Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stefano from London

Fantastic location and top diving center!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Maayafushi is a wonderful little island located in Ari Atoll. The hotel offers a modern 4 star accomodation. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant is good, mainly italian cuisine, although sometimes it lacks of variety. But still much better than average. The local diving center is a considerable plus. Jessica, Modu and all of the staff are a real treat, as they guarantee extraordinary experience and attentive care to guests and fellow divers, as well as thourough knowledge of the best diving spots in the area. Would higly recommend to all of my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Relaxed & friendly, great food & lovely island

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Everything we wanted from the Maldives. Lovely island resort, tiny island and very friendly atmosphere. Diving was superb, great staff and very knowledgeable. Snorkelling on the beach reef was amazing, so close and so many fish to see. Food was bountiful, varied and faultless, from French patisseries for breakfast to freshly caught fish, Maldavian salads and Thai curries for lunch and dinner. Evening entertainment in the bar is relaxed and not too intrusive. Highly recommended, we loved it here.
4 out of 5
by Andrey from Moscow

Maayafushi stay

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Italian management, Italian animation, majority of guests are also Italians. Room which we got was very basic and didn't match the price paid for the accommodation. Only one restaurant. Extremely expensive Internet. But Maldives are Maldives - fantastic reef - ideal for snorkeling and very good diving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Great getaway to paradise island.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Everything! On ocean front. No shoes required. Calm, peaceful, quiet, romantic, food, staff, wine selection.
Cons: Better snacks in between meals. A restaurant where you can buy food. We were getting up late and missed breakfast on more than one occasion.
Location: Snorkeling and diving. Hanging on the beach, relaxing.
Great getaway for a long weekend from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Felt as if I was on paradise island. The diving was great as well as snorkeling; great reef onsite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Neil from Reading, UK

Small, quiet and friendly island, great house reef

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Small, friendly with no request a problem. Very accommodating.
Cons: Being an Italian resort, non Italian speakers are somewhat isolated. Constantly signing for drinks on an all inclusive package is annoying.
Location: 25 minute flight from Male, on the western side of the Ari Atoll. Daily excursions by dhoni to neighbouring islands plus a half day Manta Ray trip
Perfect Maldivian retreat and ideal for snorkeling with the house reef a short swim from the beach. The Beach Room was ideal looking out onto the ocean, and on the cool side of the island. Ticked all the boxes for us. Beware - drinking water has to be purchased at $4.50 per bottle unless you take a glass at a time from the bars. Not mentioned in any of the resort details.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
Everything is fine!
4 out of 5
by Tommy from Stockholm, Sweden

Very good but has room for improvement

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels
Spectacular nature, fantastic beach and wonderful water. The room was satisfactory but had a couple of flaws. 1. The bed was hard like a rock. I am an accustom traveler but this is the hardest bed I ever met. We both had bruises in the mornings. 2. The sound carried between the rooms to an extent that it was like being in the same apartment as the neighbouring family. 3. We had an incident where the Hotel soap contained LOTS of rotten flies. We asked about the strange smell first and they promised to do something about it. It was not until we managed to get the dead flies on our hands that we realised what it was. I was sick when I opened the soap container and saw what it was. We were compensated with a bottle of Champaign after requesting compensation. Not what I expect from a 4.6 star rated stay. (These were small things that are easy to do something about.) These problem was dwarfed by the paradise of an island. In all we had a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by Grace from Italy

No Privacy

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
The service and the location of the hotel are very good, but this little island has too many rooms so there is no privacy.The all inclusive service is very good but it could be better if in the future it will include a bottle of water per day per room, infact now all the beverages are per glass.
3 out of 5
by John from Canada

Good hotel, but caters primarily to Italians

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels
Maayafushi is a good resort, situated on a private island, surrounded by beautiful coral reefs and crystal clear waters. The amenities are good and they offer a wide range of inclusive, as well as "pay" activities such as diving and snorkeling - which I highly recommend, given the level of professionalism and enthusiasm that the staff display. The only negative (if you consider it as one) is that the resort seems to cater to Italians. The majority of the evening entertainment (games, plays, movies, Etc) are in Italian and as is the food, which I would say is 70% Italian (pasta, salads and cured meats), 15% Maldivian and 15% as other.