Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Great general manager- Rest of the staff, awful.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
It's hard to narrow it down to 50 characters. We were forgotten to be picked up at the airport, then when we called, we were told we would be charged per person each way. This, all after my mom set up our ride months in advance with the hotel and a fee was never told to us. Then the staff was incredibly rude and not helpful what so ever. Half the options on the bar menu they were "out" of. Collin, the manager was wonderful and made up for the ride mistake by sending us on an elephant excursion. He is the only positive of the hotel. The dinners buffet was also pretty good and the food was tasty. The safaris were wonderful but those aren't associated with the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simons Town SA

Lovely location

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: day to day, week to week and month to month maintenance
Location: The Kruger National Park is the draw
The accommodation seems to be in decline - no plug for the sink TV not working properly - blind missing etc., It seems that the day to day maintenance isn't being addressed so therefore 'little things' become bigger problems
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Dias, Hotel Management
Dear Dido, We would like to thank you the time you spent to sharing with us your experience. We work daily in the continuous search for improvement of our services and it’s with the feedback from our customers that we can see if we are on the “right track” or not. Our commitment is to make all our guests feel at home and want to return. So, we expect to welcome you again at the Pestana Kruger or at another Pestana Hotel. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Experience

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Organization
Location: Location is perfect
Making a long story short.....we arrived at the hotel at 5:30 pm with two children`s (3 and 8 years old) after driving for 5 hours. They didn`t have our reservation, by mistake they booked our reservation for December not November. We had booked 2 family rooms but the hotel had all the family rooms occupied, only standard rooms available, so after a long wait and phone calls they put us in two standard rooms. Not a good experience, they are not organized, the hotel has the perfect location but its not enough.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Rooms dated, didn't look clean, turned on lights in the morning and threw the breaker, 2 prong outlet didn't work. Dinner was a low quality buffet. For what you get the price is not worth it. The staff were good and well located to Malelane Gate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

We waiting for refund as we never stayed, room was

Posted May 5, 2015
Cons: We went to hotel but did not stay the room was too smal we still waiting to be reimbursed by the hotel, The receptionist and many many calls later we
Location: still have got our money back, Please assist in getting money refunded for no stay
the front desk promised a refund, to date we don't have it, we have since emailed and have contacted manager by phone, we still waiting, this is unacceptable, The stay was Oct 2014 its now May 2015. Someone please assist
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel overlooking river!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pestana was amazing! Super beautiful room overlooking river. Elephants were grazing under my balcony on the first day and I could see hippos and crocs each day in the river. Right outside of the Malelane gate, perfect location. Would recommend!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fine hotel, shabby round the edges

Posted Oct 13, 2014
This hotel is fine-nothing more. The staff are quite friendly and the food on the whole is quite good. Our room really stunk of farm yard, i grew up on a farm so it was bearable but not what you want on holiday. The swimming pool is very dirty. The river gives off a very pungent smell most evenings which can be most off putting, the hotel is clean but all in all I wouldn't recommend to a friend unless nowhere else is available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Biz Traveller from SFO BAY AREA

Nice hotel, next to entrance to Kruger Park.

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Great location
Cons: Meals could be improved significantly. Limited variety of food on the menu each night.
Location: Location is 5 minutes by car to entrance of Kruger Park Malelane Gate
The hotel is located 5 minutes drive from Kruger National Park's southern entrance. Great location for game viewing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing special for a Pestana

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and landscape
Cons: Service and dinner
Location: Kruger park
Dinner was nothing special and the room was rather basic for a Pestana hotel. Breakfast was good, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gabriel from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Good choice!

Posted Jun 11, 2008
The Pestana Kruger Lodge is strategically located at one of Kruger's Gate (Malelane). The rooms are very comfortable and the place as a whole is tidy and pretty (although the heated pool was out of order during the winter). Restaurant prices and food are good and the view to the Park is simply fantastic. In several occasions we had breakfast or lunch watching elefants and hyppos freely walking just in front of us (some of them we could not even find in the safaris). Room fares are ok.