Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel for a short stay in Palma

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel with the views across Palma bay and the marina below are it's strong points.
Cons: Some of the chairs in the bar area could do with replacing as you sink into them a bit too much and some evening entertainment would be good as well.
Location: Down the hill there are cafes, a shopping mal (good clothes shops) and a casino. Palma bus tour stops there as well and 30 minute walk to the castle.
We booked a four night stay and enjoyed the hotel. As it was early in the season the hotel was not full so was fairly quiet at night. We booked room only and had breakfast at local cafes at the bottom of the hill leading up to the hotel. Breakfast was available at the hotel for ten euros per person and a reasonable selection of food was available in the evenings at night if required. The views across Palma bay from the hotel are excellent as the hotel sits on a hill looking directly across towards Palma cathedral. A taxi from the airport costs around twenty euros and a taxi into Palma from the hotel costs around ten euros. If you are a keen walker it will take around three quarters of an hour to walk from the hotel into central Palma. As the hotel sits on a hill you have a steep road of around 300m long leading from the main road at the bottom of the hill up to the hotel and this could be quite challenging to anyone who is not particularly fit so bear this in mind. The hotel was very clean and the staff always cheerful and helpful. Plenty of sun beds outdoor tables and chairs and the fairly small outdoor pool and indoor spar pool and gym were quite acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Nice hotel; friendly staff; clean and tidy; great breakfast; near centre; walkable to centre;
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

A 2 night working break to the Island

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Arriving in the bay of Palma looking for the hotel was difficult! We knew we were in the right place but there were not any signs. When we did find it we noticed the hotel had Hotel Mallorca standing proud from the top of it which you could see from the road as the hotel is elevated if it had the correct name or if these details were noted on directions it would have been much easier. Apart from that it was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

HIGH LEVEL AND NO TEA OR COFFE

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: THE HOTEL WAS VERY CLEAN
Cons: THE STAFF WAS VERY PLEASANT BUT THE SERVICE WAS INCREDIBLY SLOW.
Location: NOTHING TO DO UNLESS YOU WALKED 30 MINUTES OR TOOK A TAXI, THERE WAS A SHOPPING CENTRE 15 MINUTES AWAY. YOU NEED TO BOOK A ROOM WITH A SEA VIEW.
THE HOTEL IS SITUATED AT A HIGH LEVEL FROM THE SEA LEAVING YOU THE CHOICE OF A TAXI OR A CHALLENGING WALK BACK. THE HOTEL IS A GOOD 30 MINUTES WALK INTO TOWN. TRAVELLING IS PART OF MY JOB AND IT HAS BEEN YEARS SINCE I HAVE STAYED IN A HOTEL WITH NO ROOM FACILITIES OF TEA OR COFFEE, VERY DISAPPOINTING OF WHICH IS CHEAP AND SIMPLE TO SUPPLY.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing views of cruise ships in port!

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent choice, but up a very steep hill. Difficult in hot weather. Quiet area, close to shops. Long walk to cathedral and centre of town but worth the walk along the beautiful promenade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Good value for the price

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Hotel is in need of refurbishment. One lifeguard was very smug and power crazy with a particularly bad attitude - as removed our towels whilst we were eating lunch at the pool side restaurant - were incidentally the service was very slow but a pleasant waitress. Fro t desk staff were very nice and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Catalonia for our honeymoon in Spain. The Staff was excellent at the hotel. They provided information on how to get into the historic district of Palma. There was also easy access from the bus to 2 beaches. Our room was lovely. We had a great seaview and a HUGE terrace. The pool was amazing, great access to their bar. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire, UK.

Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Staff mostly very good; view from upper floor sea view room; good food; pool area gets sun from early morning to late afternoon.
Cons: For me, the aircon leak - and having to chase before finding no help available - was a downside.
Location: 10 minutes in a cab from Old Town. Many good restaurants once there, the Old Town is great to walk around, and plenty of shops.
Booked a few days away in Palma, first time there so wanted to find out more for future visit. Good experience on arriving, although the reception was busy I have to say Christina who checked me in was great and I have to say she is a credit to the hotel. She seemed to be dealing with five different things at once but I didn't feel ignored and her manner was exceptionally good. Also have to to say that Javi is an excellent member of the staff there too, he was only too happy to help whenever I needed it. Although a way from the Old Town (it's about 45 minutes brisk walk - definitely take a taxi) it's on a hill so the view over the bay is fantastic. The pool area is good to relax in and you can get drinks and a goood lunch there too if you just want to spend the day at the hotel. Would definitely recommend you get a sea view room, preferably on one of the upper floors. Only disappointment was that I had to change room (409) on my second night, due to the air conditioning system leaking into the wardrobe. I called reception but no one came, when I chased an hour later I was told the technician had left and they didn't know when he'd be back. I was given another room as soon as I requested it, although this time on the first floor above the outdoor restaurant, so some noise and not the same view as from the fourth floor.