Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from midlands

should be more than 3*

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: The outside space is especially pleasant, everywhere so clean, attractive with all the facilities you could want
Cons: A hand rail on the staircase of the building we were in would have been useful.
Location: Near the attractive old town. A trip to the leper island of Spinalonga was a real highlight.
on arrival we were shown to a newly refurbished room where there was free bottles of water and wine by friendly members of the family. Ours was not a spacious studio but it had everything we needed and over our stay it was cleaned daily. The free buffet breakfast had plenty of variety and was served in the immaculate pool bar, a lovely start to the day. The pool (which is an optical illusion when viewed from above) and its surroundings are superb. spacious, plenty of sunbeds and not closed in by buildings which makes it a restful place. It is quite a distance from the beach but close in the very attractive old town. We would choose this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridlington

Quiet Hotel in Malia Old Town

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Good location in Malia Old Town - rooms average - beds low and quite uncomfortable - excellent buffet breakfast - was told check out time was 10am and not 12 noon as stated when I booked - this upset quite a few other guests . Food and drink quite expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 18, 2015
I personally did not enjoy the Malia area as it was too touristy and lots of heavy partying area. However, I would definitely recommend this hotel as it was one of the best in the Malia area if you are staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A gem of a find

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the rooms were lovely with a lovely mountain views. The pool area is also very nice and there were plenty of sunbeds
Cons: It would have been good to have a baby pool as my daughter is 5 and can't swim. It would also have been good to have a microwave in the room.
Location: Near to local taverna's, beach and mountains. A 10 minute walk to the madness of Malia if that is what you want.
We've just arrived back from a 10 day stay at the Kristalli. I was very dubious about staying so near to Malia but my worries were unfounded. This is a family run business and they are all absolutely lovely- I can't praise them enough. They are all friendly and helpful and the hotel is quiet set in Old Malia, not far from the madness of Malia if that's what you want. We didn't and there were lovely taverna's near by and only a few minutes drive away you are in the tranquil mountain setting with picturesque villages, monastries and caves. There are beaches nearby and the best one we went to is Potamos beach which is quiet and sandy with clear blue water. This is about a 10/15 minute walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly, accommodating staff

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff, reasonable price.
Location: Near Malia old town, which has a number of picturesque tavernas, and pretty churches. Reasonable walking distance to the clubs and bars.
I was staying on my own as part of a wedding party spread over various hotels. As such I was in and out of the Kristalli at odd times, which was always handled well - on my first night I checked in at 4am with a friendly welcome and no problems. The staff were always on hand, especially at breakfast, or around the pool bar if I needed food, drinks, or a taxi. The food from the pool bar was very good, and the hotel grounds were well-kept. My room was fairly simple, but clean. The other guests were mostly couples and families who were well-behaved and friendly. On-site parking is also available if you need to hire a car. But it was a short walk to the beautiful Malia old town (around 7 minutes if you know where you're going) and it's certainly possible to walk or take a taxi to the beach or bars and clubs on the main strip. Thank you George and Katerina for a lovely relaxing holiday. This is a very nice little family-run hotel if you want somewhere fairly quiet near the old town but with access to the nightlife.
4 out of 5
by Abraham from Israel

Wonderfull appartments, not easy to get to.

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 1 night and got very nice and comfort appartment. The view is fantastic and the room is very comfortable. Need to improve the signs from the main road to the location. The way from the main road to the locations is a little bit hard to drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing service

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Lovely family run hotel, good size pool and amazing food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 9, 2014
We were brought this for our honeymoon as a surprise. It was absolutely lovely. Staff really nice would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Anon

friendly hosts

Posted May 17, 2012 on Hotels
Although we didnt particurlarly like Malia we really loved our accommodation. We got off the bus and asked some locals where the hotel is and turned out we were asking the night security guard from the hotel and he kindly offered us a lift. We checked in and had our room upgraded and free bottle of wine waiting in the room on arrival which was a nice touch. As Malia is orientated toward british party goers the breakfast at the hotel was catered towards them but was still very good and reasonably priced. The hosts were fantastic, very friendly and a good laugh at the bar. This hotel is great value for money and would reccomend to anyone staying in Malia. If only it was in a nicer part of Crete!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Super Lage, sehr freundliche Besitzer

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Beide Appartments waren wie neu renoviert und boten je zwei Personen genügend Platz. Schöne kleine private Terrassen vor den Ap. Wunderbares Frühstück am Pool mit viel Obst und Griechischem Yoghurt, verschieden Eiern jeden Tag, div. Broten, Müsli, Käse, Wurst, und wechselndem süßen Gebäck. Zu Fuß kann man die nette Altstadt schnell erreichen. Kleines Geschäft gleich in der Nähe, Parkplatz direkt an der Anlage. Unbedingt zu Tabepna Milos Essen gehen (bitte reservieren, ist immer voll) und zu Nostimo beide ganz wunderbare Restaurants. Unser Zimmer befand sich im Innenhof, das der Kinder zur Straßenseite, aber sie haben nie über Lärm geklagt. Die gesamte Anlage wurde ständig gereinigt und das Personal war stets freundlich und zurückhaltend um einen nicht zu stören. Auf jeden Fall sehr empfehlenswert. An der Hauptstraße verkaufen ältere Damen Bananen aus ihrem Garten, die schmecken viel besser, als wir sie je im Supermarkt bekommen.