Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
4 Tage Aufenthalt ! Alles perfekt für einen Kurztrip
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Geen aanrader

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Kamers werden niet goed schoon gemaakt. Vuile handdoeken met lijm klodders werden als schoon gehangen. Er was niet eens douche schuim of shampoo in de badkamer. Elke avond uit eten geweest zegt ook al genoeg! Één voordeel hotel lag aan het strand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, I would like to apologize for not replaying your comments in your language as unfortunately I do not speak Dutch. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Barcelo’ Ponent Playa. Your feedback and suggestions help us to improve our service. We deeply regret that we did not live up your expectations. We are constantly working to give the best possible service. We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused with your room and we will inform the correspondent department and look into the issues in more detail. We follow a three-star standard cleanliness routine. We are sure that if the inconvenience was comunicated to our staff they would solved as soon as possible. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location. We hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday in our more than 100 hotels in 19 different destinations. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Hotel muy bien situado pero antiguo y algo basico

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Positivo: muy buena situacion esta al lado del centro de cala d'or, ideal para pasear por la noche, la cala del hotel esta genial, agua muy limpia, duchas, hamacas, bar del hotel y chiringuitos. El aparcamiento fuera del hotel dando un par de vueltas no es tan complicado. Negativo: Basicamente el hotel necesita una reforma, esta anticuado. La comida en el desayuno es aceptable, la cena podria tener algo mas de calidad y variedad, he estado en otros hoteles de 3 estrellas y en estecaso la comida no era buena. La limpieza de la habitacion es bastante escasa, hacer la cama y poco mas y en nuestro caso la habitacion no estaba hecha hasta las 16:00/17:00 de la tarde dependiendo del dia. Resumiendo es un hotel que con una pequeña reforma, algo mas de personal de limpieza y mejorando un poco el buffet/comida seria otra cosa. Para ser un 3 estrellas necesita mejorar ciertos aspectos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Estimado Albert, ante todo le agradecemos el tiempo dedicado en compartir su experiencia en nuestro hotel Barceló Ponent Playa con el resto de usuarios. Hemos tomado nota de sus indicaciones para mejorar nuestra calidad y servicio. Nuestro buffet tiene una rueda de menu de 14 dias para ofrecer variedad de platos en buffet y cocina en vivo. En cuanto a la limpieza de la habitación hemos transmitido su comentario al departamento oportuno para que lo tengan en cuenta y no se repita. Nos complace saber sin embargo que disfrutó de nuestra localización y esperamos poder recibirle de nuevo en un futuro y poder mostrarle algunos cambios. Saludos cordiales, Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT VERY ORGANISED

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The food for a 3 star was good.
Cons: Need to keep their emails and confirmations for additions that have been organised by them. Need far more sunloungers for the size of the hotel.
Location: Some good boat trips out of the marina which is only about a 25 minute walk away.
We had a weeks stay at the hotel in the first week of the school holidays. The sunloungers to the hotel by beach side are an extra and there are not many and you would be very lucky to get one! The sunloungers around the pool - people queue for up to an hour before opening time to get the few available. You have to pay for the sunloungers on the beach and the beach gets very full. To be honest the hotel does not have the availability to enjoy a beach hotel with so few bathing areas. I telephoned and emailed in advanced to add another person to a room and also to book taxis from and to airport. They confirmed that this had all been done. On arrival at midnight unfortunately the room was not set up for the 3rd person, although this was sorted quite quickly. We were picked up fine from the airport, but on confirming the day before we left that the taxi was still all OK, they had lost all information. Later that day they did sort this problem out and confirmed a taxi was indeed organised. On the day we left the taxi did not show! We then had a very frantic end to our holiday in trying to sort this problem out, only getting to the airport just in time and to be honest this ruined the end to what should have been a relaxing time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like thank you for sharing your experience at Barceló Ponent Playa. We deeply regret that we did not live up your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay and with your pick up transfer. We will inform the correspondent department to look into more details. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and truly hope that despite some complaints you got to enjoy the relaxing holiday you deserve. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future and show your some changes. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

