Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Amazing hotel with great facilities. The Deep end Restaurant is exceptional. We had dinner there several times (order their king lobster - it's to die for). Only issue we faced was with the dining. The chefs are not native to the Maldives and seemed to mess up every order we placed (pizza, burgers, etc.) The only decent place to eat is at Deep End in the opinion. Be SURE to ask for Mohammed - HE WAS AMAZING. WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO ENSURE WE WERE HAPPY.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear AlTwegieri, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and loved your dining experience at the Deep End. I have shared your feedback with our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. Also, we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback which I communicated with our Executive Chef who will address the matter. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Wonderful hotel in the maldives !

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the ambience of the resort ! We had a wonderful water villa with a wonderful pool . Incredible experience at the maldives !
Cons: The staff should be trained more how to service the guests even better . This hotel is for me a bit sad, too quiet .
Location: nice location around 25 Minutes from the aiport of Male by speedboat !
This a nice comfortable very quiet hotel in the maldives ! For me this resort a bit sad and sleepy resort , not real life there , only beautiful location and ambience . Not real activities and everything very expensive as a pizza for example USD 62,- including 2 drinks ! :) Bu this is the maldives, if you want to have luxury holiday you need simple accept these prices, since they import amost evertyhing .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Frankie, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the ambience and our water villa. I have shared your feedback with our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. Also, we have taken note of your suggestions which we will definitely look at it. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best resort hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: I would rate the service has been the standout performer although almost every other aspect was pretty good too
Cons: Perhaps a bigger private pool
One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Service and the stay have been nothing short of being spectacular. The accommodation, access to beach, the food and the staff have all been excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Rajan, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great Property but disappointing service

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Below is the sequence of events which lead to my issue. 1) I booked Taj Exotica Maldives on 6th of Jan 2016 for 4 nights as two separate bookings (refer to screenshots in the attachment) 2) The booking said that I can pay at the property and I assumed that my credit card will not be charged. 3) I was charged by Taj Exotica Maldives on 1st of Feb 2017 for both the bookings (refer to screenshots in the attachment) 4) I called Taj Exotica on 16th or 17th of Feb 2017 to reverse the card charges, Someone from Taj Exotica Maldives accounts desk confirmed that the accounts will be reversed. 5) Taj Exotica Maldives DID NOT reverse the charges are I understand this on my arrival to Taj Exotica Maldives on 15th of March 2017. 6) Taj Exotica Maldives promises to reverse the charges promptly on 15th Mar and the charges were reversed on 18th March 2017 7) The reversal of charges result into a loss approx 450 SGD !!!! (refer to screenshots in the attachment for difference in credit and debit amounts) 8) On top of it, my bank has charged me 271 SGD penalty fee for not paying the bill. This is on account of error in not processing my request when I had called (refer to point 4 above) Questions: 1) Who will reimburse me the losses? 2) The USD - SGD FX rate has not fluctuated so much between Feb 1 and Mar 18 for me to lose so much money on FX? This is really disappointing and I expected better service from a reputed 5 star hotel like Taj Exotica.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am saddened to read of your feedback and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you of this incident. Our Reservation team is in direct contact with you and explained to you all the matters regarding your concerns. We are working with Expedia on the wordings in the website to avoid the miscommunication in the future. The amount was refunded to your card and no bank charges were incurred from our side. Please feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you if you have any further questions and concerns. Thank you for choosing Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives! Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and calm resort

