Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max from Moscow, Russia

Good hotel for this money

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Expensive transfer from airport - 303 Euro per person. 70% - guests from Italy. Nice, cosy. Poor food, but it's normal for AI. No seafood, only fish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam and Myer from Saudi

Perfect relaxing getaway.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Simplistic, but had everything you needed. Very enviromentally friendly.
Cons: I think there should be some where that tells you that there are no hotel products only soap. Also basic necessity like water should be free.
Location: Location is perfect, a good plane ride away so you get to see the reefs. Good boat trips to sand bars, great snorkeling and local interests.
We couldn't have wanted for anything else. It was very basic but clean. It was simple which made the stay very relaxed. No shoes required. Food was excellent buffet style. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The Island is clean and has perfect clear water full of wild life. No need to snorkel! A great place to totally unwind, relax and if you want to be part of the activies you are always welcome. Highlights were seeing the sharks and stingrays so close at feeding time. An event not to be missed. The staff who run the trips know their environment and are extremely informative and helpful. they obviously love their job and their surrounds and it shows. It is a place that would suit all those in need of a get away from relality. A must to have a good supply of books. I would even say a good place to study. No distractions , just the sound of the ocean.
3 out of 5
by Paulo from Denmark

‘Little Italy in the Maldives’

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels
Briefly, we would just like to point out that overall the Resort was nice, but did not live up to our initial expectations; in particular the fact that it was truly ‘Little Italy’ Maldivian style…don’t get me wrong, we Love Italy, but to be ‘overwhelmed’ with an ‘Italian animation team’ and atmosphere throughout ’ the day is not quite what we were expecting to find in the Maldives (…); the food was ok, but again predominantly Italian…but obviously not as good as in Italy. Finally, the ‘all inclusive’ concept is short of a few things, e.g. a bottle of plain and simple purified water will cost you USD$4,5 – which to be honest, we found a bit ‘over the edge’.
1 out of 5
by James from Europe

horrible italian attitude

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: The fact that was one by the british before and they made it cool.
Cons: Italian attitude- lack of respect and the worst food I ever had or experienced in a hotel
Location: The island is nice, they should get rid of that 100 parrots in the cage They should treat nicer teh maldivian staff that are working like slaves
Food is awful and the same all week. Milk is poweder milk and only filter coffee. Natural Juices or cocktails made with the cheapest concentrate juice. No croissants no morning delights or nibbles , they serve biscuits and pastries that are NOT fresh (the ones that one buys from supermarket in plastic bags)and they don dont have bread in the morning (only the italian type that is with sugrar and is yellow) Salads and fruits are not fresh , they have no taste. Are brought from bangladesh at the cheapest price possible but they are never tasty or fresh. Is like a one star hotel charging the price of a 5 star hotel. The little shop is expensive - sun lotion was 65 $
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cristian from Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

One of the most relaxing trips I've done

Posted Feb 14, 2013
Pros: Beautiful island. Perfect scale, not a huge number of people nor secluded.
Cons: Being all inclusive they charge for some extras, i.e: Imported licquor, that is OK for me but they charge for bottled water that I consider a basic.
Location: Medium to small island, white sand, great vegetation, tranquil waters to do some snorkeling.
European style resort (Italian Management) very nice island, quiet and relaxing. Great if you want to unwind in an non pretentious surrounding, read a book, relax, do some snorkeling and get a lot of sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Beautiful small island - our beach villa was 30m from the sea lagoon and maybe another 30m from a fab. coral reef. White soft sand and clear, warm, clean sea full of beautiful fish - close to paradise! Italian owned and run - we were 2 of the 4 Brits. there - the rest of the clients mostly Italian. Great (Italian) food - pasta, fish, meat, salads and fresh fruit. Very relaxed and chilled, shoes not required...but with all mod cons - good A/C - our beach room had a large, smart bathroom with twin showers and sinks and a firm but comfy king size bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mohamed from Cardiff

I recommend this Great place to everyone.

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Diving centre, resturant
Cons: Internet
Location: Perfect
My wife and me spent our honeymoon at this lovely resort, very nice place to spend a honeymoon in, delicious food with a lot of choices from seafood, chicken, lamb to vigitarian food. The staff were amazing especially the diving team and the resturant staff. All were helpful throughout our stay. They have been very welcoming. Rooms cleaned twice a day, towels changed in the morning and you can have clean ones as many as you want in the main reception. The internet is not free, we had to pay 12.5 $ per hour which i think is negative point at this resort. Otherwise every thing seems to be perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by simone e milena from London, UK

great food and great location!

Posted May 6, 2012
great food (for italians!) great island and atmosphere our daughters (aged 3 and 7) loved it too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Squaw Valley CA

Maayafushi Resort Maldives

Posted Feb 2, 2012 on Hotels
This was a last minute trip without much research. Maayafushi Resort is Italian owned and full of Europeans. As we had to eat every meal at our pre-assigned table for two, it was difficult to meet others. The only people we talked to were a Japanese couple we met snorkeling. The snorkeling is super, both on trips to other reefs and right by the hotel And that is why we were there! We were slightly overcharged for our snorkeling trips and couldn't find anyone who spoke enough English to straighten it out at checkout.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
We had a great 5 days here at the end of November. The weather was changeable but that did not stop us exploring the reef inside and out and going on expeditions to other reefs. Super fish; 5ft sting ray inside the reef with 4ft reef sharks too! My feet were attacked by a 3inch blue and yellow fish who thought I was invading his privacy! The food was of very good quality and variety and beer and wine at dinner included were just fine.The bar area was lovely and the choice of included drinks more than adequate. The room was kept beautifully clean with new towels daily. Most of the guests were Italian and lively and friendly. The only time when we felt that a lack of understanding Italian detracted from our enjoyment was during some of the excursions.