
Cons: Restaurant servers speed and Reception service
Location: Snorkelling
We requested for no construction site room before making reservation and hotel/expedia confirmed it. However on check in we got construction site room. After 1 day hassle they changed our room to no construction site room but room itself was unfinished instead of glass there was cardboard on window and AC was not working. There was broken glass in room and my Wife got cut on her leg , we asked for band aid and we were refused by reception. Only good part about the resort was its Doctor. I got sick on trip and Doctor took real good care. servers in restaurant were also disappointing , very late service. Chefs were nice though. Will not recommend this resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Began with high hopes and ended in disappointment

Posted Dec 21, 2016
We arrived in the afternoon after 12 days in Sri Lanka we have been promised a dream vacation. Lovely staff and our room was amazing water bungalow. Then we discovered two problems that accompanied us in the days that followed. There are works on the island near the hotel whit heavy equipment. This is a distance of less than 200 meters, and works starting at 6: 30 am and end at 11 pm. Every day!. When we book thay didnt say a word about the work, I read about them in reviews before the trip but did not think it was serious. Unfortunately it ruined our days without any reference from the hotel. We did not ask anything but But some reference and empathy can be nice. A second problem - Our shower was out of order. Worked with only cold water. We called reception on the first evening, thay said that repair but not. The next day when I called again Three staff members came. Everyone kindly suggested we shower with cold water because that's what there is. Not thought to fix the problem. It should be noted Jacuzzi in the room was working properly but why they can not fix the shower? In conclusion - this is a good place with excellent food and fair prices. But when their beach area noisy construction work, it is best to arrive when they will end
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful island, amazing lagoon.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Cons: The boat ride was pricey.
This was a bucket list trip for me and I was worried about the food considering the logistics involved. You need not worry. The food was absolutely delicious with plenty of variety - better than Cancun or the Mayan Riviera. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The lagoon was crystal clear and had plenty of tropical fish for those who are not divers. The rooms were large and the bed comfortable. I would recommend getting a bungalow that backs onto the lagoon and also to get an all inclusive pass if you intend on having any more than 2 drinks daily. I have no problem recommending this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Wonderful service in an excellent location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location (25 mins by speedboat to Male airport) Food - go all-inclusive! Otherwise it will cost you far too much. Best of all, the service. Superb.
Cons: Facilities generally need upgrading. I am sure Cinnamon have this in their plans having recently acquired the resort.
Location: We didn't go on any excursions - done them on other islands and we needed a week of chilling. Perfect for that! Great beach, lagoon full of fish.
Staff were brilliant at all times. Island potentially is superb, marred by building work going on at the neighbouring island about which we were not warned, plus the slightly jaded facilities that need upgrading. Food was superb, great choice at all meals. Evening entertainment was OK, but bigger resorts of course do this better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Solid Honeymoon Getaway

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Location: There is soooo much to do nearby. So many different excursions and snorkeling trips and scuba diving. Wave runners and surfing,wind surfing. So much!!
My wife and I were here for a little over a week and it was such a great trip. We stayed in one of the over the ocean villa's and it was nothing but amazing. The room was very comfortable and always cleaned and restocked of any items (Mini bar, towels etc) The house keeping comes twice a day if you so choose. The food was so good and always a lot of variety. The staff was also very friendly and atmosphere during every meal was always so relaxing and enjoyable. In regards to what some people have stated about the construction taking place at near by island which was in view, for my wife and i we didn't care. we were always out doing excursions and if we were hanging at the villa we were snorkeling or if inside you couldnt hear anything with air conditioning units on, so for us it was no big deal. Overall a 5 star experience and we would highly recommend it, especially the over the ocean villa's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Raw beauty

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Huge space. Deck. Large variety buffet (recommend full board as limited other options). Cleaning twice a day! Beautiful location!
Cons: The shower floor wasnt level so it lead to some pooling of water during showers. Expensive activities ($60 for 10 mins on a jetski)
Location: Male day excursion for USD40 (including boat ride) was fun. Island hopping. Snorkelling. Kayaking. Badminton/ Tennis courts free!
Absolutely loved the part of the resort we stayed at (over water suites). Luxurious space with a huge bathroom, living room and bedroom all with access to the deck which overlooks the sea and has stairs into the water. It was reasonably quiet with the occasional speedboat passing in the distance. Extremely romantic with beautiful waters all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Choice For Your Honeymoon :)

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Snorkelling!-> but best to bring your own as rental and purchase is expensive While equipment are old, badminton, tennis and ping pong are free2play.
The scenery was breathtaking. Compared to Phuket and Hawaii, the waters were clearer and offered more fish and corals for you to see up close. We stayed on the overwater bungalow for 1 night and the overwater suite for 2 nights for our honeymoon. Both experiences were wonderful in their own way. While the suite had an additional living room space and was closer to the restaurant, the bungalow which was located on the othe side of the island, had a better snorkeling area in our opinion. Both rooms offered a relaxing jacuzzi and a magnificent view of the sea :) As we were on the full board package, all our meals were Buffett style. We felt the meals were tasty enough and sufficient in variety. Fyi, drinks are not included for lunch and dinner for the full board package, only on the all-inclusive package. Alternatively, you may just bring along the complimentary bottled water from your rooms. Also, do share with the reception if you are staying there for your honeymoon or anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised by a little extra treat that they provided for us :) Overall, we had no regrets choosing CD for our honeymoon. It's a place worth recommending to others ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Honeymoon

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: We liked the close proximity to the airport, the friendliness of the staff, and the food.
Cons: Our room could've been a bit nicer, but we were still happy with it.
Location: We booked a trip into Male. There was surfing at the resort and snorkelling excursions available as well.
Got back from Cinnamon Dhonveli 2 weeks ago now. The resort transfer was pretty quick - only 25 min at the most. We did have to wait for other guests, but it wasn't long, and to be honest I kind of expected to. We didn't pay for a private transfer! The island itself was so beautiful and very well kept. We always saw ladies sweeping or staff keeping the resort clean. Our room was an over water suite. I would recommend staying in the overwater bungalow and paying for the premium alcohol. Our room faced construction at the Four Seasons. Not ideal, since it was our honeymoon, however it wasn't noisy at night and didn't ruin anything for us. The room was clean, but not 4 star. I would say 3. We were comfortable though and it was clean. The food was outstanding. Special mention to Subash and Katini who made fresh salads and omelettes for us. There was another chef on their shift, but I didn't catch his name. They were all so friendly! Our waiter was Mauani and he was fantastic! By the end of the week we didn't even need to tell him our drink orders, he just brought our drinks out!! It was awesome! The beach there was stunning. Beautiful turquoise water. We had fantastic weather as well considering it was supposed to be rainy season. There was a ton of activities to do at the resort as well. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was our first time to the Maldives.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Resort was pretty old and many wear & tear areas

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The service by employees were all good. The all-inclusive drinks the resort provided was of good quantity & quality.
Cons: The room we stayed on the 1st night was very old & creepy. The internet connection was very very bad.