Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorking

Paradise Island

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the beautiful surroundings
Cons: The bungalows need updating and mattresses are too hard. Thicker cushions for sun beds as very uncomfortable. Designated area for smokers.
It was our 2nd stay at Sun Island in the last 11 years and it did not disappoint. The staff are so friendly and they go out of their way to help you. There is so much to do on the island so you will not be bored. The staff work so hard to keep the Island immaculate. The superior beach bungalows are spacious and spotlessly clean. The food is very good and there is lots of choice to suit everyone's tastes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Gorgeous island, stilt houses, reasonable price

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Great accommodations for the price. Good staff. Beautiful waters.
Cons: Limit the number of people allowed on the Whale Shark excursions. Stop feeing the sharks and rays.
Location: There are tons of excursions from the islands, from shopping to diving/snorkeling. There is also a house reef that is pretty good.
We loved Sun Island. We stayed in one of the stilt houses and it was incredible. We were able to walk down the stairs directly into the ocean. The view was awesome, the room was good, and the facilities on the island were good. There is a free shuttle to the sister island of Holiday Island, which has better snorkeling than Sun Island. The only things we didn't like were the Whale Shark excursion and the shark and ray feedings. The Whale Shark excursion was unlimited in numbers, so when we did find a whale shark, dozens of people piled into the ocean and scared the shark away. They really need to limit the number of people on the excursion. Eventually, if they keep this up, the whale sharks will just go away rather than be harrassed by snorkelers and divers. The divers actually touched the whale shark on the face and took photos with flash directly in its face, blinding it temporarily. Disgusting behavior! When we first got to Sun Island, we thought the ecosystem must be very healthy due to the number of sharks we saw. However, we then realized there were so many because they were being fed nightly. That is a terrible practice and actually harms the sharks and the ecosystem. They should stop doing this. The staff, especially the cleaning staff, were very helpful and kind. We had a great stay and hope to return some day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HongKong

inefficient management

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Big island
Cons: Operation efficiency should be improved by replacing most of the manual paper based process to computerize process.
Location: Can take ferry to nearby island for free
Waiting long time to check-in (almost 1 hr), change room (1+ hr), enter restaurant (10+ mins). Wasting lots of our valuable time. Found hotel are using paper based process to record everything for such large property with over 100 rooms. What a mess !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Great experience near the paradise

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Staff, beaches, pool, facilities, ... everything.
Cons: I really don´t know
Location: the location is beautiful, wonderful, close to be Paradise. White sands, turquoise sea, perfect water temperature, nice weather
all our stay was good and there are no complaints. the staff was always very friendly and helpful a small complaint : just small delays to send the buggy to the room. the rest was perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

amazing Island!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
The islands themselves are amazing to see never seen such unique beaches anywhere in the world but the hotel itself was definitely not a five-star. The food was extremely overpriced and was average tasting at best the staff were not that friendly and the service was definitely only a 2 to 3 star. The housekeeping did not do a very good job cleaning the rooms they only made the bed each day and never restart the fridge I would expect more from a five-star resort especially at the prices they are charging even if it is remote. Still glad that I experienced it but I would probably look at other resorts over this one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort Island

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Secluded, prestine... a pleasure to stay. lots of activities and relatively affordable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An excellent hotel with friendly staffs and good f

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Comfortable stay throughout the nights. Activities were well planned by the hotel and unexpectedly good service. Truly an amazing hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manohar from Bengaluru, India

Nice water villa

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: since it is our first stay in maldives everything was good to us.
Location: The island is big enough to do cycling and mostly water sports (jet skiing, paracyling, canoeing, banna boat etc) are available.
It was our first stay in an island. And we stayed in a water villa for 2 nights. Stay was very nice. Room was good. The first advantage of water villa we felt was we can do snorkelling just underneath/next to the villa (something like private).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isis from Abuja, Nigeria

Nice resort with activities for everyone

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Sun Island resort and spa is very beautiful and HUGE! The staff there are very friendly and helpful. I booked the standard room beachside, our room overlooked the beach. The resort organised activities for everyone which I found very exciting especially the stingray feeding. I was there with 7 friends and we all had an amazing time. The only issue we faced in our room 480 was the air conditioning wasn't working properly, but it was fixed before we left. It's a resort for everybody, not just couples.
3 out of 5
by Elena from Moscow, Russia

nice but not more

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Nature and sports activities, beaches and stingray feeding.
Cons: All equipment and furniture. Bycicles are not working properly!!!
Location: Feed sharks and stingrays - really interesting. All other excursions - waste of time and money. Snorkling and diving are highly recommended
The hotel is situated 20 min flight from Male. We stayed there 8 days from 2 to 9 of January 2014. Ocean veiw villa, but not superior. The room is small and the firniture is really old. TV i guess more than 10 years old. 5 restaurants in the island -the best is Coffe Shop, others are good for one time. Waiters are very slow and sometimes rude, but you have no choice (10% service charge is obligatory). Water activities and diving centre are very good, but snorkling equipment need to be renovated. Ocean is great, beaches are perfect and the weather was great. In general we had nice vacation, but next time I will choose another hotel.