vacaciones geniales

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: La comida, la situación, el personal
Cons: renovación en general
Location: Perfecta, hay muchas actividades para hacer, excursiones en catamarán, hay un poco de todo
El hotel en general está un poco antiguo, pero todo limpio y bien cuidado. A destacar la comida, genial, mucha variedad y cantidad. El personal excepcional, camareros, animación, recepción, todos estupendos. La situación del hotel inmejorable, preciosa cala, maravillosa. Todo ha sido genial, repetiremos.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Estimado huesped, le agradecemos que haya compartido su experiencia en nuestro hotel Barceló Ponent Playa. Le agradecemos que nos haya elegido como establecimiento para disfrutar de sus vacaciones en la isla y nos alegra saber que hemos cumplido con sus expectativas. Gracias por sus palabras dedicadas a nuestro personal. Esperamos poder recibirle en un futuro y que siga disfrutando de nuestras maravillosas vistas. Saludos cordiales, Guest Experience Manager Barceló Ponent Playa.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: rooms, beds, FOOD
Location: location was perfect - right on cove and shopping area nearby. plus lots more easily accessible by short cab ride.
The staff was nice enough but the rooms have seen better days and the beds were awful (asked for a double but it was 2 singles pushed together, with wheels so it was constantly rolling apart). But the worst part was the food, absolutely horrible. I also didn't like all the limits on when/where we could use our all inclusive benefits. really wish the website or review sites would outline was is included and what you have to pay extra for, also the times of service. The location is fantastic though so that made things bearable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your holiday experience at our Barceló Ponent Playa Hotel. Our customers comments are very important to us as only through their objective observations and remarks we are able to measure our performance and improve certain aspects of service if necessary. We deeply regret you did not enjoy our restaurant. We have a staff at your disposal during your stay if you have any special request. will inform the correspondent department and look into the issues in more detail. Regarding the all inclusive, in check-in time we give our guest a depliant with information about our services, also about all inclusive. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Mallorca and that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday in our more than 100 hotels in 19 different destinations. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach, very near to the hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Terrible food, had to eat elsewhere even though I paid for all inclusive! And no fridge in the room which was a first for me since it is so hot there. A/C pretty much made the room smell of mildue most of the time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like thank you for sharing your experience Barcelo Ponent Playa. We would like to inform you that a three stars hotel is not provided fridge in the room, but we offer as a external service with an external provider. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and truly hope that despite some complaints you got to enjoy the relaxing holiday you deserve. I am already looking forward to your next stay, when we will make sure that you are provided with the best of the experiences. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Die Lage
Location: In Cala D´Or direkt am Strand . Geschäfte zum shoppen befinden sich in direkter Umgebung. In 10 Minuten Fußweg befinden sich Kinderparks.
Top Lage, direkt am Meer .. Wir werden dort auf jeden Fall wieder Urlaub machen :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich für ein Feedback zu Ihrem Aufenthalt im Barcelo Ponent Playa Zeit nehmen. Ihre Anregungen helfen uns, unseren Service zu verbessern. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt genossen haben und hoffen, Sie in naher Zukunft wieder begrüßen zu dürfen. Freundliche Grüße. Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Preston

Nice hotel near to beach and other facilities

Posted Jun 26, 2016
A very nice hotel. The only slight downside was that as we had chosen the half board option we weren't able to change to All Inclusive for the odd day (had to be a minimum of 3 days). Superb beach location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for trusting us and choosing our establishment Barceló Ponent Playa for your holiday in Mallorca. We would like to inform you that is you wish to change from HB to AI it is count from the moment you communicate it since the departure. Anyway, note we will consider your remarks in order to correct any mistake and make guests’ stay much more enjoyable. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and our location and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ein in die Jahre gekommenes Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Das Personal ist sehr nett. Die Zimmer sind sehr alt, insbesondere die Bäder sind sehr abgewohnt. Die Lage direkt am Strand ist sehr schön. Das Essen, typisch für All inclusive, eher Masse statt klasse.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich für ein Feedback zu Ihrem Aufenthalt im Barcelo Ponent Playa Zeit nehmen. Ihre Anregungen helfen uns, unseren Service zu verbessern. Wir werden Ihre Anmerkungen berücksichtigen um unseren Gästen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie in naher Zukunft wieder begrüßen zu dürfen. Freundliche Grüße. Guest Experience Manager