Posted Apr 2, 2017
From the moment you land you will be greeted by the hotel staff holding your name sign at the exit of terminal, he will escort you to the boat that will take you to the resort which is a 15 mins trip (one of the closest to male main island and airport). When we arrived the staff received us with drums and seashells welcoming necklace and drives us directly to the room and do the check in there which we found very convenient. The resort amenities and staff are superb, the beach is so clean and clear, the night housekeeping service always add a touch of romance through fruits basket, complementary desert or flowers. However, food could be a challenge to those ppl who don't like Asian food as the menu has very few international dishes, not to mention the extremely high prices which i still don't understand why, but whenever we had an issue with food the restaurant manger makes it right for us. The trips and excursions prices were also very high, quite discouraging to actually participate in! One thing I didn't quite like is the wifi speed, wifi was complementary but it was the basic package but then they upgraded me and was fine after.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with our entire team at the resort. Regarding the prices, we would like to share with you that being in Maldives, where almost all commodities have to be imported and air freighted and Tourism is almost the only source of income for the country, resorts and its services attract high custom import duties. Hence you will find the prices are higher than most other parts of the world. However, I would like to assure you that our products and services are priced at par with other five star luxury resorts in Maldives and we still constantly endeavor to see how we can give highest and best quality products at best prices by bringing in cost efficiencies. Also, thank you for the constructive feedback which I have communicated with our Executive Chef who will relook at the same. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great island with great people

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We had a great time- 4th time we visited this hotel because of island specifics, service and the perfect breakfast (a la carte and with the feet in the sand)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay for couples

Posted Mar 1, 2017
We just visited here for one night and are very impressed by the wonderful resort. Everything is perfect and you can notice all facilities are designed in consideration of details. You will enjoy privacy in the room and the room with swimming pool is amazing for us. Staff are very nice and they are good at noticed and satisfied your request , and I would like to thank all the staff there especially our butler Nadin,(hope I didn't spell wrong)he helped me find nice place near the villa for snorkeling,and also Guest relations Tiffany who comes from China she specially prepared Chinese welcome letter for me which make me feel like a VIP,and JP the chef make wonderful Japanese grilled food for me. Thank you for creating such perfect experience for us and we will always remember the memory we spent there. 我们在此度过了短暂的一晚,并被酒店优美的环境打动,你能感受到酒店的设施和设计处处都考虑到细节。在房间内你拥有极度的安全感和隐私权。这里的员工都特别热情并能及时关注和满足你的需求,特别感谢所有员工提供的热情服务,尤其是我们的管家nadin(但愿我没拼错他的名字)他帮助我在水屋附近找到好的浮潜地点,前台的客户关系来自中国的Tiffany为我精心准备了中文的欢迎信和介绍了酒店的详细信息,让我感觉宾至如归,厨师JP为我准备了特别棒的日式烧烤料理。感谢你们为我们创造了完美的度假体验,我们将永远记住这美好的回忆。
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and our team exceeded your expectations in all aspects. I have shared your feedback with Nadin, Tiffany, JP and our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. We are all looking forward to your next visit for a longer period to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best serviced hotel in the world

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Adam and mohamad u were great thx for everything and thanks for all the staff who made it the most amazing 5 days
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with Mohamed, Adam and our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maine

Unparalleled getaway experience

Posted Feb 19, 2017
While it was a long way to travel (from Maine, USA), the trip was definitely what we had hoped for. The setting was beautiful in the way that tropical atolls can be. The resort has taken great care in having luxurious accommodations blend into the natural environment so as not to detract or compete. The staff is exceptionally well trained and the communication between all aspects of the staff for the sole purpose of our enjoyment was exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Vishal, Hotel Management
Dear Douglas, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and our team exceeded your expectations in all aspects. I have shared your feedback with our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

The Most Beautiful Beach Destination!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Have 'adults only' areas within the resort.
Location: Water Sports
The Maldives is the most beautiful beach destination that I have been YET (after 125 countries!). The Taj was incredible, I loved the Villa, the island, the perfect weather, the sunrise/sunset, and the amazing people servicing the guests. Our Butler 'Ali' was simply wonderful to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Vishal Singh, Hotel Management
Dear CDS, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with Ali and our entire team. It is feedback such as yours that inspires the team and me to constantly strive for excellence and to make sure that our guests leave the island with fond memories. We are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Taj Exotica Resort & Spa for another memorable holiday. If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know. Warm regards, Vishal Singh General Manager Taj Exotica Resort & Spa, Maldives