Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Poor service and arrangements. Not worth it

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Cons: service, staff training
I just came back from W Maldives this morning with my sister. it was a girls getaway of 3 nights in Ocean Oasis and we were totally feeling disappointed on W on their poor service and arrangements. We won't come back again and only would recommend others to try other hotels like Four Seasons that always provides top- notch service. Poor Seaplane arrangement: We got night flights and we had to stayed at Male for 1 night. We have been emailing W our flights details 2 weeks ahead and try to have them arrange early check in for us and notify us our seaplane schedule. However, W retreat only told us they wouldn't know the seaplane schedule till 1day before our check- in day. We sent another email right before we got on the plane to ask them to notify our seaplane departure time to the hotel we staying at Male, and they didn't. When we check in at Hulhule Island Hotel, the hotel staff there helped us to check with W retreat by a call and finally know our early morning seaplane departure time. Upon arrival: when we arrived W around 9 nish, there was a nice Korean lady showing us around. we won't remember staff's name since they don't have name tag on. We decided to try Away Spa, it was nice but not cheap just like everything else in this hotel, $522 for two. However, the spa has poor privacy since they only have open shower on the deck and there were two persons snorkeling in front of our spa villa. The sweet spots are kind of a joke while ice creams melted quickly and I threw aw
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jakarta, indonesia

Nice hotel with a very beautiful view

Posted Jun 30, 2014
It was an awesome trip to maldives and stay at such a nice hotel like W....d staff are friendly....d surrounding area are beautiful.....d activites are fun.....worth d price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by abdulelah from B

best escape

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Location: requires seaplane as its down south of main island, but local island near by can be visited by boat a tour, or the private island for more fun
Enjoyed best 6 days of my life in this resort, really impressive for the moment of arrival with my wife. Staff welcoming, friendly, and informative. Room and facilities all clean and well organized. SPA had very good hands ! Restaurants and bars having good variety menus and delicious items.. plus u can make wish for whatever u want if not in the menu. we liked relaxing here and there, but the daily activities were very attractive, so we do at least 2 a day and never get enough :D
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Hotel. Service is hit and miss

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Nice modern hotel. Most of the staffs are good but a few of them need more training for sure. The seafood buffet at Fire is good, but not so much variety. One of the cook go out his way to cook us a plate of scallops that make us feel very special. Waiters at the Fish is not so attentive at all. Some of the buggies drivers are driving a bit too fast. No water or cold towel is served to you at the pool side, but you still can get it from the booth close by. Overall, the hotel is 5 star, service is about 4 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by SheratonMaldives, Hotel Management
Hello Jason, Thank you for choosing W for your holiday in the Maldives, I believe that our Director of Operations has already been in touch with you in regards to your comments. Once again we would like to apologize for not entirely matching your expectations. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again soon. Jennifer Buhr, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holidays

Posted Mar 21, 2013
Great place to stay. Rooms fantastic. Good for snorkelling and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise on earth, but get ready to pay for it

Posted Jun 25, 2012
For our honeymoon, my husband and I spent 5 days at the W. It was paradise on earth; the beaches were pristine, the water activities were amazing, and the food was really incredible. The W really comes through with the customer service; one night my husband and I came home to find housekeeping had arranged rose petals in a heart shape on our bed and lit candles in our bathroom. We also received a free welcome bottle of champagne upon checking in, a nice perk for honeymooners. I know this is probably unavoidable to an extent since this is an island in the middle of the Indian ocean, but the biggest drawbacks were the prices. Everything is imported, and you definitely pay for the plane ticket your meal rode in on. For example, a bottle of Finlandia vodka that would normally cost $15 in the US costs $100. Since you are prohibited from bringing alcohol into the Maldives, that duty free liquor you brought with you will get trashed at the airport. Every meal cost a minimum of $100, and really nice dinners at Fish can easily cost $300. One couple we met splurged for the 4 course dinner at Coral and they spent $700! You've really got to pay to play here; a 60 minute scuba dive costs $180/pp. The upside is that you can use the resorts water equipment for free. Overall it was a great honeymoon, but a week in the ocean oasis villa, plus food and transportation from Dubai ended up costing us about $10K. This resort isn't for the frugal, but if you've got it, its worth spending here.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your comments, it's great to hear that you had a memorable honeymoon at W Maldives. As you mentioned in your comment about prices, we are facing challenges for being an isolated island in the middle of the Indian Ocean - however we make sure to offer a product that is value for money. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back for your fiest anniversary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Improvement in service

Posted Feb 22, 2012
Pros: Water villa
We stayed for a day in the water villa and was amazed by the property instantly. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful "except" for a few that have got really bad attitude.We really hope W could do more with training of the staff as it carries the Legendary Starwood name. Other than that everything is perfect, perfect retreat to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
thanks for staying with us - it's great to read that you enjoyed your W experience. I hope that your travels bring you back to W Maldives again in the near future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Teacher from Qatar

Luxury

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Quiet and clean
Cons: Activities
Location: Maldived
A very beautiful, quiet, clean and luxorioushotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your W Maldives experience on Expedia. Let us know when you need to escape the real world again - we are looking forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UAE

Very good hotel in a paradise but food not so good

Posted May 24, 2011
The hotel itself is a clearly WOW. It' s on its own island which is a real paradise for divers, snorkelers and swimmers. Only the hotel restaurants are not so good at all. The best restaurant is clearly FIRE, the other two are just mediocre while FISH is clearly not recommendable at all. The waiters there are not attentive and don't execute the orders as given and the food was also not worth the price and not well. Here they need clear improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yokohama

みな きょうだい ?

Posted May 22, 2016
海、食事、景色、サーピス 申し分のないモルディブを満喫できました。5泊の内、3泊を水上ヴィラを利用しましたが、どちらもお部屋から海まで3mなので、どちらに宿泊しても遜色ありません。 SPA付近の海中は美しく、お部屋を選ぶなら、その近くをお勧めします。 滞在中日本人は私だけなせいか、すれ違うスタッフみんなから名前で呼ばれ英語の苦手な私直ぐにも打ち解け寛げます。 この時期、半数ほどが中国人客でここは中国?かと驚きましたが、マナーも良くみなさんスマートです。 振り返れば、世界の人口分布通りの客層。みな対等が実感できました。 最後にFishのマリさん。全ての食事のチョイスをお任せしましたが、連日趣向を凝らし満足いくものでした。ありがとうございましたw